We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Strayed at the hotel last week for 2 nights - good sized room - very comfortable and good nights sleep. Good breakfast.
Managed to leave my jacket in my room and only found out when I got home. Rang the hotel - they found it and sent it back to me by post free of charge. Thank you

Room Tip: lake view is great but so was my room which looked over an enclosure which was also a large water fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob_sparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We are very happy that our guest enjoyed their recent 2 night stay and found our rooms to be of a good size and comfortable offering a good night’s rest.

We are pleased that we were able to locate and return lost property to our guest.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,902 - 1,908 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I was booking a spa break for myself and my partner to celebrate our anniversary. I had heard such great things about this hotel and from pictures and reviews I was sure that this would be the perfect get away. I had requested a room overlooking the water and the room we were given had just that. Nice sized room, nice views, clean and homely.
Off we went to the spa to relax in the pool and it was bliss for all of 3 minutes. Two un-accompanied children set upon jumping into the small pool splashing us and another couple and then play fighting, screaming, running and splashing some more. Then came all the other children, albeit this time accompanied by n adult but still, jumping, splashing and playing with a ball that was thrown in our direction more than once. Not the relaxing visit to the pool we had hoped for. The pool was literally a play pen and I was shocked that no one working there had walked in to supervise the behavior.
Our massage was lovely, and the staff upstairs in the spa were very welcoming and finally we felt relaxed in a quiet child free zone.
I had heard great things about dinner, and so we got dressed up and walked over to the brasserie. We stood at the front desk and waited to be seated...waiters and waitresses walked two and from the bar and kitchen and not one of them even acknowledged us to say someone will be with you shortly. We stood like lemons for 10 -15 minutes before a member of staff who wasn't even working in the brasserie walked over and asked if we had been seen to. She set about checking us in for dinner, bless her, and then managed to grab the teen in charge to sit us down.
The whole diner was being run by 16-17 year olds (not what we had expected from a posh hotel) and the table next to us was not cleared of dirty plates the whole time we were there.
Back to the room we went, to realise that the walls really were not as thick as we would have liked. We could hear every single conversation from the room next door, every light switch being flicked and doors being slammed. We were awoken at 7 by children running up and down the corridor, knocking on the neighboring rooms wakening them and us for breakfast.

Overall we were both left disappointed by our visit and our angst towards the poor supervisory and service left us unable to relax. I understand others have had lovely stays at this hotel but I would not be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We are sorry to learn that our guest was disappointed with their stay when celebrating their anniversary. We are pleased that they found our rooms to be of a good size with nice views as well as clean and homely.

We have mentioned here on several occasion that the hotel and Spa6 offer a family friendly environment and as such we offer ‘family swim time’ twice a day in the Spa’s pool.
There can be no excuses for the ‘poor service’ experienced in our brasserie. We are currently in the process of training a new team and are confident that this is going well alongside additional support from the restaurant management team.

It is regrettable that our guests would not choose to stay with us again but we do hope that they will consider the other hotels in our group that they may find better suited for individual taste as each of our hotels is quite unique and appeals to different segments of the market. The Cotswold Water Park is a very busy 4 star resort property with over 300 bedrooms leading to 600+ guests at peak times, particularly weekends.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The facilities make it a 4 star hotel, but the bedroom felt like from a 3+ star hotel. The reception area is lovely and warm with a large foyer where you can have cafe style food and drinks. The food in the brasserie is good, but nothing to write home about. The bedroom we had was modern (Ikea style) and cold looking. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet, which made for a good night sleep. The safe didn't work and the hotel will need a lick of paint and new carpets soon. We used the pool that was a square one of medium size, enough to swim lengths if it were not for all the children playing in it. The hotel seems to be popular with families at the weekend. Good location if you want to enjoy the water sports facilities in the area, but not for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junglemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Our 4 Star rating has been awarded to us by the AA whom we are proud to say have also chosen to regularly use the hotel themselves and enjoy the rooms and facilities that we offer at a high standard as quality and good value for money are things that we strive toward providing all our guests.

We offer a range of different room types, the most popular being our recently upgraded connoisseur bedrooms with balcony and water view.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I visited the Cotswold Water Park Hotel with a friend at the end of October 2013.

The good stuff:
Well maintained hotel in a gorgeous part of the country with all of the facilities you'd expect of a spa hotel. Good range of treatments using Decleor and Jessica products.
Beautiful lakeside view.

The not so good stuff:
There isn't much relaxing about the hydrotherapy pool and sauna/steam room area. You can use it from 3pm on the day of arrival but children area allowed between 3pm and 6pm. There were more children than adults and it certainly wasn't the pampering experience we'd hoped for after reading the website.
The dressing gowns are well worn and quite scraggly. They weren't soft at all.
The menu is more or less the same in the restaurant, bar, pub and room service, so if you would like lunch and dinner on more than one day you'd be best to source a local alternative.
Breakfast was massively disorganised with nowhere near enough staff and they didn't appear to be working in zones. There was no one dedicated to greeting the long queue of guests waiting to be seated.

The really bad stuff:
From our room it took 20 minutes to get through to reception to let them know that the hand towel in our bathroom was stained, as were the two spare pillows (one with a mould stain). We didn't manage to get through to room service at all and had to ask the concierge who swapped our towels and pillows to get someone to call us. We were in a connoisseur room and aside from a bit more space, the only real difference is that you get flannels, additional toiletries and two small plastic bottles of wine and water.

Overall it is a decent hotel, but the service was below the standards we'd expected and although it is marketed as a spa hotel, it isn't the relaxing experience you'd expect versus other spa hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We are pleased that in October, our guest enjoyed our well maintained hotel, its location and facilities as well as Spa6 with our Decleor and Jessica products. We are sorry that they did not find Spa6 particularly relaxing on this occasion.

In our brasserie, we offer an a la carte menu as well as a daily menu that changes every day. Our Room Service menu and Bar Lounge menu are different and we also offer food at The Old Boathouse pub. The brasserie does have a host so we are sorry if our guest were not immediately greeted on a busy evening.

It is significant that we do not market the hotel as a ‘quiet retreat’ or an ‘exclusive four star’, with over 300 bedrooms leading to 600+ guests staying per night at the weekend, it is a busy resort property and we receive many compliments on what we offer for the fair price that we charge. Our pricing we feel is fair for the standards and atmosphere we offer and we are sorry that these guests perhaps do not feel the same way.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The wedding part of our stay was totally amazing the food was outstanding
The room was appalling there were strange hairs found on the bed that didn't belong to my husband or myself, the bathroom mirror was disgusting thick with dust so was the skirting boards the aircon was a fan in a corner of the room
For the price we paid for our room I must admit we were very disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We would like to again congratulate our guests on their happy occasion and we are pleased that the wedding went well and they enjoyed the wedding breakfast.

We are very sorry that the cleanliness in the room was not to the standard that we would have expected and have raised the matter directly with our Housekeeping Manager.

None of the hotel bedrooms have air conditioning in them. We do provide fans in all of the bedrooms to assist in keeping the air circulating, particularly on days when the weather is so warm, however we accept this is not air conditioning and we are sorry if this caused our guest discomfort during their stay.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here in Septemebr with a group of female friends and I could not fault this place ! my room was comfortable had a lovely view, quiet and great bed. The breakfast and evening meal which was included was astouding in quality and value and for the price you would be mad to eat out. We all loved the pool, spa, sauna and steam room, the walks were lovely and I will be back when I next visit the Uk.

Room Tip: Get all included, I had paid the sinlge supplement but it was worth it I had a lovely view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janefoxAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We are happy that this group of ladies were able to visit us in September and could not fault the hotel, their rooms, our lovely lake views, comfortable beds, breakfast and evening menu.
We have lots of guests who find that we offer ‘quality and value’ at a good price and enjoy the facilities available in Spa6

We offer several packages, some of which include Spa Treatments alongside Bed & Breakfast Rates, Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Rates, Self Catering and Room Only.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A huge hotel, sprawling on the side of a lake, it was modern and the entrance area was stylish, but once you got into the room I was underwhelmed - just standard really. Hotel gym was surprisingly small for a place this size, but spa facilities made up for it (used twice during 1 night stay). Food in Brasserie restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

We are pleased that our guest enjoyed the facilities available in Spa6 and that they enjoyed our dining options and the food we offer in our hotels brasserie.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
350 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
621 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
812 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £69 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing