We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning locale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, with fantastic countryside surrounding, the staff are truly fantastic but there is a but. The food was consistently cold .. yes they were catering for a large conference, but even so, food kept in buffet trays should be hot, so lunch was tepid? The evening meal the chef obviously went awol during the creation of the dessert, as it was stale, hard, tasteless, and inedible. How can someone serve a truly appalling pudding for a special dinner? No, that one escapes me completely. Such a shame and so unnecessary. My breakfast this morning could have been much more, the fruit salad was too chunky - smaller piece of fruit would have been appreciated. Hot or even warm bacon would have been nice. The eggs were ok, the fried bread was cold - so maybe the hot buffet trays whose lids were burning hot, needed to be hot inside as well? Not really good enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are pleased that our staff were fantastic and that our guests enjoyed their stay. We are of course sorry to hear about any issues encountered with the function food and will look into this futher. We hope to welcome our guests back again in the future.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,828 - 1,834 of 2,738 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent 2 nights here just before Easter in a lake view room which was definitely worth the extra money. It's a big modern hotel with good facilities, reasonable food, great staff, and a great location. There's a really nice walk around the lake which takes about half an hour and there's a nice cafe on the other side of the lake to the hotel. Despite having problem with the safe, toilet and extractor fan, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Lake view is definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Whilst we are sorry to learn that our guest experienced issues with some of the facilities in their room on this occasion, we are happy that they enjoyed their stay, our location and our very own lake 6 walk which provides our guests with a casual 45 minute stroll around our own lake. Refreshments can be enjoyed at the pub on-site which also has its own decking area for al fresco dining at lakeside.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Location is everything here, close to the lovely old Cirencester and easy access to motorways via fast dual carriageways. Then there are the leisure and fishing lakes, cycle and footpaths, plus opportunities for bird watching, or simply sitting on a balcony or terrace overlooking the lake. Oh, and that is without mentioning the excellent pool and spa facilities! The hotel rooms are comfortable, but air conditioning is missing and could be a problem in summer. The staff are well trained, friendly and professional. Restaurant meals are good value, and breakfast rather better than in many similar ranking hotels. Overall excellent and we would return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay, their room, the location, our hotels brasserie and Spa facilities.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had another great Travel Zoo deal for a Spa day. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and the treatments were lovely (although I personally dont like the "dry flotation" ). The lunch was excellent and was more than enough before our massage. The pool area was OK but the behaviour of a young couple in the pool was not acceptable,in our opinion. Plenty of towels and robes and slippers were provided. Its not great Spa but it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We thank our guest for leaving a further review and are pleased that they found their visit, like many others to be ‘Good Value for Money’. We are grateful for the comments regarding our staff, spa treatments and spa lunch.

Our 25 minute Dry Floatation is for those who wish to Experience the ultimate state of tranquillity in our state-of-the-art, dry floatation room where our guests delight in the sensation of complete weightlessness in the warm water of the floatation tank, supported by soft, waterproof layers. This natural state of complete relaxation significantly enhances physical and mental health and well-being and has the same benefits as several hours of quality sleep.

Our Spa Lunches include a soup starter, caesar salad, open sandwiches, fresh fruit, selection of cheeses and dessert, all served in our Spa Lounge where complimentary fruit juice and hot drinks machines are available.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed from Monday to Friday in a self catering apartment with a balcony and facing the lake. My only 3 gripes would be
1 - the rooms were very hot - despite turning off all radiators
2 - the room was not serviced despite leaving the room servicing sign on the door
3 - the beds in the apartment were not comfortable.

Whilst at the resort we visited the spa on several occasions. The service was ok and the facilities good. The staff are a little hit and miss but over all we had a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

For guests interesting in self-catering, we offer self-catering suites which include a double bed with en suite bathroom, working desk area with free broadband access and a spacious lounge/kitchen area. We also have a selection of one and two bedroom apartments perfectly fitted with a double bed and en-suite bathroom alongside a fully furnished lounge with a desk and internet access extending to a well-equipped kitchenette which includes a cooker, microwave and dishwasher.

We are sorry to learn that our guest was not completely happy with their stay. When booking a self-catering apartment, the contract signed is specifically “Self-Catering”. If cleaning or fresh linens are required, this can be arranged via our Reception Team or in advance of arrival at the time of making the reservation. Each of our rooms is provided with a fan as well as central heating so that the temperature can be self-regulated.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 10 nights whilst on business the location and views were great but the staff were not friendly andcthe service at breakfast and dinner was extremely poor which was a great shame. It is ok if you go self catering! !!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tariq M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We receive much favourable feedback regarding the breakfast and dinner service that we offer as can be seen in the review below whereby our restaurant staff are given favourable mention. The comments made here are sadly, not reflective of the other recent reviews that we have received and we are saddened that this particular guest did not like the hotel. For those guests choosing to dine with us, we offer 24 hour room service, a full bar lounge menu, brasserie a la carte menu and daily menu and there is a pub on-site.

As mentioned above, we are sorry that our guest did not seem to fully enjoy their 10 night corporate stay on this occasion but would welcome the opportunity to discuss any issues that they encountered should they choose to contact us directly.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went here for a Mothers Day treat and really enjoyed it. The restaurant staff were very attentive, there was a good choice of food at the salad bar and the carvery. My only critisim is the roast beef was very rare which meant that myself and my children were unable to have any, but that's just a personal preference.
I would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samstan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Each Sunday at the hotel in our hotels brasserie, excluding key calendar dates, we offer a 3 course carvery. Our guests place their order for drinks and starters with our servers and these are brought to the table, then when ready, help themselves to the soup and salad bar and carvery station where our chef serves you. As if that’s not enough, we take your order for dessert and coffee (Charged separately). Sundays are very popular and advance reservations are strongly recommended - all currently priced at £12.95 per head (£6.50 for children) who can choose either half portions from or any of the dishes on our children’s menu.

We are pleased that our guests enjoyed the visit and thank them for recognising the efforts of our brasserie staff, particularly on the very busy Mothering Sunday that we have just enjoyed.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
414 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,416 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
838 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £76 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing