We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good nice”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

very nice place nice staff and you get free sweets from reception the room was clean and the tv was a big one we haven't got a bad word to say about the hotel there isn't much parking space but I loved it

Room Tip: any room here as it is a very nice place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay... and the sweets.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    67
    50
    11
    15
See reviews for
29
100
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hotel looks excellent, clean, rooms set up nicely, TV a bit too large - but that's OK. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Then I saw the electric deodorant dispenser and smelled the odour of cigarettes. With the window open the smell was just low enough for me to not try to change the room (the other rooms would be the same so what chance of finding one without this problem). The cigarette butts outside the window demonstrate that people smoke in this room. The bedding smelled of smoke as well - although the sheets and pillow covers were perfectly clean they could not prevent the smell of the pillows inside.

By law:
You are required to:
• Display “no-smoking” signs at entrances to your hotel or guest house. [There were none on display]
• Make sure that no one smokes in smoke-free premises. [There were no signs that my room was a designated smoking room]

Also I quote:
"Can guests smoke in their own private bedroom/accommodation?
YES: But only in certain bedrooms which have been designated as ‘smoking allowed rooms’. These are for the use of the guest for the duration of their stay. These rooms must be designated in writing as “smoking allowed” guest bedrooms"

So it is clear you are not following the law in respect of smoking in the rooms.

Then I realised a bigger issue - thin walls - I could hear the TVs and talking in all the surrounding rooms. Luckily on the first night the neighbours were well behaved and until 6 in the morning it was quiet enough - lucky. The second night the neighbours were less so and at 1:30 they crashed in and held a conversation until the small hours.

So I would ask the management to please put up a sign/poster at reception saying "Please be good neighbours and be quiet between 11 pm and 6 am - turn TV down and keep voices down"

So I will not be staying here ever again - the Travelodge's are looking very attractive.

Clearly if you are a smoker you will give this hotel a 5 star rating - which must explain the Tripadvisor rating.

The management have to accept this hotel is a "white van man" hotel - a breed of traveller that needs reminding to be considerate to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Firstly we would like to thank you for your time and being so honest about our interior, staff and your stay.

We are sorry that the room you were allocated was not up to your standards. Please allow us to ensure you that we do follow the Law and we do have all of the correct Non-Smoking signage in place around the hotel.

As within every hotel some guests do not respect our Non Smoking policy and do smoke in our rooms but for this they do always incur a charge. Can I please apologize that the room allocated to you had the stale smell of smoke, if you had reported this to reception we would of been more than happy to move you to another room.

We have taken all your comments into consideration and once again would like to thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed at the Orchard Hotel last week with two work colleagues and we all commented how it was good value. The rooms are clean and well equipped ,plenty of hot water and clean towels
large television on the wall and coffee facilities in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were peaceful , we all got a good nights sleep in comfy beds. Will book again for our return visit while working in Stroud.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding you recent stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall,
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

sat nav code didnt work for hotel Post code, took us to the wrong place ... 118 118 gave us wrong tel number to call hotel. B T tel inquiries also gave us wrong tel no 2 call hotel.. 2 hrs later very tired, finally managed to unpack our laptop , top up our dongle at tesco, drive around 2 get a signal & then got the correct tel no off the booking e mail.. arrived 1.30am, exhausted. Requested a complimentary later check - out due to the finding of hotel taking so long, and the tel numbers given to us from direct inquiries were all wrong ... Refused without us paying extra, very unfair. Room 9 was dreadful ; Bed uncomfy, NO plug for sink, so unable to have shave or wash without having to get in shower. Plug hole dirty, stained. Shower had a water drip/ leak which kept us awake in the quiet of the night, dripping all night.. Couldnt get to stop an echoed in shower cubicle. Even with a towel under drip, loud.. NO sleep, uncomfy/ noisy. Couldnt even watch t v as signal AWFUL on most channels. Room 10 next door not much better, got few more t v channels without signal breaking up.. Tiny rooms. Outside areas like a dump site. Very limited facilities, nowhere to even get a bottle of water until morning. VERY un soundproof... NEVER again.. No apology, no refund , nothing..

Room Tip: A V O I D rooms 9, room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minnie_minxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stat at The Orchard Hotel. Unfortunately we are unable to offer complimentary late check outs due to late arrivals and have to charge to cover our housekeeping staff costs as they would need to stay longer, wait for you to check out and get the room ready for the next customer.

We have double checked with 118 118 and BT Inquiries and both have the correct details for our hotel.

Being a new building older SAT NAVS may have trouble finding us if the maps are not up to date.

Sorry about all the issues within your bedroom, if you have reported this to reception at the time we would have been more than happy to change your room for you.

Once again, thank you for your time and thank you for staying at The Orchard Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here while visiting friends. We paid online when booking so there was little to do with reception when checking in or leaving so we went up to our room. It was clean and tidy throughout with a large TV with Freeview channels. We had a comfortable nights sleep and made a cup of tea in the morning. Apart from a small bar of soap there was nothing else supplied to use in the shower but all in all it was a good value and perfectly acceptable budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyywonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding you recent stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This visit to Gloucester was pretty much a last minute decision and hotels all around the center where long booked up by the traveling Munster supporters , however we managed to grab a room at the Orchard. The hotel is out of town and sited on the Olympus park office/trading estate with easy access from the M5 , the hotel is sited on an old pub car park ( burnt down ) , the car park at the front lets the hotel down to be honest , its overgrown with weeds and has rubbish on it , i also noticed the 2 x hotel bins were overflowing with rubbish , this was also stacked at the front of the bins and im sure if left much longer will be attracting our furry long tailed friends. The hotel is fine inside and the rooms are clean and for a budget hotel its fine.The room was a twin and space is at a premium , bed was comfy and shower good , there was a blockage in the wash basin , this we didnt mention as the stay was short.They offer a continental type breakfast with fruit/cereal and this is left outside your door in the morning. i would of marked higher if the exterior was better. There is a KFC and MacD local ( walking distance ) but we couldnt find a pub. All in all its cheap - clean and tidy.

Room Tip: we stopped at the rear of hotel close to dual carriage way and heard very little traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pulltheclays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester.
We have taken on board all your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind Regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

difficult to find as not signposted
i called the receptionist keighley who stated it was hard to find but talked me in.

when i checked in, photo id required, but then copier was not working.

room very high standard, large tv, wifi (had to call reception for password)
breakfast was adequate
no cooked breakfast offered - no dining room
free parking which is always a plus

would stay agaibn

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding you recent stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quedgeley
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,130 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
618 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,300 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel Gloucester

Property: The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Address: Olympus Park, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4NF, England (Formerly Siesta Inn Gloucester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Quedgeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Orchard Hotel Gloucester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Hotel has 60 bedrooms all with En-Suite facilities. Close to many shops and pubs and on the bus route into Gloucester. We are situated close to the M5 motorway and only a 10minute drive into the historical town of Gloucester with its many shops, restaurants and bars. There are many places to visit including the Cathedral, Museums and the Historical Docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchard Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester Quedgeley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing