We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utilitarian but good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Utilitarian but good”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for a Christmas party and had a decent night of sleep. The hotel is modern and light and has over 300 rooms. As a result, it has an impersonal, institutional feel, a bit like an upmarket student hall of residence. What it lacks in terms of style and atmosphere, it makes up for in efficiency. All members of staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms we had were clean and serviceable at a basic level, although pillows were thin and there was no mini-bar or face flannels/cotton wool buds etc provided in the bathroom, which at over £100 a night you would get elsewhere. There was a lot of noise from both next door rooms and the corridor outside, so didn't feel very private. The public areas are also perfectly serviceable but not more than that. Breakfast was again efficient, if uninspiring, but at least the staff were cheerful. In its price bracket it is fine but not a place of destination. We also prefer hotels with more character. If I lived closer, I would use the spa, where we had excellent treatments/massages. One note of caution, the pool was like a zoo with far too many people/children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneFairfax39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are pleased that our guest enjoyed their Christmas party with us and their stay at the hotel in one of our 328 bedrooms and thank them for noting our staff whom having worked especially hard over the festive period to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.

Stephen J Brock, Juliet Weeramanthri & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    938
    550
    200
    119
See reviews for
492
1,175
42
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel from Thursday till Saturday. We booked a room with full lake view and balcony. It was very peaceful, quiet and relaxing sat on the balcony over looking the lake. The room it's self was spacious clean and comfy.
The hotel itself was modern and clean. The spa was brilliant and the massages we had were the best. They have a really good gym there with top of the range equipment. The pool is good with a sauna and steam room. Be warned on a Saturday it's full of kids so we were told, so don't expect a relaxing time on the loungers round the pool on a Saturday.
The breakfast I'm afraid was luke warm at the best, and the next day we ordered it in bed. Once again it was cold, so not good. Shame. The hotel restaurant is ok, but the boathouse pub next door is better and well worth a visit. All in all we had a good stay just shame about the breakfasts being cold.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bowesy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We are pleased our guest enjoyed their 3 night stay with us in one of our connoisseur balcony lake facing rooms finding it to be spacious, clean and comfortable and that they enjoyed the facilities and treatments available in Spa6 as well as choosing to dine at the Old Boathouse pub.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night. I have stayed here a few times before, and it's always the same experience. Great hotel, with the public areas maintaining an individual style, despite being a chain hotel. Great bar, and lovely grounds overlooking the water park. Lots of parking, but you can be a long way from reception if you arrive a bit later in the day.

The rooms lack the character of the public areas, and feel like generic hotel rooms. The room we had on this visit was large, but felt quite souless as the furniture was lost in the space. the fixtures are good quality, with a nice bathroom and adequate wardrobe space. The room overlooked the drop-off area outside reception, so there was constant can and foot traffic.

Lots of reviews mention this, and it is very true, you have to watch which room you're in. Some of the rooms are at the far end of the complex, and due to the design of the hotel corridors, can be a good 10 minute walk to the reception/bar/restaurant. My advice would be to phone and stipulate a room closer to reception.

Great spa and pool facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We are delighted to learn that we are able to provide a consistent level of service to our valued return customer during each stay and that they continue to enjoy the hotel and facilities.

We offer 328 guestrooms. In order to guarantee a water view and balcony, we do offer an upgraded room package (Connoisseur balcony room), however, for those wanting to enjoy our standard rooms, we allocate on the day of arrival which can mean that a water view or a specific preferred room location is not always available, however, we do our best to accommodate special requests where possible and allow early check-in subject to availability.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, excellent location. Walls are a bit thin, you can hear everything. I heard someone sneeze and I said bless you to them. Followed by a thank you, and some laughs from the neighbouring room. The staff could also be more attentive. The guy on reception sounded depressed.
The above should not deter you from this hotel. It is in a great location. The view from our room was great and the breakfast was very generous with good quality ingredients. Would stay again.

The

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We thank our guest or noting our guestrooms and excellent location and we are pleased that they enjoyed their stay and our breakfast service.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My daughter booked two rooms mine was spacious and although not luxurious had everything that was needed. They asked us to have dinner early but the service was quite slow, food was good. The real downside,it was extremely noisy until very late making it very difficult to get to sleep, my room was where a walkway went to the next building but my daughters room was also noisy although they were just on a corridor. We were told at reception the Spa closed at 9.30m so we waited until after dinner to make enquiries re treatment but found Spa closed at 8. 30pm!
Lovely location and enjoyed walk around lake after breakfast which was good, although as buffet style they may consider seating guests without children in a different part of the restaurant to avoid tripping over young children when carrying food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We are sorry to learn that our guests were disturbed during their stay by noise, perhaps because the hotel is now experiencing the beginning of a very busy festive season, however, we are pleased that they did enjoy their stay and our very own lake 6 walk which offers guests a 45 minute stroll around the grounds, passing by our sanctuary where the native black poplar grows.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have just returned from Spa 6 having had a relaxing facial. It certainly went beyond its title. I was given a 15 minute back massage first and the the facial began. It was very indulgent and the aroma of the product alone relaxed me immediately.
I have had several facials here now and I have not once been disappointed. The therapists are very knowledgable about their products and go that extra mile in their treatments.
I cannot recommend this Spa enough and I will certainly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your review.
Our therapists use their experience and continued training to provide the very best service they can. They will be very pleased to receive this warm recommendation.

The spa offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women including Signature Treatments specifically designed for Spa 6 by our product house, Decleor.

Dom Haigh, Stephen Brock and Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The venue, rooms & spa are all excellent, the dinner menu is a set menu & slightly basic, same vegetables on each meal & some WOW missing. The staff also were not very friendly but efficient, relax a bit & talk to customers.

Breakfast is good, lots of choice though the hot option choices were all very full with not a lot of customers in the room, meaning that it had sat for some time.

The function staff are incredibly flexible & efficient & the function meal excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SetonSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
We are very pleased that our guest found our function staff to be flexible and efficient and that the function went well and was an enjoyable event.

We do offer several ‘made to order’ dishes at breakfast alongside our hot & cold buffet selections. In the evening as well as our ‘daily table d'hote menu’, our guests do have the option of dining from our a la carte menu.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
165 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,291 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
492 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
460 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing