We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid avoid avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Second time here as part of NAPF conference. Awful. Service from reception staff abominable. Asked for a room with a view - couldn't help despite the fact there was 24 hours before the conference. Was told all rooms had been allocated. Spoke to manager who apologised and assigned room. NO VIEw.

Rooms have NO air conditioning and so with the recent hot spell I was able to get no sleep despite all windows open.

Bathroom not clean. Bath has nasty fabric shower curtain which sticks to your body leaving goodness knows what bacteria.

Food - Appaling. Brasserie food outdated, not catering for all food types.

The so called pub next door. Daylight robbery. Asked for cheese slate with three chesses. When It came each was a teaspoon in size. £ matchsticks of celery and less than a halp pence size of quince cheese. All for the hefty sum of £9.99. Thoroughly disgusted. All this and the fact that you stick to the tables. Cleanliness is not one of this hotel's strong points. What made our stay worse was that on our travels throughout the cotswolds it seems that this hotel has quite a disturbing reputations. From cheltenham to Cirencester to Tetbury to even the locals in South Cerney noone has a good word for the place.

Quite a few of us on the conference are determined that next year the conference will not be here,

The staff at the hotel fail to see we are a group who all know and speak to each other. Our other conference in Edinburgh in March reigns supreme.

Please take our advise. Go somewhere else. There are wonderful places in the cotswolds.

Most dreadful breakfast. Slimy greasy egg. two thin very nasty sausages. I pushed it away as most of us did.

Finally. There is so much chlorine and bleach in the pool area my eyes are still irritated, swollen and red despite using the pool two days ago.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank burnsidebassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, General Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

We are sorry this guest did not enjoy their stay.

The conference has been with us for three years and have rebooked for a further two years as the organisers commented on how well everything ran.

We were fully booked and this guest had a standard room paid for by the conference hence we were unable to upgrade him to a lake view room.

Three cheeses at the Pub costs £6.95, not £9.99 as suggested. All of our menus for the hotel and pub are on the website so if you are considering visiting us, do take a moment to see for yourself the wide range we have on offer.

Breakfast sausages come from R. R. Alden of Oxford, a local butcher established over 200 years ago.

Chlorine levels are checked hourly and are within the parameters we work to. You would only know there was Chlorine in a pool if something has reacted with it, which causes the gas that you smell. This is why we advise all guests to shower before entering the water. There is no bleach in the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,582)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Cotswold Water Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,667 - 1,673 of 2,582 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I stay here regularly and have never been disappointed with the service, cleanliness or food. The staff really do make this hotel stand out from the rest. The restaurant offers a good delicious selection of food served by the most attentive and professional staff. Check in and out is always swift. The use of a printer is offered in the bar area which is super handy when you forget to print things before leaving home.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Hedwards89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are pleased that our rgular guest continues to enjoy their stay with us and that they will have the opportunity to return to the hotel to see some of the exciting refurbishments that will be taking place this summer.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for my birthday weekend as I wanted somewhere fairly to close to home but with a spa and a restaurant so we didn't have to really leave the hotel for the weekend if we didn't want too! We got a great deal on a dinner inclusive package and the evening meals were both of a great standard. Breakfast was a bit all over the place but still found the food tasty. We paid slightly more for a lake view room and this is definately worth it, we had a lovely view and was very atmospheric in the autumnal/winter season. Well located for walks, horse riding and bike rides. The spa was the main disappointment, it was a small pool with a steam room and sauna and the pool was not very warm, it was busy in there so not particularly relaxing. Saying that we got such a good deal I can't really complain but I don't think they should market the spa as being particularly luxurious. The hotel bar/lounge area was busy in the evening but in a good way, there was a lively atmosphere and this suited us but if you want a quiet hotel this is probably not for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

As stated in here, we can acknowledge that The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel is not a quiet sleepy country retreat, but instead a vibrant busy resort property with four star facilities and what we hope is a busy yet lively atmosphere.

We have over 300 bedrooms leading to 600+ guests staying per night at the weekend and receive many compliments on what we offer for the fair price that we charge. 

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for a weekend break, and fortunately we had super weather. The hotel is a good base for exploring the Cotswolds, but thought there would be a lot more to do being the size of the hotel.
The view over the lake is very tranquil, but furniture outside certainly needs updating. The food in the Brassiere was average, and service was slow. Have stayed in other Four Pillars hotels and have no complaints about them.

Room Tip: If you book a partial view of the lake make sure you are not just looking at a dreary swamp
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are sorry that our guest seemed not to like all the features of the hotel and its setting, however, we are pleased that they have enjoyed other hotels within our group.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, with fantastic countryside surrounding, the staff are truly fantastic but there is a but. The food was consistently cold .. yes they were catering for a large conference, but even so, food kept in buffet trays should be hot, so lunch was tepid? The evening meal the chef obviously went awol during the creation of the dessert, as it was stale, hard, tasteless, and inedible. How can someone serve a truly appalling pudding for a special dinner? No, that one escapes me completely. Such a shame and so unnecessary. My breakfast this morning could have been much more, the fruit salad was too chunky - smaller piece of fruit would have been appreciated. Hot or even warm bacon would have been nice. The eggs were ok, the fried bread was cold - so maybe the hot buffet trays whose lids were burning hot, needed to be hot inside as well? Not really good enough.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

We are pleased that our staff were fantastic and that our guests enjoyed their stay. We are of course sorry to hear about any issues encountered with the function food and will look into this futher. We hope to welcome our guests back again in the future.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent 2 nights here just before Easter in a lake view room which was definitely worth the extra money. It's a big modern hotel with good facilities, reasonable food, great staff, and a great location. There's a really nice walk around the lake which takes about half an hour and there's a nice cafe on the other side of the lake to the hotel. Despite having problem with the safe, toilet and extractor fan, we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Lake view is definitely worth it
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Whilst we are sorry to learn that our guest experienced issues with some of the facilities in their room on this occasion, we are happy that they enjoyed their stay, our location and our very own lake 6 walk which provides our guests with a casual 45 minute stroll around our own lake. Refreshments can be enjoyed at the pub on-site which also has its own decking area for al fresco dining at lakeside.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Location is everything here, close to the lovely old Cirencester and easy access to motorways via fast dual carriageways. Then there are the leisure and fishing lakes, cycle and footpaths, plus opportunities for bird watching, or simply sitting on a balcony or terrace overlooking the lake. Oh, and that is without mentioning the excellent pool and spa facilities! The hotel rooms are comfortable, but air conditioning is missing and could be a problem in summer. The staff are well trained, friendly and professional. Restaurant meals are good value, and breakfast rather better than in many similar ranking hotels. Overall excellent and we would return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view room with balcony
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay, their room, the location, our hotels brasserie and Spa facilities.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
262 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
571 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,245 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £75 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing