We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but poor spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed in an apartment room which was very convenient for us travelling with our newborn son. The staff were excellent and the room good and comfortable although some more attention to detail required with the cleaning.

The real disappointment was the spa- my husband and i booked massages as a treat and they were very poor quality. The staff member was late so i didnt get the full amount of time i paid for and she was very youngand clearly under trained and inexperienced and unable to adjust the pressure she was applying (she said she kept forgetting) so the whole experience was quite painful. The treatments were quite expensive so we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: Dont bother with the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aheroofourtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

We are happy to learn that this particular guest enjoyed our self catering apartments. We offer a variety of rooms to our guests, each tailored to meet specific requirements, including a selection of one and two bedroom apartments perfectly fitted with a double bed and en-suite bathroom alongside a fully furnished lounge with a desk and internet access extending to a well equipped kitchenette which includes a cooker, microwave and dishwasher.

We also offer self catering suites which include a double bed with en suite bathroom, working desk area with free broadband access and a spacious lounge/kitchen area.

It is regrettable that this particular guest seemed not to enjoy the relaxing environment of Spa6 that so many of our guests have commented as excellent.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,440 - 2,446 of 2,743 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights over the extra Indian summer in October. We wanted a break where we could get into the countryside and enjoy the sun. It took us 2.5 hours to reach from London and when we arrived in the car park by the fountains, the Four Pillars became a fantastic find.

Food: We arrived at 8.30pm, checked in quickly with helpful reception staff and went straight into dinner, a three course meal worth £22.50, that well exceeded expectations. The dinner was included in the package we booked (£230 for two nights with B&B and dinner - seriously decent value). You could also order a la carte and the steaks looked excellent but I'm not sorry we used the 'set' menu as half of the a la carte options were included on this anyway. The restaurant was busy but offered decent service and more over, top notch food.

We had a buffet breakfast which again, was superb. You can have full cooked and / or continental - I had a bit of both and it was all good. Busy again, but good service from all members of the team. The ONLY down side of the whole place is that they haven't sectioned off a smoking area. You suck up cancer fumes just by walking out side which is such a shame as the view over the lake is tremendous. There are cigarette butts dropped down between the decking which personally, I just find unpleasant.

The lounge area is comfortable, a kind of modern boutique feel to it and the TV area with free Wi-Fi showed the rugby!

Rooms: The rooms are very comfortable and clean. We didn't manage to get a water facing room but that didn't matter. It was quiet, beds were soft and the air conditioning unit worked nicely. Bathrooms are modern and spacious. Definitely plays into the 4 star rating from a room and food perspective.

Gym and spa: The gym is well equipped and free to use. It's a light and airy space over looking the fountain (with free fruit available too!) The spa is superb, unisex sauna, steam, massage jets, bubble jets, ice shower - it's a great place to relax in and clearly kept in a well maintained state.

Things to do: There are some great walks around the lakes, we walked about 11 miles across the two days. There is a decent restaurant called The Old Boatyard which served good food but like the terrace on the hotel, was for me ruined by being put on the decking next to an overflowing cigarette box and butts all over the floor. If they can sort that problem out you can see why it won best new business in 2008.

For a short break with access to other towns in the Cotswolds the hotel is great value and good quality.

Room Tip: Ask to see if the reception can fit you in with a lake view, comes with a terrace in most of them I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaywallington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2011

We are very pleased that this particular guest enjoyed their stay and would like to thank them for the positive feedback regarding our 'Reception Team'. It is clear that our guests enjoyed the 4 star facilities that we provide including our TV Lounge and fulled equipped gym and we are delighted to learn that our Brasserie exceeded their expectations in the quality of cuisine that we offer.

In respect of the observations our guests have made regarding smokers. At The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, we are committed to providing our guests and associates with a smoke-free environment. We have achieved a smoke-free environment in all of our properties which reinforces our commitment to being an environmentally friendly company.

We only allow smoking in designated OUTDOOR areas of the hotel. Our non-smoking policy includes all public areas including doorways, windows and corridors as well as our guest bedrooms, however, we take on-board the comments made here and endeavour to clear these areas more frequently as was regrettably not the case on this particular occasion.

There are lots of accessible country walks from the hotel. It is also possible to take a relaxed stroll around Lake 6 and then enjoy a well deserved drink at The Old Boathouse whilst looking back out onto the lake from our outdoor seating area. Lake 6 has its own wild-life sanctuary which includes amongst others, birds, dragonflies and otters, numerous aquatic species and some very rare trees including a 'native Black Poplar'

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I recently stayed at the hotel for 2 nights mwith my partner. We stayed in a suite. The room was lovly and well spacious but the views was hard to see as the windows was not clean. Apart from the unclean windows we really enjoyed are stay. I would visit agaim

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

An ideal venue for a spa weekend and well worth keeping an eye out for the special offers. Our bedroom was spacious, clean and light with a wonderful view of the lake. The spa and treatment facilities were good although would have preferred it to be adults only. Evening meal was superb with very attentive service and good portions. Check in and out was fast and efficient. Only slight downside is the bar which is very large and impersonal - the merriment of large groups can spoil the ambience for others.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long walk from the main restaurant and bar area which is something to be aware of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treasure1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Recently stayed for two night with my partner, and i have to say its a very good hotel. The surroundings are superb, food is to a high standard add to that a decent gym with a clean indoor pool, you carnt really go wrong. Would i go again? YES!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaiserManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The staff are all really friendly and helpful. The room was overlooking the lake and had a balcony, our room was large, nicely decorated and the bathroom was good too.
We had a three course meal in the restraunt, very resonable at £22.50 per person, food was tasty and fresh.
Only fault was breakfast, which was open from 7.30-10.30, when we went down to be seated at 9.15am, there was a huge queue waiting to be seated too, then the queue for the hot buffet was about 40 deep, so we wited for about 10 mins. There was too many people and it was all a bit hectic and a bit of a squash. However the breakfast was yummy!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

We are happy to learn that these guests enjoyed their wedding anniversary and found our staff friendly and helpful at The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel and that they enjoyed dining from our A la Carte menu

(DBB guests are able to dine on 3 courses from our Table d'hote Menu or accept a £22.50 food allowance teach oward our A la Carte menu. As an alternative, we offer a £15 food allowance each at our Gastro Pub, The Old Boathouse)

We are very fortunate that our Lakeside Brasserie is popular with both residents, non-residents and Spa6 Members. Having recently enjoyed a refurbishment , our Lakeside Brasserie is now able to cater for the increasing number of guests. It is our hope that the additional space the refurbishment has afforded will help to ease the small queues that can occasionally occur over a busy weekend period. The strength of the evidence since our refurbishment has been remarkably successful with many of our regular guests commenting how much they prefer the new features that have been installed.

We have done our best to identify peak periods and use a 'Traffic Light' system to manage the flow of service as follows:

Leisurely Breakfast 07:00 - 08:30am (07:30 - 08:45am at Weekends)
No Queue's Anticipated

Busier Breakfast 08:30 - 09:00am (09:30 - 10:00am at Weekends)
Queue's Possible

Busy Breakfast 09:30 - 10:00am (10:00am - 10:30am at Weekends)

We have found that this system works particularly well and clearly advertise the above information throughout the hotel. We also offer Room Service Breakfast so that guests can enjoy breakfast at their leisure from the comfort of their guest rooms without having to queue During extremely busy times (e.g Bank Holiday Weekends) we utilise our Bar Lounge as an overflow area so that we can accommodate further tables for breakfast and minimise the waiting time so as not to inconvenience our guests.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Juliet Weeramanthri & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for two nights on the 16th September and we had a lovely 2 bed apartement with views over the lake. The apartment was really big and well decorated and very well equiped. Much nicer than we were expecting. The staff seemed very friendly and the pool area was really nice and modern.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ilovetravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
416 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,418 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
838 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £74 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing