We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Quedgeley
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our second stay at this hotel, but first under the new name and pleased to say our experience was better than our first. We were arriving past midnight and leaving in the morning so just needed some nice, clean and quiet to sleep.

Rooms are small but big enough for a stopover, they were clean and more importantly, it was cheap!

Check in was friendly, quick and courteous. Please note the lift is not working (it wasn't working when we came over a year ago either!). The room wasn't the quietest but I wore earplugs so no bother.

Shower is VERY small so if you are tall or bigger, please keep this in mind.

Very basic but perfect for a stop over :-)

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms not looking at the main road would be quieter :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveandsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Orchard Hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Closest hotel to attend a wedding.Difficult to find ,had to telephone for directions ,as booked on line last year under metro inns. Was not informed of change of hands. Also, our booking was not transferred but not a problem as , luckily , a room was available. Basic room, clean and comfortable. Only 1 cup provided for 2 people but as our stay was brief not too much of a problem. We found it great for the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cranebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here, I am sorry that there was a little bit of a mix up with your booking due to the change in ownership.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

very nice place nice staff and you get free sweets from reception the room was clean and the tv was a big one we haven't got a bad word to say about the hotel there isn't much parking space but I loved it

Room Tip: any room here as it is a very nice place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay... and the sweets.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Hotel looks excellent, clean, rooms set up nicely, TV a bit too large - but that's OK. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Then I saw the electric deodorant dispenser and smelled the odour of cigarettes. With the window open the smell was just low enough for me to not try to change the room (the other rooms would be the same so what chance of finding one without this problem). The cigarette butts outside the window demonstrate that people smoke in this room. The bedding smelled of smoke as well - although the sheets and pillow covers were perfectly clean they could not prevent the smell of the pillows inside.

By law:
You are required to:
• Display “no-smoking” signs at entrances to your hotel or guest house. [There were none on display]
• Make sure that no one smokes in smoke-free premises. [There were no signs that my room was a designated smoking room]

Also I quote:
"Can guests smoke in their own private bedroom/accommodation?
YES: But only in certain bedrooms which have been designated as ‘smoking allowed rooms’. These are for the use of the guest for the duration of their stay. These rooms must be designated in writing as “smoking allowed” guest bedrooms"

So it is clear you are not following the law in respect of smoking in the rooms.

Then I realised a bigger issue - thin walls - I could hear the TVs and talking in all the surrounding rooms. Luckily on the first night the neighbours were well behaved and until 6 in the morning it was quiet enough - lucky. The second night the neighbours were less so and at 1:30 they crashed in and held a conversation until the small hours.

So I would ask the management to please put up a sign/poster at reception saying "Please be good neighbours and be quiet between 11 pm and 6 am - turn TV down and keep voices down"

So I will not be staying here ever again - the Travelodge's are looking very attractive.

Clearly if you are a smoker you will give this hotel a 5 star rating - which must explain the Tripadvisor rating.

The management have to accept this hotel is a "white van man" hotel - a breed of traveller that needs reminding to be considerate to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Firstly we would like to thank you for your time and being so honest about our interior, staff and your stay.

We are sorry that the room you were allocated was not up to your standards. Please allow us to ensure you that we do follow the Law and we do have all of the correct Non-Smoking signage in place around the hotel.

As within every hotel some guests do not respect our Non Smoking policy and do smoke in our rooms but for this they do always incur a charge. Can I please apologize that the room allocated to you had the stale smell of smoke, if you had reported this to reception we would of been more than happy to move you to another room.

We have taken all your comments into consideration and once again would like to thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed at the Orchard Hotel last week with two work colleagues and we all commented how it was good value. The rooms are clean and well equipped ,plenty of hot water and clean towels
large television on the wall and coffee facilities in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were peaceful , we all got a good nights sleep in comfy beds. Will book again for our return visit while working in Stroud.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding you recent stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

sat nav code didnt work for hotel Post code, took us to the wrong place ... 118 118 gave us wrong tel number to call hotel. B T tel inquiries also gave us wrong tel no 2 call hotel.. 2 hrs later very tired, finally managed to unpack our laptop , top up our dongle at tesco, drive around 2 get a signal & then got the correct tel no off the booking e mail.. arrived 1.30am, exhausted. Requested a complimentary later check - out due to the finding of hotel taking so long, and the tel numbers given to us from direct inquiries were all wrong ... Refused without us paying extra, very unfair. Room 9 was dreadful ; Bed uncomfy, NO plug for sink, so unable to have shave or wash without having to get in shower. Plug hole dirty, stained. Shower had a water drip/ leak which kept us awake in the quiet of the night, dripping all night.. Couldnt get to stop an echoed in shower cubicle. Even with a towel under drip, loud.. NO sleep, uncomfy/ noisy. Couldnt even watch t v as signal AWFUL on most channels. Room 10 next door not much better, got few more t v channels without signal breaking up.. Tiny rooms. Outside areas like a dump site. Very limited facilities, nowhere to even get a bottle of water until morning. VERY un soundproof... NEVER again.. No apology, no refund , nothing..

Room Tip: A V O I D rooms 9, room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minnie_minxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stat at The Orchard Hotel. Unfortunately we are unable to offer complimentary late check outs due to late arrivals and have to charge to cover our housekeeping staff costs as they would need to stay longer, wait for you to check out and get the room ready for the next customer.

We have double checked with 118 118 and BT Inquiries and both have the correct details for our hotel.

Being a new building older SAT NAVS may have trouble finding us if the maps are not up to date.

Sorry about all the issues within your bedroom, if you have reported this to reception at the time we would have been more than happy to change your room for you.

Once again, thank you for your time and thank you for staying at The Orchard Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here while visiting friends. We paid online when booking so there was little to do with reception when checking in or leaving so we went up to our room. It was clean and tidy throughout with a large TV with Freeview channels. We had a comfortable nights sleep and made a cup of tea in the morning. Apart from a small bar of soap there was nothing else supplied to use in the shower but all in all it was a good value and perfectly acceptable budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowyywonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding you recent stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quedgeley
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester - South M5, Jct 12
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Little Thatch  Hotel Gloucester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
1,685 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,351 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel Gloucester

Address: Olympus Park, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4NF, England (Formerly Siesta Inn Gloucester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Quedgeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Quedgeley
Price Range: £35 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Orchard Hotel Gloucester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Hotel has 60 bedrooms all with En-Suite facilities. Close to many shops and pubs and on the bus route into Gloucester. We are situated close to the M5 motorway and only a 10minute drive into the historical town of Gloucester with its many shops, restaurants and bars. There are many places to visit including the Cathedral, Museums and the Historical Docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchard Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester Quedgeley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing