We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hosts and beautiful home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot tub overlooking lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Hot tub overlooking lake
Welcome gifts
DVDs and bluejays to watch
Plenty of books and magazines to relax with
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
South Cerney, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah K
1 review
“Perfect hosts and beautiful home!”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a fab time when we stayed at the beautiful and well equipped home. When we arrived we were shown around the property and had a lesson in how to use the hot tub. My little boy loved having the flexibility of going out on the decking and watching the wildlife outside and we felt very safe with the security people at the gates. The grounds are very well maintained and the lake is stunning. Jo and Barry went to so much effort to make our stay enjoyable with cake, biscuits and prosecco due to a celebration provided. Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us Hannah. We do like to make the extra effort if we know people are joining us for a celebration and the estate is great for kids with the wildlife. Hope to see you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie B
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Such a big beautiful house! So homely and luxurious. I came for my birthday with my boyfriend and my dog. We were greeted with some lovely home made biscuits, a birthday cake, a bottle of prosecco and some doggie mince pies!

The house itself is so lovely, we loved that we could play any song you could think of throughout the whole house. It was also really nice to have a TV in the master bedroom and so many channels and movies downstairs. We appreciated the heating so much as we came in January and we loved the hot tub to warm us up after a day of walking.

Don't worry if you have forgotten something. Barry and Jo have probably already got it at their holiday home! Even had towels to dry the dog after long walks, dishwasher tablets and washing powder for the washing machine!

Amazing place had such a lovely birthday here and my family loved it too when they came over one day. We definitely will becoming back! If you would like a good priced holiday with amazing views, away from all the hustle and bustle but with shops, restaurants and pubs very close by this is the holiday for you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2017
Thank you for the wonderful review. We always aim to make your stay special and we're looking forward to seeing you again in the warmer months when you can enjoy sitting outside on the decking with a glass of prosecco
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBrettle
1 review
“Perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband and I have just come back from a fantastic few days in the Cotswolds and what a fabulous time we had! The accommodation was beautiful and was equipped with everything that is needed and more! There was nothing that the owners did not think of.

Upon arrival, the owners were there to greet us and house was immaculate and very welcoming. They were able to show us around and ensured that we had everything that we needed for our stay.

Of course one of the highlights is the hot tub, which is a fantastic feature, as it allows you to take in the relaxing ambience that the Cotswold have to offer!

During our stay we managed to visit all of the local towns, which were in east driving distance and had a lot to offer! We will definitely be visiting again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickynood...
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Post Christmas Haven 😃”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have just returned from our wonderful two night stay with friends and our 2 dogs.
I can genuinely recommend The Retreat as a home-from-home break.
Jo and Barry have hit the spot with their attention to detail, providing a holiday home with all the little luxuries that make you feel like you've picked up your house and relocated it. Sonos sound system, Sky, coffee machine and hot tub to name but a few, along with the boutique-style interior make for a very comfortable stay.
Perfect to sit back and relax whilst watching life around the lake. Plenty to do in the local area too with lots of good places to eat and every conceivable activity covered on site and off.

We will hopefully be booking a return trip very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
We're so pleased you and your family, friends and the dogs enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you back again - maybe the summer when you can sit on the decking and enjoy a glass of wine with the restful lake as the view
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahMP
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas 2016 Stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We knew we would love this place as soon as we saw the photos! We stayed here over Christmas and the Cotswolds Water Park Retreat certainly didn't disappoint. Barry & Jo are so welcoming and friendly from the outset and on hand for any of your needs. The house is amazing - spacious and immaculate with fantastic facilities and of course the hot tub - pure luxury! Our timid Doberman was very happy here and settled easily. Located in a great area for walks or a drive out to many local attractions. We hope to stay here again one day, perhaps in the summer where we can put the decking and BBQ to good use! Many thanks Barry & Jo. All the best, Hannah, Dan & Rogue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2016
We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us at Cotswold Water Park Retreat. You were extremely friendly, considerate guests and we'd love to have you back in warmer weather as the view from the decking over the lake is so relaxing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overlooking the lake, well appointed with quality furnishings and fittings”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The wow factor hits you as soon as you enter the spacious living area. Having three good sized bedrooms this comfortable holiday home on three floors has everything you could possibly need for a relaxing stay - including your own super hot tub. We just did a long weekend but should have stayed longer. Wake up to an amazing view of the lake complete with ducks and geese. The kitchen has hob, oven, micro, coffee machine, large fridge and freezer and much more. If you don't want to cook the hotel restaurant just opposite is very good as is the Boathouse bar for more pub food. I would book this again without hessitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2016
We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again very soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveBowy...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can we come back again please - loved it!”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just returned from a much needed weekend without the kids, and have to say this place was fabulous, and our dogs loved it so much they spent most of the time sleeping! We only booked 2 nights - wish we'd booked longer now.

The property is spotlessly clean and offers all of the luxuries from home (wifi, sky tv, dvd player, hot tub) in a property that is easily big enough for the whole family (2 double rooms, 1 twin bed, plus a fold-up bed) Access is really easy, with ramped access to the front door should you need it. Onsite security was nice to see, but not "in your face".

Everything you need is at the property - a fully fitted kitchen, with some nice touches such as coffee machine etc, TV in master bedroom, huge fluffy bath towels etc. The owners have provided it all it would seem. Can't fault them at all - there's even a washing machine if you need one.

We didn't have time to go everywhere that we would have liked, and there are loads of leaflets to help, including books on the local area. Maybe that's one way to get you to go back!

If walking is your thing - we took the dogs, so that's a yes for us - there are dozens of places to walk them within a few minutes drive, but also around the lake that's right outside the property, and I liked that there are poo bins for you to use too dotted around the lake.

Foodwise - South Cerney (5 mins drive) has a few nice pubs, including dog friendly ones - Royal Oak did a nice lunch and have nice beers. There's a huge visitor's centre located over the road from the property that has a cafe inside, and there's a pub/restaurant there too.

Onsite at the park there's a good kids play area (including a fenced off small beach area on the edge of the lake), and also a small football pitch, tennis courts, table tennis etc etc. We didn't try any of these, but they all looked pretty good. Outside the park at some of the other lakes there was fishing, an air rifle range, water skiing, sailing etc so loads to do if that's your thing. It looked as though you can fish the lake at the property too, but don't quote me!

Sorry - seem to have warbled on - in summary, a great place and we'd love to return one day.

THINGS TO BE AWARE OF:
If arriving late at night (ie in darkness) look for the Four Pillars hotel on the left as you head from the A417; the entrance to the park is 200 mtrs after that on the right - we nearly missed it.
Buy wine before you get there, or at least make the effort to read the helpful guide that the owners have left which tells you that Tesco is about 5 minutes away. Failing that, drive 20 miles before accidentally stumbling on said Tesco store (LOL!)
Mobile phone reception (EE) is not great within the property, but seemed to work fine once you move outside; O2 worked a treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for what is our first review of the property. This is also our own holiday home and we are pleased that the added luxuries that we enjoy are appreciated. There really is so much to do in the local area so we would love for you to return at a later date to relax and enjoy a little more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing