We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cricklade House(Cricklade)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside House(Cirencester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kings Head Hotel(Cirencester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnsley House(Barnsley)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,813)
Filter reviews
2,814 results
Traveller rating
798
1,017
625
233
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
798
1,017
625
233
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour pillarslake viewboat houselarge hotelsteam roomboathouse pubself cateringspa facilitiesthe ground floorevening mealrelaxing breakrestaurant staffbuffet stylelovely locationlounge areaboth nightsgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,873 - 1,878 of 2,814 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for a corporate event and an extra night for our wedding anniversary.
On arrival we we're put in a disabled room where the bathroom had been adapted. We asked to move and after some discussion were eventually upgraded to a much larger room which was nicer.
We stayed in the main building which does make life easier. However the room was incredibly hot. Although we had a fan it was completely ineffective. The fan in the bathroom didn't work so we needed to prop the door open with a table to avoid overheating.
On Sunday we came back to the room after 3 to find it hadn't been made up. On complaining we were told they had been busy and hadn't got around to it yet.
Breakfast on Sunday was hectic as the hotel was full. Getting hot drinks was a challenge although the breakfast itself is buffet.
The TV has an odd collection of channels - not the standard freeview which I find unacceptable
We used the spa which was lovely except the sauna was out of order.
Overall the location is lovely and the upgraded room was fine but we are unlikely to be back or to recommend. It is not cheap!

Room Tip: Ask for the main building if you have children or don't want to walk back and forth
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlGuideHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Whilst we do our very best to allocate rooms in the main body of the hotel, having 328 rooms in total, this is not always possible. The hotel is split into two buildings with a covered walkway between as well as a further third building which houses our self catering apartments. The rooms are spread out as the building itself is low level (Ground, 1st and 2nd floor) in order to blend well with its environment.

Whilst we are sorry that this guest did not share the opinion of any regarding our contemporary and modern style, we would hope that they are able to find suitable accommodation, perhaps better suited for individual taste in the rest of our group.

Our en-suite bathrooms have extraction ducting rather than fans so they do not run constantly as would a normal extractor fan.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We attended a corporate event here and stayed the night. We were very disappointed with the room, which was small, very hot, had no air conditioning and not even a fan was provided. Others in our party had fans but as it was quite warm they had run out by the time we asked. Drinks in the bar were overpriced and we did not feel we got value for money. We stayed at a large chain of hotels the previous night at a quarter of the price which was far better. The hospitality tray had biscuits which was the only difference but the milk was off. We certainly would not stay here again, the only plus was the extensive grounds and lake.

Room Tip: Get one closer to reception, the apartments are the furthest away and this is where we were put, it said that room service was not available there!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We apologise for any issues encountered by our guest which were not brought to our attention during their stay.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Not my idea of a good hotel, this is a reasonably recently built hotel but does not have air-conditioning, it was a fairly warm the day we had there (I'm just glad it wasn't a hot day) and they couldn't even supply us with a fan, we were in a room as far away from the reception as you can get and there was no room service for the room we were in however we were still charged the same rate as everyone else in the hotel. The bathroom had tiles falling off the wall and the milk for the coffee was off. I would recommend you find somewhere else to stay especially in the summer. See my review for the hotel we stayed at the previous night for quarter the price.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to reception as you can.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJM600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Whilst we are sorry that our guest was not entirely happy with their stay and made the choice to leave feedback for us in two separate tripadvisor reviews, we would have welcomed the opportunity to resolve any concerns during their stay.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked Spa 6 at the Four Pillars Hotel on 11 June 2014 for 12 ladies. We were treating 10 ladies to a evening of pure bliss following some fantastic business we had done together this year. From start to finish the spa was wonderful, the treatments were total bliss and the drinks and nibbles were lovely! - We had the Sparty package and would recommend it to everyone for great value and total relaxation!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasLegalGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

We are very pleased that our guests enjoyed their SPARTY package with us.

Here at Spa6 within the Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, one of the packages we offer is our 'SPARTY PACKAGE' which is currently available Monday - Thursday for a minimum of 8 guests. Terms and conditions apply. See Our Website


The package includes the following:
•Exclusive use of the spa area between 6.00pm and 9.00pm
•Glass of house wine per person
•Selection of nibbles
•Any 25 minute treatment of your choice
•Use of the hydrotherapy pool, sauna, steam room and experience showers from 6.00pm until 10.00pm

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our second visit to 4 Pillars and we chose the self service apartment this time. It was a 2 bed apartment which we visited with my friends family. The apartments are adjacent to the main hotel and I think I preferred them over my previous stay in the hotel. They were tastefully decorated and well equipped. My friend got some really welcome help from the hotel staff with the luggage as he had a little daughter with him and his Mrs had mobility issues. The weekend stay was excellent and was helped by the lovely weather.

We didn't have breakfast or dine at the hotel but from past experience I am sure that it would have been a wonderful meal. My Mrs made use of the Spa facility and had a great experience there too.

I rate the apartments higher than the hotel itself and if I were to visit again, I would choose the apartment over the hotel room as it is better value for money and you get more room for the kids to play around in. Plus, you can get room service and food delivered to the apartment just like the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony room if the weather is good. Rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor have more privacy as the ground floor rooms have windows facing the decking where other guests have 24x7 access so you have to keep the curtains closed for privacy,
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superbrainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We offer a variety of rooms to our guests, each tailored to meet specific requirements:

Located on either the ground floor or close to the elevators on the first floor are our disabled access rooms which offer low baths. The rooms have a working desk and free broadband access and can have a twin or king-size bed to suit individual requirements.

For the more discerning guest, we offer Connoisseur Double Rooms, also with working desk area and free broadband access. Our Connoisseur Rooms are larger than our standard bedrooms and each one is serviced with a luxury package including bath robes, welcome drinks tray with wine , mineral water and upgraded toiletries. Some have the added feature of a private deck or balcony overlooking the lake.

For guests interesting in self-catering, we offer self-catering suites which include a double bed with en suite bathroom, working desk area with free broadband access and a spacious lounge/kitchen area. We also have a selection of one and two bedroom apartments perfectly fitted with a double bed and en-suite bathroom alongside a fully furnished lounge with a desk and internet access extending to a well-equipped kitchenette which includes a cooker, microwave and dishwasher.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews