We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value adequate accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value adequate accommodation”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel on booking. Com as a last minute bank holiday get away and paid £70 for 2 nights absolute bargain! So we were apprehensive when arriving at the hotel but we were very pleasantly surprised. It is definitely a budget hotel but for a low cost weekend my rule is always I don't mind if it's basic as long as it is clean and it was! The room is small but cosy and fairly modern decor the location is so peaceful and close to glos quays and glos centre we had no problems at all. The TV in the room is huge and has more than just the 5 basic channels. We were very comfortable and had a nice relaxed weekend away. We wound absolutely stay again. Only one small criticism would be more plug sockets as there seemed to be items located around the room such as kettle and fan and lamp but no plug socket near them to operate we could only see only one double socket and it was not near any of the appliances

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freerhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    67
    50
    11
    15
See reviews for
29
100
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

As the title suggest this is great value but still a 3 star hotel. We got a room for £40 for 1 night

I stayed here on a Friday in August 2014 night with a friend. I wouldn't normally review based on such a short stay but can't imagine staying longer would change anything.

My stay was a means to an end as we were attending a local beer festival.

The hotel is smack on the edge of an industrial estate surrounded by office units, if you don't know what you are looking for you can easily drive right by it (we did!) and then spent the best part of hour hunting for it, so I've added an outside photo to help others! Despite the lack of direction on our part there is plenty within range, with a tesco 24hr, dominos, next, matalan and aldi all in under a mile away. Both the tesco and domino's came in hand at midnight following the beer festival ;)

As for the hotel, the staff were friendly enough for the brief interaction of check in and out that we had.

We stayed in a twin bedroom which was small but clean. The beds were comfy enough and the hotel was warm. The bathroom was small with a walk in shower, no problem for me mind as I'm tall and skinny! Shower was nice and powerful, but be careful as adjusting the heat during the shower will result in a shock of either a full hot or cold blast of water for a few seconds!!

There were the usual freebies, tea, coffee, soap, towels (no shampoo or shower gel). In the room a small chest of draws, big TV, standing fan, kettle.

Breakfast was a let down for me, when we were told it was 3 each I was expecting a choice, it was only after reaching the room and seeing the noticed I realised it was continental... Well the call it that but in truth it was fruit, yogurt, cereal and toast (see photo) nothing wrong with it but could have picked it all up in tesco for half the price or had a fry up ;)

All in all a pleasant place to stay but don't be fooled into thinking its a 4 or 5 star stay, its not but taking into account the value I can appreciate why some have reviewed it higher.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank XtreamXTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a bargain £35 a room per night with huge TV and power shower on suite what more could you ask for clean like a hotel should be quite new but I stayed here for over a month and was very happy, helpful staff too so wouldn't hesitate to stay again many thanks one and all :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Air-con-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, it is much appreciated.
Myself and the team are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and its been a real pleasure meeting you.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel last weekend and found it to be very clean & comfortable, the staff were very friendly, helpful & efficient. The breakfast was really good.All in all exceptionally good value .We would definitely stay here again & recommend it.Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a very basic hotel to say the least. The bathroom is very small with an extremely small shower cubical to go with it, and none of the basic toiletries that are usually available in your budget premier inns and travel-lodges. When we returned to the hotel after an evening out we happened to be greeted with the receptionist having a little domestic with her boyfriend. Not exactly the warm welcome you would expect!! Now as for the bed, give me a concrete floor any day, the mattress was very lumpy, but the following morning I realised that this was most likely caused by the bed being supported with cardboard and wooden blocks!! The furniture was tacky, faux leather brothel red, how luxurious is that??? The only good thing I can say is the size of the TV on thewall, however this wasn't central to bed which meant sitting with with your head twisted to watch the TV.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at The Orchard Hotel.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations.
I have sent you a private message to get some more information regarding ''domestic fight in reception'', as looking back at the CCTV I was not able to see anything . Unfortunately, I have not heard from you back... I am also surprised about your comment regarding your bed and a cardboard supporting it! I believe you stayed in room 23, and after inspecting the bed I could not see any cardboard or wooden blocks.

Once again, thank you for your review and I am looking forward to hearing from you soon.


Kind regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had to stay in Gloucester while work was done to our car and found this very comfortable hotel with helpful staff. The beds were comfortable and clean and the breakfast was delicious. There was a big TV in the room. There are plenty of restaurants in the area and the bus stop to the centre of Gloucester is very close. It is not a family hotel, though. There is no restaurant in the hotel and the breakfast is brought to the room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This Hotel is very good if you are on a business trip and you just want to have a nap somewhere for one night on a reasonable price. This Hotel is definitely not good for couples or family only if you can't find anything else. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy. You can have your continental breakfast in your room for only £3. I guess it was a bit noisy from the corridor and you can hear the closing doors outside. It's a busy Hotel full of people, we got the last two rooms. The car park was full as well so we had to park on the street. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LazIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurate S, Manager at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at The Orchard Hotel Gloucester. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Jurate Stabulionyte
Manager
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quedgeley
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,118 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Gloucester
Travelodge Gloucester
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
599 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel Gloucester

Property: The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
Address: Olympus Park, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4NF, England (Formerly Siesta Inn Gloucester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Quedgeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Hotel has 60 bedrooms all with En-Suite facilities. Close to many shops and pubs and on the bus route into Gloucester. We are situated close to the M5 motorway and only a 10minute drive into the historical town of Gloucester with its many shops, restaurants and bars. There are many places to visit including the Cathedral, Museums and the Historical Docks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchard Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester Quedgeley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing