We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for one night on our way south. We arrived later and went to the bar to check in. Very nice man checked us in and the bar had character.

The room was good - it was clean and spacious enough for us and everything worked well.

Breakfast was good. The service wasn't awesome but it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    50
    50
    25
    26
See reviews for
34
76
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Booked online, photos showing rooms didn't look as disappointing as what they are in real life,

The hotel itself is rather quaint low beams very original the accommodation at the rear is rather dated.
Was staying on business so put up with it, as tired etc couldn't face hunting for any better.
Very dated, very disappointing, room clean, although a bit damp smelling.
Breakfast served at 7.15 waited till 7.25 when finally got let in to have breakfast that was included, I had meeting and this made me late.
Bar staff cheerful, and food ok nothing special but you can eat it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirrorsmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quedgeley hotels

birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Booked on line and looked nice,rooms very dated,£65 for a family room and £55 for a double.of the 3 windows in the family room 2 backed onto some kind of walk way which looked like it was full of junk,the other double room window there was a bike infront of it!!was awoken at just gone midnight to the glass bottles being emptied into some kind of bin infront of the bedroom window. No bath in either rooms and the showers were so old ive never heard of them...also the unit both shower and screen were cracked and unclean,bedrooms smelt damp and breakfast was basic.the hotel is also right off the island and opposite a large tesco.not impressed and a real let down.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankiebirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Found this hotel on Late Rooms.com and was at first a little wary because of the reasonable price and some previous reviews on Trip Advisor.

The location if visiting Gloucester is ideal, the evening meal was top notch home cooking, as was the breakfast and the bedroom, whilst smallish, was very clean and fit for purpose!

The only little gripe concerns the shower unit, which did not operate properly. But for a comfortable value for money one night stop-over you could not complain.

Oh, and yes I would stop again and yes I do think it well worth a try if your in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Read a couple of the reviews and almost regretted booking, but in the end it was fine. The original is as it looks, a very old thatched cottage complete with low beams. The accommodation is at the rear and obviously a lot newer if still a little dated.
The room was quite small with 70's chipboard furniture and a very "compact" shower. Everything worked fine and was clean and comfortable. The only downside was that there was only one plug socket in the room.

Was made to feel welcome unlike some of the reviews. My only other worry were the comments about the strict breakfast times which thankfully only apply to the weekend.

The breakfast was fine with a basic selection of cereals and juice and a decent cooked selection.

For £55 including breakfast, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night and have no complaints at all. The pub itself is lovely -with very low beams and huge fireplaces. Our room (no 20) was spacious, very clean and the bed was very comfortable.
We ate in the pub and had a very enjoyable meal. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was also good. There was cereals, yogurt and orange juice to help yourself to and then there was a cooked breakfast to follow. I had requested a vegetarian cooked breakfast and was not disappointed. My husband had a full english and there was also smoked fish available.
We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Request room 20 and you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluefox-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Little Thatch and came away with very mixed feelings.

Pros : Original building is very quaint and atmospheric - but do mind your head on the beams - they are very low. East to find and plentiful parking. Rooms clean and tidy. Staff in general very very helpful, only exception was the lady who told us we were too late to eat when actually we were trying to order about 15-20 mins before they stopped serving and sent us off to the Harvester up the road which was a pain as we had been travelling for nearly 5 hours and were tired.

Cons : Rooms are small and rather dated. Beware the shower - it might awaken a hitherto unknown claustrophobia! Breakfast is very strictly limited to 8.30 - 9.30.

All in all though, we would return.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quedgeley
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
3.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester

Property: The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester
Address: 141 Bristol Road, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Quedgeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester Quedgeley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing