We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I was part of a group of 6 who stayed at the hotel for 3 days over the New Year period and we enjoyed every minute. The hotel is incredibly well managed, the staff are all friendly and genuinely seem to enjoy working there and the standards are much higher than expected - and that's before you take into consideration the wonderful location ! I would recommend this hotel without hestitation (and did so to a work colleague who then couldn't get a room because it was fully booked for the weekend they required - no surprise).

We usually go to a hotel for New Years Eve and, with a few exceptions, generally have a very enjoyable experience but I have to class this as one of the best. The dining room was very well presented, the meal was both well cooked and well served, the entertainment struck just the right note and everyone involved seemed to want to make sure you had a good time.

We've stopped at other 4 Pillars hotels in the past and they all seem to have a similar ethos in terms of management and care of their employees, to me it is paying off because many high end hotels seem to be indifferent and not very welcoming.

I will certainly return but one tip - avoid the pub next door (it's not good) if you want lunch and go to one in the local village instead.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

We are pleased that our guests were able to join us for the New Year celebrations and that they enjoyed their stay at The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel Resort.

We are very happy that our guest recommends us to others and that they have enjoyed the other hotels with the Four Pillars Group too. Amongst our group of hotels are Tortworth Court, a magnificent grade 2 listed Victorian mansion set in 30 acres of tranquil parkland in Wooton-Under-Edge, Oxford Spires, just a short walk from Oxford City Centre, Oxford Thames, just over 3 miles from the centre of Oxford offering an elegant retreat from the bustle of the city and again set in 30 acres of beautiful parkland which leads down to the River Thames, our hotel located in the market town of Witney in Oxfordshire and our Abingdon Hotel located on the outskirts of the historic Abingdon-on-Thames.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,154 - 2,160 of 2,738 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

Myself & 2 friends had a day spa last week. The facilities were good and the food was very good. However, the organisation of the spa was awful. The treatments when we did get them were great, however, rather than a relaxing day - it was stressful and rather than relaxing it wound us all up!
The spa manager showed lots of empathy and acknowledge that their were no excuses, and that they had messed up with the treatment times. Had the staff at the time explained upfront that they had a staff problem that would have been fine. Instead they left us sitting around with no explanation and kept telling us when we enquired that our therapists would be along shortly. The therapist didn't show at all. They did eventually squeeze our treatments in, this was over an hour later at our lunch time, another friend was going to join us but she was sent away by the Staff. My afternoon session ran very late and our afternoon tea had to be reorganised to a different place. Despite pre-arranging our treatment times to be at the same so we could have a catch up and enjoy it altogether - it was very disappointing.

Room Tip: This review is on the spa, the hotel staff were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

We are sorry that our guests 'Spa Day' did not go to plan due to unforeseen staffing issues, however, we are satisfied that on this rare occasion, our Spa Manager was able to assist and ensure that most of the arrangements went smoothly.

It is clear that we did not perform to our usual high standards on this one occasion and whilst we regret that our visitors did not find the day as relaxing as we would have hoped, we do hope that they will consider joining us again now that al these issues have been resolved.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanathri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a 2 night stay earlier this week. Sunday was quite busy in the hotel and it had quite a buzz, but Monday was lovely and quiet and the spa was virtually empty.

Staff were lovely and helpful, we had treatment at the spa and it was lovely! Breakfast wasn't anything special, we didn't eat in the restaurant but had no complaints with lunch!

Would definitely return & would ask for a lake view as it was stunning!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaK142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

We are happy that our guests enjoyed their 2 night stay with us and found Spa6 to be relaxing.

The hotel is usually very busy on Sunday, not only because it is our most popular check-out day after weekend stays but because we offer a 3 course Sunday Carvery from 12:30 - 3pm to both residents of the hotel and non-residents. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed the atmosphere.

We offer a hot and cold breakfast buffet to our guests comprising of croissants, pan au chocolate, assorted danish pastries, preserves, fresh continental meats and cheeses, fruit and natural yoghurt, fresh fruit as well as dried ingredients, grapefruit segments, prunes, cereals, weetabix, muesli and porridge alongside fruit juices (Apple, Grapefruit and Orange), bread for toasting and bread rolls. Our selection of hot food includes fried eggs, scrambled eggs, grilled back bacon, pork sausages, black pudding, sauteed mushrooms, baked beams, hash browns, tomatoes and fried bread.

We can also cook to order vegetarian sausages, grilled kippers with lemon, smoked haddock, poached eggs, boiled eggs and plain omelettes.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanathri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

A nice hotel with friendly staff. Food is good if a little expensive. Spa is very nice. Our room was on the ground floor so easy to get to but it was noisy in the morning with people walking about and staff moving cages of towels outside.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

We are pleased that overall our guests enjoyed their stay with us and enjoyed the service from our staff, our food and the facilities of Spa6 which are available to all residents of the hotel including our hydrotherapy pool, steam room, sauna and fully equipped gym.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel on a business trip, and even though the entrance can seem a little soulless, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms immaculate and the views over the lake stunning. We were very disappointed with the pub next door, but feel the hotel is bang on in terms of facilities, service and atmosphere. Very nice

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

We are very happy that our guests enjoyed the hotel, our facilities, service and atmosphere and will pass any comments regarding the pub on site to the management team in place there.

We look forward to welcoming our guest during any future business or perhaps leisure trips.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights recently and had a wonderful time and . Staff in the hotel were very friendly and welcoming with excellent service and rooms were comfortable had lovely view of the lake .
spa was nice and tasteful and pool was clean and free towels were on offer.

Room Tip: higher floor means you get excellent views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

We are very pleased to learn that our guests enjoyed their time and comfortable room at The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming. We hope that they will visit us again in the future to see some of the exciting changes we are making and experience our facilities and Spa6 further.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed here with friends over the christmas period for 1 night with dinner and use of spa. During our stay the hotel was very busy in the communal areas, spa especially during the afternoon with a waiting list for it's use. The coffee station also had a 20-30 minute wait from ordering to drinks arrival when we first arrived mid afternoon. Not great considering the coffees were rather expensive. Upon check in we asked to change rooms to a larger bed if possible and were relocated to one of the apartments. Although a fair walk from the main areas the beds were bigger (2 singles put together) and the staff were very accommodating in organising our room.

During the evening we drank in the bar & ate in the restaurant. Our waiters were again very accommodating (although there were a lot of uncleared tables in the restaurant whilst we dined).

The surrounding area is lovely, and the hotel was pleasant (a few glitches along the way as mentioned above) however the customer service we experienced during our stay was not extended to us after leaving. This was disappointing. During our stay I accidentally left a jacket in the wardrobe. I realised this on returning home & telephoned the hotel. After several phone calls over two days the jacket had not been found and we had been passed around several people with several promises of calls back that did nor occur. Getting nowhere I e-mailed the hotel and was told that the jacket could not be found. I found this strange as we were promised that the room was cleaned after we checked out and the jacket was not in the wardrobe where I left it.

A shame that the after stay service was not as excellent as the service had been during our stay.

Room Tip: For bigger beds choose an apartment room. Better views from the main hotel area, lovely view overloo...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank joeyjo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

We are happy that our guests were able to join us during the festive season and found our staff to be very accommodating. Check-in time was our busiest period and we hope that the delays which may have been experienced by some guests did not affect the great atmosphere that the Christmas period brought us. It did take 15 minutes to refresh some of our refreshment areas due to the volume of people moving through the central body of the hotel, although we have received great feedback from many happy guests, some of which visit us each Christmas.

We enjoy meeting old friends and welcoming new ones to our hotel.

Whilst we are saddened that our guests feel we did not offer an excellent after stay service, our Guest Relations Team has been in direct communication and whilst we have not been able to assist with what seems to be a lost property issue, we do hope that we have made the line of communication much smoother after any initial problems.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Manager (s)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
415 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
838 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £76 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing