We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Value for the Money”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed here for three nights along with my two daughters, as a base for a short holiday in the area. The staff were friendly, responsive and efficient. The rooms are clean and quiet - they are at the rear well away from the main road. Wi Fi is easily adequate for most internet browsing, checking emails etc. but probably not if you intend to download large files (e.g. films). The hotel fixtures have seen much better days and need to be replaced, but they are as clean and well-maintained as possible. In my opinion this upgrading would be worth the investment as it is my only criticism of this well-run hotel and I would have considered rating it excellent. If you want clinical contemporary surroundings and are prepared for all the extras they stick onto the advertised rate, try the chain hotel in the centre of Gloucester. If you want easy parking, a warm atmosphere and personal service Little Thatch will probably suit your needs better.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    49
    49
    25
    26
See reviews for
34
74
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We booked this hotel for one night on our way down to Cornwall. It was extremely reasonable and was fine for one night. However, I would not like to stay longer than one night as the rooms were a little small and dated. On the plus side it did have free wifi and also the pub itself was interesting. Service in the hotel and pub was poor and we had to wait an hour for the meal to be served in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just a short note to say that the little thatch was not what we expected, and was a great let down
the place is in need of a refurbishment, as a vert tired apperance,

Bathroom was terrible with no bath , and a shower thats spits water at you, room was cold no heating, hand towels to dry yourself with. bed was made of old cart springs bad back and neckache

food was overdone and hard, breakfast was not very good either poor selection.

only thing i can say is staff where very helpful

was planning to stay longer in hotel as was touring, but after one night would not recommend this to anyone, worst than a travel lodge. and at £55 per night not valve for money

Room Tip: Dont stay as you will be disappointed :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quedgeley hotels

Hinton, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for one night on our way south. We arrived later and went to the bar to check in. Very nice man checked us in and the bar had character.

The room was good - it was clean and spacious enough for us and everything worked well.

Breakfast was good. The service wasn't awesome but it was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Booked online, photos showing rooms didn't look as disappointing as what they are in real life,

The hotel itself is rather quaint low beams very original the accommodation at the rear is rather dated.
Was staying on business so put up with it, as tired etc couldn't face hunting for any better.
Very dated, very disappointing, room clean, although a bit damp smelling.
Breakfast served at 7.15 waited till 7.25 when finally got let in to have breakfast that was included, I had meeting and this made me late.
Bar staff cheerful, and food ok nothing special but you can eat it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirrorsmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Booked on line and looked nice,rooms very dated,£65 for a family room and £55 for a double.of the 3 windows in the family room 2 backed onto some kind of walk way which looked like it was full of junk,the other double room window there was a bike infront of it!!was awoken at just gone midnight to the glass bottles being emptied into some kind of bin infront of the bedroom window. No bath in either rooms and the showers were so old ive never heard of them...also the unit both shower and screen were cracked and unclean,bedrooms smelt damp and breakfast was basic.the hotel is also right off the island and opposite a large tesco.not impressed and a real let down.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankiebirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Found this hotel on Late Rooms.com and was at first a little wary because of the reasonable price and some previous reviews on Trip Advisor.

The location if visiting Gloucester is ideal, the evening meal was top notch home cooking, as was the breakfast and the bedroom, whilst smallish, was very clean and fit for purpose!

The only little gripe concerns the shower unit, which did not operate properly. But for a comfortable value for money one night stop-over you could not complain.

Oh, and yes I would stop again and yes I do think it well worth a try if your in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quedgeley
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
1,076 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#9 of 21 in Gloucester
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
3.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
767 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester

Property: The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester
Address: 141 Bristol Road, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Quedgeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester Quedgeley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing