We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but pricey in the bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night DBB. Check in and out was effortless,the room was clean and tidy with all the ammenities you would expect to have in a four star hotel. The spa was excellent and the staff very polite.
In the evening I asked for a pint of draught Cider at the bar which came out cloudy on at least five occassions. I was then offered a magners at a cost of £4.95, which I thought was a tad on the expensive side and offered no reduction as recompense. Hey ho it is a four star hotel after all. The SMALL glass of wine took the price for two drinks to over £10. I did speak with other guests later in the evening and they told me they had been to a pub around the corner in Cerney Wick ( not the boathouse ) and saved a fortune but they were conference regulars and new the layout. Overall a pleasent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ferandane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We are very happy that our guests enjoyed both the hotel and our Spa and had a pleasant stay with us.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,766 - 1,772 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a great family time at this hotel over Easter. We had various family members coming and going throughout the weekend and hotel staff were accommodating throughout our stay.

The spa was lovely although a little noisy during the children's swimming hours. The towels provided added to the experience as did the brilliant showers with a huge shower head.

Breakfast was amazing. A wide selection of cooked food as well as cereal, yogurt, fruit and pastries. We arrived in a group of 10 at 8:30 with no problem but by 9 a queue had developed.

Food in both the bar and the pub across the way was delicious and bent over backwards to meet a wide range of dietary requests. They even went on a long search to find us giant jenga to play after dinner - thank you!

Our room was great even though it wasn't a lake view. The even numbers on our corridor did have a lake view which is amazing! All guests are able to walk around the lake - shame about the noise from the motorway!!

Room Tip: A lake view - even numbers on our corridor seemed to have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cookie288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We are pleased this family had a great time with us enjoying the Spa, the food and the outdoor Jenga and Connect 4 games

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We travelled to this hotel with our two teenage boys and were amazed by the size and quality of our chosen apartment (542). It exceeded our expectations in every aspect with a well appointed kitchen, lounge and dining area, two good size bedrooms each with an en suite bathroom and with a view of the lake.

We only stayed for two days, but wished we had stayed longer. The hotel offered excellent value for money (booked via Booking.com), and we made use of the gym and pool on each day of our stay and the Boathouse for lunch on the day of arrival.

We visited Cirencester and Stratford Upon Avon (well worth the hours drive), as well as Bourton on the Water and Broadway.

All in all an excellent short break, in a great location, made all the better by an outstanding hotel complemented by professional staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We thank our guests for their review. As mentioned here, for guests interesting in self catering, we offer a selection of 'pay in advance' one and two bedroom apartments perfectly fitted with a double bed and en-suite bathroom alongside a fully furnished lounge with a desk and internet access extending to a well equipped kitchenette which includes a cooker, microwave and dishwasher.

Guests who choose our self-catering apartments are still welcome to use the hotels facilities, food outlets and Spa. We can even charge back to the room when a guest chooses to register a debit or credit card at the desk so that any balance can be settled with Reception on departure.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We got a great deal here through Secret Escapes with D,B&B included plus a bottle of wine. Some weeks before we travelled, I called to book a table in the restaurant for the duration of our stay (important as it gets really busy) and to ask about upgrading the room to make more room for the child's bed. We agreed the upgrade price for the better room which included robes, slippers, wine and water as extras.
On the plus side, the room was large, it was at ground floor level with a wrap round verandah allowing external access to the side of the lake and had a nice bathroom. The furnishings were ok, although the bed was made up by zipping two singles together.
The attention to detail part arose because of a series of failures by various staff members. The agreed upgrade simply hadn't been processed when we arrived which caused some consternation with the girl at check-in. Luckily I had kept the emails on my phone and even more luckily, they still had an upgraded room free but as they were busy, it could have gone horribly wrong!
The child bed was duly transferred but we had to ask again for the wine that was included in the Secret Escapes deal. It eventually arrived but we then had to chase up the wine, water and robes that came with the better room twice more before they finally arrived. Not very impressive.
The food in the restaurant was fine and the breakfast buffet was very good so no complaints there at all. All the waiting staff were also very pleasant indeed.
The rooms do not have air conditioning and it was very sunny so the room heated up a lot. Luckily, being early in the year it cooled down at night but I can imagine sleeping could be very difficult on a hot summer's evening. If that is an issue for you, try and get a room which doesn't attract direct sunlight in the afternoon.
On the second day, the maid took away three wet towels and left only one clean one? A quick call got the others but surely that shouldn't have happened.
Finally, on checkout, they had charged us for the child's meals even though they were included and we had handed in the vouchers that reception had given us, but forgot to charge for the room upgrade. Being honest, we pointed it all out but again, why was there yet another two mistakes?
Overall ,the hotel provides a pleasant stay, the pool is great and the surroundings fabulous. There are two play areas for children, one busy outside the pub but another opposite the apartments which was always quiet. The food was good and the staff very nice but someone just has to get a grip in terms of getting the details right. One mistake is fair enough but several is just sloppy.
Despite all that I'd go back but I'd double check everything in advance and definitely get a room out of the sun!

Room Tip: You need a ground floor room if you'd like direct access to te terrace that runs round the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We thank our guest for taking the time to provide online feedback and apologise for any inconvenience caused during their stay as mentioned here.

We are pleased that overall, the stay with us was enjoyable.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Have spent a wonderful day being thoroughly spoilt in Spa 6. The staff were very attentive, the treatments superb and the lunch outstanding. This truly is one of the best spas we've visited and one we will be returning to very soon! Thank you for a very relaxing day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We thank our Spa guest for their review.

Spa6 is open to the public for a minimal charge per day as well as hotel residents (who have complimentary access to the facilities).

We offer a hydrotherapy pool with jet beds and water cannons, poolside heated loungers, a wet steam room and dry steam room, bucket shower at poolside and ice fountain as well as a range of separately charged health & beauty treatments available in our treatments rooms, rasul, dry floatation, nail bar/beauty area with relaxation suite and champagne bar.

We also have a fully equipped gym and in the hotel, there is an additional area where Spa Members can relax and enjoy drinks.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A nice hotel - very nice welcome. The Hotel was a little bit cold but the staff made up for it. A very super efficient Bar Manager (shame we didn't get his name) was a little officious but excellent in his wine recommendation and seemed to second guess your thoughts ………"madam, would you like to have butter alongside the cheese and biscuits". Our evening meal was really lovely. Breakfast unfortunately was totally chaotic - toaster not working, food all over the floor. Not enough staff to clean up. The staff did their upmost - but there was clearly not enough of them. Unfortunately, I had a bad experience at the Spa with a treatment and when the Spa Manager was away - no one called back to speak to me regarding my experience. Finally I spoke with the Sally the Duty Manager of the Four Pillars. Well, what a breath of fresh air - she dealt with the situation in probably the most friendly, efficient, professional manner I have ever experienced ……….she allowed for the end of our long weekend stay to end on a high. Thank you. A modern hotel with perhaps a bit of a corporate feel - but staff are lovely.

Room Tip: A standard double with access to decking ……..no need to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soniamarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

We are sorry to learn that our guest had some concerns during their stay but pleased that our Front of House Manager was able to address these issues and make the visit a more enjoyable one.

Feedback from guests is always appreciated and helps to motivate our team to provide the level of customer service that we constantly strive to achieve. The comments made here will be shared with our staff as we know just how far this praise will go towards keeping the spirits of the whole team high.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here for a chilled weekend break. The hotel grounds are stunning, set in the Cotswold Water Park it was lovely.

Hotel reception area was very spacious and the check in process was very quick.

We had a lovely room with a door which opened onto the decking by the lake. The room was very spacious and modern.

We went and used the pool and spa facilities which we were a little dissapointed with, there were a lot of children in the pool area jumping in and out of the pool running around and making a lot of noise. I have never been to a spa hotel where children have been allowed in the spa, so if i'd booked a spa day there I would not have been impressed. The spa area is lovely but not relaxing!

We had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice, can recomend the Lamb Shank it was melt in the mouth!

We did take a walk to the boathouse pub which was also very nice, not very many people in there for a Saturday night though.

Great location for exploring the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, ground floor you get a door onto the decking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller021985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

All guests that stay at the hotel have access to our hotel facilities, as mentioned here, including our hotels brasserie, our Spa (Children's swim times twice a day) and The Old Boathouse Pub. In addition to these facilities, the hotel also offers free parking, complimentary Wi-Fi, in room tea and coffee making facilities (all rooms have hairdryer, mini safe, trouser press/ironing board and iron), a bar lounge menu, 24 hour room service, a sports lounge, spa lounge and a picturesque walkway all around the hotel with lake views as well as our very own Lake 6 walk (approx 45 minutes) around the lake itself.

We are pleased that our guest enjoyed their stay and the facilities that we offer.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
323 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
606 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,301 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
805 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £61 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing