We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but busy hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice but busy hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My partner and I stayed for 1 night on the bank holiday. The hotel itself has a very nice out look over the lake and I would recommend upgrading to a lake view room as this is what sells the hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor with a nice large balcony with views over the lake. The room was very clean and the bottles of wine went down very well.
Once arrived and settled in we decided to go for a late lunch at the Boat House pub. My Sandwich was nice however both of our chips were cold along with my partners Brie and Cranberry Ciabatta.
After lunch we went for a walk around the lake and headed to the hotel bar for a drink. We finally found a table that was clear of previous peoples glasses and dirty plates which I found rather annoying. Drinks are priced accordingly with the 4 stars status and was served by very friendly staff.
After a sneaky afternoon sleep back in our room we went back down and had dinner in the hotel bar. The food was very good and the staff very friendly however once again there was dirty plates and glasses stacked on various tables around us. It took 45 mins for a member of staff to actually get round to clearing them (or should I say part clearing before being distracted and stopped to do something else).
We both slept well but was woken in the morning by the continuous noise of doors closing from various doors along our corridor and the floor below. It seems odd that the doors do not allow you to close them with the handed from outside the room but can only be pulled closed. I found this rather annoying. You can also hear people in the rooms either side whether it be their conversations or bladder movements in their bathrooms. It is a shame that when they spent the millions of pounds building the hotel they didnt sound proof the rooms enough.
Again breakfast was very good and we had this in our room, check out was also efficient.

To sum the hotel up; The staff are all very friendly but Food and Beverage staff are not very pro-active when clearing tables. The hotel is very large and busy so I would not recommend staying if you are planning a quiet weekend away.
I would not stay again as it is so large and corporate for my idea of a country cotswold hotel but clearly has a place in the market which it does well.

Room Tip: Upgrade to lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAEDLE1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
We are pleased that our guests were happy with check-in and the breakfast facilities and were happy with their room and upgrade package.

We are sorry to learn that our guests encountered problems with service in our popular and busy bar lounge and have recently addressed any issues so that each member of our team is responsible for separate areas of service to ensure that our guests are always being cared for and the tables are cleared without delay during busy periods.

It saddens us to learn that these guests would not choose to stay with us again, preferring perhaps a smaller more intimate hotel, however, we hope that they will try some of the other hotels in our group that may be more tailored to their taste.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    883
    498
    178
    112
See reviews for
462
1,087
36
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

have just arrived home from having my Hen do at this hotel, have been there twice before on girls weekend and have always loved it. Stayed in the self catering apartments each time and they are beautiful. not so good if you don't get a waterside apartment although still nice the amazing view really is what makes it great. The spa is nice and you get provided with robes, towels and slippers to keep you nice and chilled. The restaurant (Boat House) has the same lovely views, the food is nice but a bit over priced. There aren't ANY local takeaway places so you do need to go fully stocked with food and booze but you have full kitchen set up for cooking/microwave and a fridge to make that do-able. The room service food was horrible and not really eatable which was a shame but didn't put a dampner on the weekend. the local bars are about a 10 minute cab ride away (£14-£15 a car).

Room Tip: Ask for waterside apartments though they wont guarantee it which is a shame when it's a special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_T_J_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
We thank our guest for taking the time to provide us with their review and are pleased to learn that their weekend was a success.

For guests interesting in self catering, we offer self catering suites which include a double bed with en suite bathroom, working desk area with free broadband access and a spacious lounge/kitchen area. We also have a selection of one and two bedroom apartments perfectly fitted with a double bed and en-suite bathroom alongside a fully furnished lounge with a desk and internet access extending to a well equipped kitchenette which includes a cooker, microwave and dishwasher.

We do offer a takeaway menu and a room service menu to all our Self Catering Guests and are sorry to learn that these particular guests were unhappy with the food during their stay.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet
Level Contributor
271 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We used this hotel as a base as we were attending a gig at nearby Lakeside and so we did not use the full hotel amenities.

The check in was very smooth and most friendly and our room on the first floor was spotless and had a very pretty view of the lake.

We had a swim and a sauna and the facilities were first class.

The breakfast area looked quite small and we guessed would get very full and so we went for the continental breakfast delivered to our room at no extra cost. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and we certainly made the right choice.

To sum up the hotel ticked all the right boxes and we will return and use all the facilities at some future date.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superhoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
We are pleased to learn that our guests enjoyed their room and the room service breakfast were able to enjoy the facilities available in Spa6 during their stay.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is probably one of my most favourite hotels. I travel weekly with work and stay all over the world but there's something I love about this place hence the repeat stays. If we have a free weekend together and want to get away this is the place we always think of first. It's modern and well designed and the lounge/bar area is so relaxing, especially if you can get a sofa by the fire and there is also a mezzanine floor lounge with a TV and recently free wifi throughout the hotel. The restaurant is lovely and overlooks the beautiful lake. The inclusive dinner, bed and breakfast rate is really the only rate worth going for and is normally excellent value. You get a choice of a 3 course set menu or £22.50 to spend on the a la carte menu so plenty of choice. My husband and I often share a starter and dessert to be able to have steaks or similar. The set menu is ok but I've often found the food a little lower quality than the a la carte which has always been excellent. Complimentary bread/oils and bottles of water is a lovely touch. The service is always been very good in our experience both in the bar and restaurant, the young staff are polite and eager to please and we feel comfortably waited on here. The breakfast is a very good buffet but there is also a menu you can order fresh dishes from for no extra charge. I love having breakfast on the deck in summer or by the big windows which look out to the gorgeous lake. The Old Boathouse next door is a lovely pub which is part of the hotel. You can charge food and drinks to your room bill too, a nice alternative for pre/post dinner or lunchtime drinks. The spa is lovely and there are child-free times which is great if you want to relax. The gym is well equipped but spa treatments are pricey and get booked up very far in advance. We've only stayed in standard rooms and they're a good size. If you're lucky enough to have a lake view then the view is amazing with huge floor to ceiling windows and often a door out to the deck if you're on the ground floor.

A few little gripes - if you don't get a room with a lake view then the stay is far less enjoyable as the other rooms only have tiny windows overlooking the car park. 3 out of the 4 times we've been lucky enough to get a lake view room when we asked during check in. There is no air con and the rooms can get very warm in summer. I've always booked online but if I've needed to call then I've often found reservations quite unhelpful - if a rate package isn't available online then they won't to do anything to help. For example there were rooms available for this weekend but not the DBB package, they absolutely refused to allow us to have the dinner package even though they weren't fully booked which was very frustrating and we ended up booking elsewhere. This has happened a couple of times now and I would advise booking as soon as you see a good rate online to avoid disappointment. A big gripe of mine is that there is no loyalty scheme! There's no recognition whatsoever for frequent guests which is a real shame as this would definitely encourage us back even more often. It would be nice to be welcomed when we return in the same way Marriott, etc do. Its also a bit of a shame that inclusive guests don't have the option of taking dinner in the Old Boathouse, even for a surcharge.

Overall though, a fab hotel with lovely staff and food in a glorious setting and I know we'll be going back at least twice a year.

Room Tip: Go for the inclusive dinner package rate every time - dinner is worth £45 per couple and very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stouffer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
We thank our regular guest for their review.

The Four Pillars Group does offer a privilege scheme. The details are available on our website.

We are very fortunate that The Old Boathouse Pub is able to accommodate our guests as an alternative dining venue to the hotel's Brasserie and those staying with us on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Package are given an allowance which they can spend at the pub. Alternatively, we have a three course dinner menu available at the hotel or an allowance toward our a la carte menu. This allowance can also be used for room service or on food in our bar lounge.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back so that we are able to discuss some of the options available to them.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I have to say i read a lot of bad experiences on here about Four Pillars. The trouble is that i read them after we had booked and before we'd been so i was a little worried. I really had no need to be. My husband and i went away for a very special reason and found our stay delightful, delicious food, friendly staff, clean bright room. A very very enjoyable stay. We intend to return. Thank you Four Pillars (good value for money too) x

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLeach190766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
We would like to thank our guests for their review via Tripadvisor.

It is pleasing to learn that our team provided a delightful stay and we are very grateful for the comments regarding the delicious food, friendly staff, clean bright rooms.

We look forward to welcoming our guests back to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a very large, busy hotel and I was put off a bit by other reviews moaning about having to queue to check in / out. There was a small queue on our arrival but the efficient, friendly receptionists checked everybody in at a cracking pace - well done ! Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean except for a few red wine stain patches on the carpet in the bar area. The staff were all friendly, polite and worked very efficiently. Dinner in the Brasserie was nice, the food well prepared and tasty, but not particularly memorable. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice - self-service. I booked through the hotel's own website - double room for 1 night at £119 (same price as Expedia), but I chose the very good value package - double room + dinner for 2 + breakfast for 2 at £149
I usually shy away from large, busy hotels which the Four Pillars certainly is, but at no time did I feel uncomfortable with the environment and number of guests milling around !
I thought it quite strange that quite a number of people going to and from the pool / gym were walking through public areas, the bar, the reception, wearing just bath robes. I jumped into the lift with 4 middle-aged ladies on their way for a swim and I don't know who was more embarrassed !
However, if you're in this part of the world, I recommend the Four Pillars Hotel - very good.

Room Tip: Choose the all inclusive dinner / bed / breakfast package - it is excellent value for two ! If po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rotiel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
We are pleased to learn that our guests found our reception team to be helpful and efficient and that their room was spacious and very comfortable.

We are grateful for the comments regarding our staff and happy that they enjoyed dinner in the Brasserie.

Our best rates are advertised on our website and our reservations team are always happy to discuss individual requirements.

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just returned from a 1 night Spa Break and can honestly say how much we enjoyed it. We arrived early afternoon and were welcomed by a friendly smile and check in went without a hitch. Our double room was very clean and spacious and situated on the ground floor. The bathroom was equally well appointed albeit there was problem with the toilet flush with the water continually running. As the problem could not be solved on a Sunday afternoon, the Duty Manager Dominic was extremely helpful and offered us an adjoining room. He could not have been more helpful. We ate in the Brassiere on the night and the 3 course menu offered plenty of choice and was well presented. The staff in the dining room were excellent. Breakfast is buffet style with the usual choices. The Spa facilities were excellent and the pool water a very pleasant temperature. Overall I could not fault the hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolihullStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dom and Stephen J, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
We are delighted to learn that our guest enjoyed their stay with us at The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, our Brasserie and their time in Spa6.

We are pleased that they found their room clean and spacious with a well appointed en-suite and that we were able to resolve any issues without delay .

Kind Regards,

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
18.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
17.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
17.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing