We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and thought we would splurge on a nice room. And how nice it was!! It was huge, very very clean, well equipped, comfortable and I could have easily stayed for a week. Dinner in the boathouse pub was very good - slightly more expensive than normal "pub grub" but that's to be expected. The spa was wonderful - the best I've been to. Everything is all together so no walking to and from different rooms in a wet towel! All very clean and water and towels available.
The only downside was that when checking in there were a lot of children running around. I have children so am not "anti children" but when booking into a 4 star hotel I don't expect to have to step over and be tripped up by toy cars being thrown and children rolling and running around. Having said that there was a wedding fare going on at the time so maybe they were all just bored of looking at wedding things and maybe it's not always like this :) Also we had to queue for about 20 minutes for breakfast. But nice we got there it was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burhamshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We thank our guest for their review from 8 months ago and we are pleased that they had an enjoyable stay with us to celebrate an anniversary. We are happy that the Old Boathouse and Spa6 were equally enjoyable as was breakfast.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,702 - 1,708 of 2,653 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I rarely write negative reviews however here we go
- very very tired and old rooms and not very clean either - my bathrobe had stains on it. The daily clean was hardly noticeable - took me a while to realise they actually came. Single bed was tiny and the mattress sounded like it was 100 years old.
- spiders in the room thus not really being able to open the windows
- not tried the pub food but the restaurant food was quite poor, coffee lukewarm at breakfast

The area itself is very pretty but I would not recommend staying at the hotel as it requires a good facelift.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank London_KGB_office
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We are saddened to learn that our guest did not enjoy their stay with us. In the past 12 months, we have refurbished and updated all our connoisseur balcony and connoisseur rooms as well as our suites. This is an ongoing process to include our standard rooms and has brought significant and recent changes to our public areas, including a brand new bar lounge, extended brasserie, added Spa6 treatments and further facilities.

Although we appreciate that cobwebs, spiders and small insects do not provide a pretty sight, it is part of an English country summer and typical of such a location. We have a team that regularly clean all exterior balconies, windows and public areas but being near such a large expanse of water, we do share this unique space with an expanding array of wildlife and biodiversity who have developed unique habitats amongst the picturesque lakes.

We receive very favourable feedback regarding our breakfast in the hotels brasserie and had we been aware of any issues at the time, the team would have done their very best to make sure our guest was better satisfied with breakfast.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Last minute decision to have a weekend away before our baby is due. Was recommended by a colleague who works there part time. What a beautiful place! Total relaxation, spent the whole afternoon in the spa, so I had to relax ( something I find hard doing!) beautiful, very well maintained gardens, spacious rooms, can't wait to return, with the little one and I would love to take my parents too! Best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel, evening meal was a little disappointing along with the waiting staff, no small talk, wrong drink order, but certainly didn't spoil the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Whilst we are of course sorry to learn that our guests did not have a totally enjoyable experience in our hotels brasserie, something that we will follow up on, we are pleased that overall their stay was an enjoyable one and look forward to welcoming them back alongside other members of the family for future stays. We are pleased that breakfast was enjoyable and the hotels setting provided total relaxation.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanathri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Had no idea this area of lake district within the Cotswolds existed and am loathe to share it as I would prefer to keep it as a "best kept secret". Weather was great and the outside lake areas were wonderful spaces to sit beside and enjoy or walk around. Hotel is huge and contemporary with plenty of convenient free parking. Upgraded room to ensure private deck and lake view which was perfect. Room was nice with large bed and better facilities, and hanging space, however bathroom was average (with if being picky - grout that needs attention). Seemed like self catering apartments are also available. Dinner at the Boathouse was really good for afternoon beverage in the sun and evening informal meal followed by lovely walk around the lake. Well stocked/knolwledgable 24hr bar/staff offered pleasant nightcap. Breakfast was busy (as they warned) when we arrived towards end of service, however they had put constraints in place serving us late comers in the lounge area which was perfectly acceptable and more peaceful actually. Breakfast was fairly good with usual offering of breads/continental and full English. Bistro onsite (I think in same restarant as breakfast available), but I thin k it was nice to actually leave the hotel and go next door for dinner. Overall loved the experience and would definitely come again if I am lucky!

Room Tip: Some rooms looked quite dark overlooking carpark (very un-impressive). Looks like it could be place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_flyerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are happy that our guest, like many others enjoyed the contemporary feel of the hotel and our ample free parking.

We are very pleased that dining at The Old Boathouse as well as the hotels brasserie was enjoyable and that our guests were able to enjoy our very own Lake6 walk.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Large welcoming reception area although seating was not the most comfortable. Food was good and plentiful and rooms comfortable and clean.
Highly recommend Katrina in the spa for a fantastic massage. Sorted out a frozen shoulder with good advice.

Excellent short break though.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We thank our guest for noting our large welcoming reception area and we are pleased they enjoyed an excellent short break.

We are further pleased to announce that we now have fully refurbished our lounge area including new furniture, as well as a guest computer area complete with ‘Air Printer’ for our visitors to enjoy.
We are delighted that our food was good and plentiful and rooms comfortable and clean and will take this opportunity to share the feedback provided directly with Katrina in spa6

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

"Nice" is a Man Word. It's kind of safe. It says "Not amazing, but better than neutral".

The Four Pillars at South Cerney is "nice". The location is, well, nice, it's well signposted and obvious from the road. To be fair, we didn't stroll around the grounds, or visit the nearby Water Park, because we've been there before and can confirm that it is, well, "nice".

Check-in was efficient. The room was quite spacious, but somehow looked sparsely furnished, as if a previous resident had removed the sofa! There was nothing wrong with the room, it was not amazing, but better than many in which we have stayed. "Nice", in fact! The bed was soft, but the pillows were flat, as a result neither of us had a fantastic night's sleep, nor a bad night's sleep, it was just, well, nice.

We ate in the Brasserie. A tip here: if you want a window seat, ask for it when you reserve your table, otherwise, even if they have un-used tables next to the window, you can't sit at one of them. I know it seems a silly rule, but just smile sweetly and enjoy the food, which is pretty good.

We went for a swim in the Spa: I would guess the pool is about 10m square, not quite big enough for a serious swim be nevertheless, er, 'nice'. The changing facilities were OK and the showers good, but the soaps provided were either green or yellow, with no clues being given as to which was body wash and which was shampoo!

The staff were polite, the place clean, and checkout was seamless.

Overall, I would rate the experience as, well, "Nice".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are of course sorry that overall, our guests expectations were not met, however, we thank them for noting our location, efficient check-in, seemless check-out and spacious rooms.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel, like others , as part of a Company Celebration evening. As a positive, I have to say the hotel looks clean and well cared for. Plenty of parking so no problems there. The reception area is very large with a bar towards the rear, although the seating is very uncomfortable.
Booking in was quite quick although we found the reception staff were just 'doing their jobs', no smiles or effort. We made our way to our room which we found to be very large and well equipped although not a lot of space for clothes if you were staying for the week- not an issue for us though. The decor suits the area although in the cold Winter months I think it would feel very cold.

It is undoubtedly a beautiful area with the lakes and is well located for visiting the Cotswolds, and Cirencester which we found to be an unexpected gem!

We awoke the next morning and made our way to breakfast where we asked if we could have a table by the window. The answer was no as the one made up table was occupied-no effort was made to put some cutlery on an unmade table to accommodate us. We helped ourselves from the cold buffet to a very nice granola, yogurt and fruit dish. By the time we had finished this we still hadn't been offered hot drinks; we then had to ask twice before it came! The hot buffet breakfast was good and well stocked but to be honest the total lack of service spoiled the experience.
As others have said the rooms were very warm but we were lucky to have a fan.
We didn't use the spa but did visit the spa reception where we received a very friendly welcome!

The hotel also has a lakeside inn with a nice waterside terrace but at hotel prices.
Would we visit again....sadly no! We hate bad service and that was the thing that really let it down!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meerulover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are very happy that this couple enjoyed their stay and their company celebration evening, finding the hotel to be clean and well cared for with large and well-equipped room types.

As mentioned here, we do offer complimentary parking and we are pleased this was beneficial to our guest, however, we are saddened to learn that they encountered some service issues during their visit which was dissapointing.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
324 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
606 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
805 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £61 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing