We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Apartment Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed from Monday to Friday in a self catering apartment with a balcony and facing the lake. My only 3 gripes would be
1 - the rooms were very hot - despite turning off all radiators
2 - the room was not serviced despite leaving the room servicing sign on the door
3 - the beds in the apartment were not comfortable.

Whilst at the resort we visited the spa on several occasions. The service was ok and the facilities good. The staff are a little hit and miss but over all we had a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a lake facing room.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

For guests interesting in self-catering, we offer self-catering suites which include a double bed with en suite bathroom, working desk area with free broadband access and a spacious lounge/kitchen area. We also have a selection of one and two bedroom apartments perfectly fitted with a double bed and en-suite bathroom alongside a fully furnished lounge with a desk and internet access extending to a well-equipped kitchenette which includes a cooker, microwave and dishwasher.

We are sorry to learn that our guest was not completely happy with their stay. When booking a self-catering apartment, the contract signed is specifically “Self-Catering”. If cleaning or fresh linens are required, this can be arranged via our Reception Team or in advance of arrival at the time of making the reservation. Each of our rooms is provided with a fan as well as central heating so that the temperature can be self-regulated.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,583)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Cotswold Water Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,678 - 1,684 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 10 nights whilst on business the location and views were great but the staff were not friendly andcthe service at breakfast and dinner was extremely poor which was a great shame. It is ok if you go self catering! !!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tariq M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We receive much favourable feedback regarding the breakfast and dinner service that we offer as can be seen in the review below whereby our restaurant staff are given favourable mention. The comments made here are sadly, not reflective of the other recent reviews that we have received and we are saddened that this particular guest did not like the hotel. For those guests choosing to dine with us, we offer 24 hour room service, a full bar lounge menu, brasserie a la carte menu and daily menu and there is a pub on-site.

As mentioned above, we are sorry that our guest did not seem to fully enjoy their 10 night corporate stay on this occasion but would welcome the opportunity to discuss any issues that they encountered should they choose to contact us directly.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went here for a Mothers Day treat and really enjoyed it. The restaurant staff were very attentive, there was a good choice of food at the salad bar and the carvery. My only critisim is the roast beef was very rare which meant that myself and my children were unable to have any, but that's just a personal preference.
I would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samstan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Each Sunday at the hotel in our hotels brasserie, excluding key calendar dates, we offer a 3 course carvery. Our guests place their order for drinks and starters with our servers and these are brought to the table, then when ready, help themselves to the soup and salad bar and carvery station where our chef serves you. As if that’s not enough, we take your order for dessert and coffee (Charged separately). Sundays are very popular and advance reservations are strongly recommended - all currently priced at £12.95 per head (£6.50 for children) who can choose either half portions from or any of the dishes on our children’s menu.

We are pleased that our guests enjoyed the visit and thank them for recognising the efforts of our brasserie staff, particularly on the very busy Mothering Sunday that we have just enjoyed.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights over the May bank holiday, staying in a one bedroom self catering apartment. On arrival we were very surprised with the size, massive! Was a separate bedroom, with bathroom, desk, tv, then living room with sofa, another tv, dining tables, kitchen which was fully equipped with all the utensils you could need.
The hotel itself is very looked after, everywhere is clean and tidy, and all staff were very friendly. We will definitely be returning :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lizzieee_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their self-catering stay with us and found our staff to be welcoming and accommodating. The comments made here are greatly appreciated and will shared with the team.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have enjoyed a weekend at the four pillars . staff friendly and attentive, leanne on reception quickly sorted my concerns over our room and moved us it was a lovely room. The hotel is large and the room was quite a long walk but we are youngish and fit. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the brasserie with a lovely attentive waiteress sorry dont know her name, she made a fuss of my partner for his birthday.
Our room had 2 large windows and balcony overlooking the lake.it was quiet and comfortable but very hot. There is tea coffee chocolate biscuits iron and ironing board also trouser press, very good rooms. Breakfast had everything.
We enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STMB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their visit to the hotel and that the birthday celebration was enjoyable.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a relaxing break at this cotswolds hotel where we had a breakfast and dinner inclusive deal that was very good value. This included a lake view room with balcony that was definitely worth the extra few pounds. The hotel is huge the biggest in the area so expect a little walk to reception and your room although with wild bunnies hopping about its a pleasure. The check in was speedy and informative and were in our room in no time at all of which was spotless with free wine and biscuits, and luxury toiletries. The customer service started well as within two minutes of arrival we had an ice bucket and robes delivered to our room. We then decided to go to the bar in the lobby and have a cream tea which after 30 mins turned up without any tea or coffee which meant I had to chase this up at the bar to find that it had been forgotten about, very odd. It was very nice however. We spent the day by the huge lake that the hotel is overlooking and this is a relaxing place to have a drink or two. We also spent some time in the spa facilities which included a pool, sauna and steam room which was not overcrowded and very modern with jacuzzi and massage showers. In the evening we had our evening meal at The Brasserie restaurant and the food was very good and the staff were friendly. We were let down by the service though and had to spend time waiting for the waitress to return to us as if we had been forgotten about as on one occasion we waited 30 minutes for our plates to be collected and order dessert which started to ruin a pleasant evening. At no point was our wine poured for us when our glasses were empty which ive come to expect from 4/5 star hotel restaurants. Small touches like this can make all the difference.
Breakfast the following day was pleasant with a good choice on offer. Customer service was falling short again however with tea and coffee not offered until after we had finished our food which may be due to not enough staff to cope with the huge number of guests that were queing up at the entrance.
Overall I would still recommend this hotel but they need to work on improving the customer service experience as this can be the difference between a good stay and an outstanding one.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank macphisto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We are pleased that overall, our guest enjoyed their stay and Spa6 but sorry to learn that we did not, on this occasion meet all their expectations in our hotels brasserie and bar area. We do hope that they will have the opportunity to visit the hotel again at some point.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a lovely relaxing hotel this is. The staff deserve a special mention as they are all so friendly, wherever we went in the hotel we were met with smiley faces. Larger hotel chains take note this is important!!. We arrived early, the room wasn't ready as we didn't expect it to be so we went to The Boathouse for a snack,, while we were there the Receptionist phoned me and told me the room is now ready, what a change from other hotels that keep you hanging about....I've been all over the world and never had that individual treatment, a good start. We had a ground floor room, just a stroll from reception with a lake view, the decking runs around the ground floor which is open to the public but I was aware of this before I went so it wasn't a problem. We ate in the Restaurant both nights we were there and the food was magnificent, the breakfast menu had most things you wanted too and only the most fussy of clients would complain about it. We used the swimming pool at the end of each day, it was warm and inviting. Get a route map from reception for the walks around the lakes, we did a couple of them even though we were "rain dodging" it didn't matter. I booked this break on a impulse through Amazon Local, what a bargain for what was included and well done Cotswold Water Park and the Four Pillars Hotel to impress me so much I shall return later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fallowleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We look forward to welcoming our guest back to the hotel and thank them for their comments regarding the hotel, the brasserie, the pub and our Spa.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
267 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
575 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £70 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing