We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill slide”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Cotswold Water Park Hotel again last night (having stayed several times over the past few years) and although the service was excellent, I noticed the standard of cleanliness has declined since my stay 12 months ago. The carpet in the main lobby was very stained and dirty, the couches are very worn, I noticed pieces of bread under one couch last night which was still there this morning, and the lamp stands were all dusty. At breakfast this morning the table was set perfectly, yet there were toast crumbs all over the chairs and floor. In contrast, my bedroom was very clean and tidy, it's just a shame the main entrance and other common areas were grotty!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Clinton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We apologise for any issues that our guest encountered on this occasion but hope that, as a regular visitor to the hotel, they can appreciate that their recent encounter is not a reflection of our usual high standards.

The feedback here has been shared with our Head Housekeeper and brasserie staff to ensure that the policies and procedures we already have in place are being followed with much more attention to detail.

We would not only like to apologise to our guest but thank them for bringing this matter on this one isolated occasion to our immediate attention.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,585)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Cotswold Water Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,808 - 1,814 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

My daughter and I were given a one night stay here as a ' Spa package'
As far as I'm concerned Spas are relaxing places where you can spend the best part of a day relaxing.
The hotel itself is fine. Our room overlooked the beautiful lake, which was special.
However I wanted to relax in a Spa, this did not happen. No pool attendant, noisy kids, no drinks.Not enough loungers. Definitely not relaxing! Didn't stay long., retreated to the boat house next door, lovely place.
We had the mud rasul, which was relaxing and very nice, no complaints there.
Breakfast was average, nothing special.
Would recommend a walk around the lake.
Nice hotel, good treatments, Spa environment not up to standard.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Liesbeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are pleased that our guest and her daughter enjoyed their room overlooking our picturesque lake and the hotel itself and The Old Boathouse and our very own Lake 6 walk.

Our Spa is a relaxing environment but as mentioned here on several occasions, we are also a family friendly hotel and do allow access to families and their children at set times each day so that children are also able to enjoy the pool facilities.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Have just returned from a two night "autumn break" two nights dinner bed and breakfast. Great value, superb breakfast and well cooked and well presented brasserie dinner. Lovely location close to Cirencester, Westonbirt Arboretum and other attractions.Regrettably did not have time to take advantage of leisure club and spa. My only criticism is the accounting system. We had paid upfront for our all inclusive stay yet on both nights the waiting staff insisted that we signed for the cost of our meal. This I refused to do signing only for the wine as an extra.Imagine my surprise on checkout at being charged for a meal. Eventually after much argument this was removed, the excuse being "the new accounting system" Cannot fault the staff who are delightful.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Vyv319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are pleased that our guest travelling with friends, staying with us on our two night "autumn break" dinner, bed and breakfast offer, found their stay to be great value offering superb breakfast and well-cooked and well-presented brasserie dinner.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel was very clean, the room was lovely and the welcome pack was a lovely touch. We had a lake view which was beautiful and great to wake up to. The spa was lovely and a nice way to relax before dinner. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed a massage in the morning after we'd checked out which was a lovely way to round off our break. The food in the hotel was fab and I would definitely recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri_1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We would like to thank our guest for their kind observations of the hotel and we are pleased they enjoyed their connoisseur room, our food and our Spa alongside Spa Treatments.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Where to start!

I stayed with a friend for one night with the intention of having a relaxing spa break, unfortunately the standard of service at the hotel makes it anything but relaxing.
So the good things about the hotel....located in a beautiful setting, our room had a brilliant view of the nature reserve and the spa provided great treatments in a lovely environment.
The not so good things;
1. Upgrading to a connoisseur room simply meant the bedroom was slightly bigger, bath robes were provided and a basket was placed in the room with 2 small bottles of wine, 2 small bottles of water and 1, only 1, packet of pretzels, I guess the budget couldn't stretch to one per guest. In the same basket was some miniature toiletries, a sewing kit and shoe shining kit....not necessarily worth the upgrade.
2. The hand towel in the bathroom was stained, the spare pillows were dirty and had what looked like mould on one.
3. I called reception, concierge and room service etc for approx. 30 minutes before anyone answered, and was then hung up on...eventually the concierge answered, and spoke to me as if he did not believe that the towel/pillows were dirty.
4. The food in the on-site pub it not great, very much a chain pub feel and not great quality food...over cooked and bland pasta.
5. It feels as though the hotel is operating with the minimum labour in every area, there is not attention to detail and certainly no focus on the customer experience.
6. Breakfast was very poorly staffed, no-one to greet guests so a queue kept forming, we had to find someone to ask for hot drinks, there only appeared to be 2 staff working with one supervisor stood counting cash in the middle of the restaurant whilst customers were waiting to be served at the busiest time on a Sunday morning.
7. The pool was too busy on the Saturday afternoon, I'm aware that children are allowed in 3-6 however there should still be a restriction on numbers for health and safety reasons....not a pleasant place to be ether 3-6!

I shall not stay here again and would not recommend this place for any type of break, the service just isn't there.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank rpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We apologise for any issues encountered in the guestroom itself but are confident that our team acted on these issues immediately and were able to rectify our guests concerns. We are of course sorry that this was necessary and have ensured the comments made here and at the time of our guests stay are raised with our Head Housekeeper.

Having experienced a particularly busy weekend, our Spa was very busy but we are pleased that as our guests has stated, they enjoyed the facilities. We have strict operating guidelines for our Spa and the volume of guests that use the facilities. We will continue to monitor this carefully.

Whilst it is regrettable that our guest has chosen not to stay with us again, we do receive much favourable feedback concerning our various food outlets. We are thankful for the comments made here and pleased that our guest was still able to enjoy, like many other guests, our location, setting, their room, the views and our Spa.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Haven't stayed overnight in the hotel but spent a relaxing day at the Spa with a friend.
Great place with everything on hand that you could wish for inc. a Champage bar!
Robes, slippers and towels were provided for your use throughout the day.. Small but good gym, lovely pool with jacuzzi and steam rooms etc. Many treatments also available.
Complimentary Tea, Coffee, fruit juices and water also provided throughout the day.
A great Spa in a modern hotel in a very picturesque area - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunworshiper204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

We are pleased that our guest enjoyed Spa6 and the facilties available to all guests that specifically book our 'Spa Day Packages'.

Details can be found on our website

Stephen J Brock, Juliet Weeramanthri, Dominic Haigh
Guest RelationsTeam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife have recently stayed one night in the Four Pillars Hotel. We got the room at a discounted rate by renewing our home insurance through More Than.

The surroundings of the hotel are very nice and picturesque and that can also be said for the public parts of the hotel (reception, corridors, eating areas)

Upon arrival to the hotel around 3:30pm there was a slight wait at reception to check in. I also asked if room included breakfast to which I was informed 'no it was £12.95 per person.' Oh my god £12.95 each that seems steep? After browsing through a leaflet in our room £12.95 was for a continental breakfast and English breakfast was £15.95. Absolutely scandalous in my opinion we're hardly in the Ritz!!!

Our room was quite basic and not as good as I thought it would be, T.V was quite small in size and had poor picture quality. I don't think the decoration had been changed/improved since the hotel had opened so could certainly do with looking at. There were random cracks in the walls and some had dirty stains on them. In my opinion the room looked a little worn out and required some tlc. The walls also seemed paper thin, very regularly could we hear a door been slammed shut from another room or a toilet been flushed.

However our room did have a great view of the lake and we also had a lovely steak meal from the Old Boathouse pub next door to the hotel. I cannot comment on the hotels own restaurant or pool and spa facilities as we didn't use them.

Overall we wouldn't be rushing to come back to this hotel, although set in a nice part if the country there must be better hotels in the Cotswolds area and if the owners wish to maintain the four star rating it definitely needs some improvement.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob_Sarah87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

It is regrettable that our guests did not enjoy their stay as we receive many many positive reviews about the hotel, its facilities and tour staff.

We are pleased that during their stay they were able to enjoy our setting, their room and The Old Boathouse.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
267 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,328 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
574 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £70 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing