We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice Cotswold hotel, in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A nice Cotswold hotel, in a beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

The Four Pillars is a nice hotel, although absolutely enormous! We stayed here for a wedding, and found the hotel to be well managed, clean and the food was excellent. We were in room 700(ish) which was a bit of a hike from the reception as the hotel is split into several buildings, which to be fair, are spaced out so that as many rooms as possible get nice views over the lakes.

Being such a big hotel, does mean you lose some of the Costwold charm you can get elsewhere, the rooms are pretty standard but clean and nice enough. When we were there it was very busy so it was service on-mass, but the staff are efficient and helpful so we had a good stay. The buffet breakfast was really good, again it was incredibly busy but the food quality didn't suffer. This would be a good place to base yourself for seeing some of the beautiful Cotswolds!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanspacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We are happy to find that our guests were pleased with their stay and the service provided by our team and that breakfast was enjoyable.

As our guest mentions, as you make your way from the hotel which is set in the heart of the Cotswolds, The central location makes the hotel an ideal place to escape to, whether for business, Cotswolds short breaks or longer self-catering holidays offering a huge range of outdoor activities and water sports in the area including wake boarding, sailing, horse riding, cycling, fishing, walking and high ropes.

Stephen J Brock, Juliet Weeramanthri & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    905
    511
    182
    112
See reviews for
472
1,118
38
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed here with my family to attend a wedding ( reception held at the venue too).
The location is lovely and all rooms seem to overlook lakes or landscapes etc. They are fitted out to a good standard and have the usual amenities, coffee/tea making etc. They were however exceptionally hot. No doubt this is environmentally sound but it was near impossible to sleep without leaving windows open. This might not be a problem on the first floor but a worry at ground floor level as there were open paths for anyone to walk along right outside. This 'problem' was greater due to unthought full room allocations - see below.
Having booked very far in advance and noted that it was a a family, I was disappointed to be allocated two identical rooms separated by a number of long corridors; I was not expecting interconnecting rooms but there seemed little thought or attempt to locate us at least on the same corridor. My children were in their room but even less happy to open windows.
Open windows also brought in all the sound of late night wedding party revellers that drifted outside as the main reception drew to an end.
I would not rule out a visit but worth asking for a room on the first floor and seeking some clarity around room allocations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor to avoid excessively hot bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCHappyskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We were happy to host the wedding reception and accommodate wedding guests who, like these guests enjoyed our amenities.

We have pro-actively provided rotating tower fans in all of our guest rooms for use in hot weather. Our rooms can become warm on the rare occasion that the sun shines over the lake but each of our rooms offers self-controlled heating.

Stephen J Brock, Juliet Weeramanthri & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed here for the first weekend of the February half-term break. This is a big hotel on the edge of the Cotswold water park. It is a large hotel with leisure facilities. The rooms are well appointed and quite a good size and the one we were in had access on to a decking area overlooking the water. The bathroom was clean with a smallish bath and very good shower. The leisure facilities are good but we didn't use them on the Saturday afternoon as the pool was crowded with a lot of children splashing about. However, they have rules about when children can use the facility and on the Sunday morning it was quiet. We had treatments which we had booked in advance and which were nice. We had also pre-booked in the restaurant which I would recommend if you want to get a decent time. It is not huge given the size of the hotel but they are currently enlarging it. The food was excellent and nicely presented. There was a set menu and an a la carte. we were on a DBB deal which was good value and you could choose to have the set menu or up to £22.50 towards the a la carte per person. The service in the restaurant was very attentive and friendly and the waitress had a good knowledge of the menu and recommended dishes. Sensibly priced wine. In fact, the staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful and seemed to be well trained in customer service. Breakfast the next morning was nice (buffet style but good choice and quality). There was a bit of a queue so you need to pick your time (the hotel information gives advice on this. There is a large bar area and an upstairs bit with Sky Sports if you wanted that. there was also a games room. There is also a pub on site with nice views across the water although we found the service in there to be a bit slow but again friendly. Generally it is a good setting and there are nice walks around the lake (take wellies as the path can be very muddy) and obviously in the surrounding area. There is quite a lot of road noise outside from the nearby dual carriageway, however this could not be heard from inside the room. It was a nice place to stay and we had a relaxing time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saint7650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We are pleased that we were able to accommodate our guests over the busy February half-term period and that they enjoyed our leisure facilities and found our rooms to be well appointed with clean bathrooms and power shower as well as a good size with access to our decking area overlooking the water.

We are pleased that they found the food in our Brasserie to be excellent and nicely presented both in the evening and at breakfast with well-priced wines and that they complement our restaurant service as well as our attentive and friendly staff throughout the hotel.

Stephen J Brock, Juliet Weeramanthri & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Just spent a Spa day here for my 50th Birthday! It was my fourth spa day experience and yet again the staff excelled themselves. From signing in at Spa 6 reception, the staff were friendly, helpful, nothing was to much trouble, even though I wanted to change a few items on my spa lunch, that was fine, no problem. Had to wait for 45 minutes until I could use the pool as there was an water aerobics class taking place, but I took plenty to read and could use the steam and sauna room. Lunch was fab, a lot of it! My two chosen treatments, skin bliss and a facial were wonderful. The only downside was that they have changed the location of the relaxation room, the gym was the other side of it and you could hear the treadmills, and the vibro machine positivley vibrated the floor beneath me, so no afternoon nap! I did point this out to the staff at reception who said they would pass my comments on. Apart from that I am planning my next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We are very happy that we were able to help our guests celebrate a 50th Birthday alongside their fourth spa day experience and that they make such polite comments regarding our staff.
We are pleased that they enjoyed our popular Spa Lunch and their treatments in Spa6

Stephen J Brock, Juliet Weeramanthri & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends in one of the 2 bed apartments as we often struggle to get a decent room that we can all stay in. Lovely apartment, clean well stocked kitchen, warm and good size. Ask for a quiet room though - we had one on the ground floor which was right by the communal door - so was not great at 230am when people very considerately entered the building not very quietly. A room overlooking the lake would have been nice she would be worth asking for that. We booked breakfast with the room which was handy to be able to walk over and have - this was nice, plenty of choice - but were very quick to pack away after the 1030am shut down do be quick and get everything you want! The second morning we went down we had to queue to get into the restaurant (Sun morning) - on going into the restaurant it was not a shortage of tables they did not appear to have enough staff to clear them and get them ready for more guests and a lack of hot food was also apparent - but we managed. They look to be extending the restaurant but building works in very early stages. We used the pool which was nice if not surprisingly quiet small for the size of the resort - we had to wait 20 mins to get into the pool as they had too many people in - 5pm on Sat . Changing rooms agains quite small and could have done with a mop by the time we got in - a little dirty. We also used the Boathouse pub next door on the Sat evening for dinner which was nice and good value. Staff very polite and helpful.
All in all a nice stay but because of the above 3/4 stars - good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We were pleased to accommodate these two friends in one of our 2 bed apartments and that they found it to have a well-stocked kitchen of a good size.

We are currently extending our Brasserie and hope to reach a completion of the works in May 2013

We will share the comments made here about the pub with the management team in place there and are happy that our guests, like many others found their break away to be good value for money.

Stephen J Brock, Juliet Weeramanthri & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

An ok hotel with very poor cleanliness standards. Every drink I ordered at the bar had to be sent back due to filthy glasses. Looked like they had not even been washed. The bathroom in my room was also less than clean with unexplained splashes up the wall. The bedding however was clean and the bed comfortable. Restaurant food was very good as was the buffet provided by the conference team. Service was not as good as I would have expected

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
We are sorry that on this occasion, we seem to have failed to perform in certain areas during this particular guest stay. Clearly the issues noted here are not indicative of our usual high standards and for that we apologise.

We are pleased that we were able to resolve any issues during our guest stay and that overall the guest enjoyed their stay and found the their guest room to be clean and comfortable. All our rooms are not only serviced by an experienced team but inspected before allocation to guests.

We are happy that our guest enjoyed the restaurant food and the buffet food provided by our Team of Chef’s during a conference here at the hotel.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Nothing to fault, had a 2 night d and bb leisure deal, excellent value for money. Great room in main hotel, food good, service excellent, friendly staff. Spent time in Spa 6 and all good. Excellent location, easy to ge to, easy to find. A few nice walks near by, for some fresh air. Can't go wrong with this place for a good weekend away. Fifth visit to a four pillars hotels, second time to this one and have never been disappointed. Looking forward to coming back in the autumn for another pampering weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnil68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
We are pleased that our guest was able to enjoy our leisure deal and found our prices to be excellent value for money, offering great rooms, an excellent location, food good, excellent service from friendly staff and a welcoming Spa.

We look forward to our guests 6th visit to a hotel in the 'Four Pillars Group' during the autumn and thank them for choosing to stay with us at our various locations.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
17.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing