We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer break ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Summer break ”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Thus is our 3rd visit over the years. Pleased to report they have made a big difference with the spiders around the exterior - they are much fewer now and you are told to report cobwebs to staff immediately. We had 2 adjoining rooms for family - useful and worked well for us. Because we had booked 2 rooms with DBB both our children had the adult dinner allowance - useful to know at the start of the week - we didn't. Rooms are perfectly acceptable and clean. Had our bed linen changed after 3 nights -nice. Restaurant made the holiday. Very accommodating staff - good food with variety for a longer stay. The games room was a nice addition since last time which helped amuse the kids before bedtime and after our evening meal. Very family friendly. A lovely area with lots to see and do. Wifi in all rooms useful to the family too. Recommended.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MG2136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We thank our repeat guests for their continued support of our product and service and look forward to their next visit.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    916
    527
    186
    113
See reviews for
478
1,142
39
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Me and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, the food was fantastic, we ate in the brasserie restaurant both nights as it was totally fab, we had window seats in the restaurant both nights which was very special, our room was spotlessly clean and beautiful, the balcony was lovely to chill o0ut on in the evenings. The fan in our room really helped with the warm humid nights and slept very comfortably and cool. All the staff were very helpful and smiley. A great short break with the lovliest relaxing spa. We didn't want to go home!! Thank you 4 pillars for a top stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: balcony rooms are great, not only for the view, but lets the fresh air in! slightly more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We thank our guests for noting their 'TOP STAY' and we are pleased that they found our connoisseur balcony rooms enjoyable.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of this month and as others have found it was much too hot in bedrooms and corridors. But the lack of air conditioning in such a modern building reflected the poor quality of everything: thin walls, cheap furnishings, cheap duvets and pillows (I noticed this when I had to remove the duvet so we could sleep under the cover due to the heat), stained carpet,stained grout in the bathroom, basic ingredients in the breakfast choices. I tried swimming in the pool but it needs to be twice the length - more than 6 people and it felt crowded. For this disappointing experience we paid a premium rate and were expecting to enjoy our stay. I have never written a complaint about a hotel before, but sent a letter to Four Pillars expressing our dissatisfaction - of course they have not had the courtesy to reply. So I'll make sure I never stay in a Four Pillars hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are of course concerned to learn that having not received any correspondence from our guests, they have in-turn not received a reply and would of course always welcome the opportunity to discuss any issues with them directly.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

A great short break. We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the lake which was great, spent some time in the spa, ate in both the Boathouse and the hotel restaurant.

The room was quite expensive and normally wouldn't spend so much but as it was anniversary we were happy to spend a little more. The room was big enough but didn't have any space in the room to sit anywhere except on the bed or at the dressing table. The balcony was a nice size but the weather wasn't too friendly. I'm not sure it was excellent value for money. As previous comments have said the rooms are quite warm but we had a fan and the balcony.

The hotel reception, booking line, waiting staff and bar staff were friendly, efficient and welcoming. The only downside was that the spa reception were happy to ignore guests and carry on their conversation until interrupted. We weren't informed that the steam room was also out of order. The spa is nice but quite noisy - I wouldn't say relaxing, but it does have nice amenities.

Overall we had a really nice weekend break and would visit again if the rooms were discounted but wouldn't pay full price.

The food in both the boathouse and the restaurant was delicious!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are grateful to our guests for their 'honest and constructive' review of the property and will look into any areas of concern as mentioned here. We are pleased that overall, the stay with us was very enjoyable.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Sorry to say this this was a disappointment, despite the efforts of the staff who were helpful and did their best. We stayed during the very hot month of July and the hotel, despite being modern and boasting four stars, could not cope with the heat at all. As soon as you left the main public areas, it was like an oven, corridors and bedroom alike. There was no air conditioning in the room, and the only windows that could be opened were three narrow strips at the top of massive plate-glass panels which had been left uncurtained so the sun blazed in all day prior to our arrival. Electric fans were supplied but were noisy and ineffective. We were there two nights and slept very badly, not conducive when you are involved in a business event.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are sorry to learn that our guests seemed unable to fully enjoy their two night stay with us on this occasion due to the uncharacteristic 'Heat Wave Weather' of the Summer month of July.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We did not have a relaxing day. The spa itself is spread between different parts of the hotel, so we had to walk by a wedding party in our robes. Spa times were messed up, and massages started late and ended early. one of our party had to leave her massage after it had already started because they got the time wrong. Staff were completely perplexed. Changing rooms were dirty and pool was over crowded. Food was poor.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We would welcome further direct contact with our guests regarding the complaint they have raised here when visiting our Spa so that we are able to address the issues directly and ensure that our product and service is monitored effectively.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

THIS HOTEL IS NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY
I have just stayed in a 2 bed apartment with my my family with children aged 4 years and 7years. This is a hotel that sells its self as family friendly but could not be further from the truth. I wanted to take my children swimming on Sunday morning after 10am only to be told that this was not possible but I could take them to the local leisure centre a 5 mile drive away this from the hotel manager in charge.On the first night I had to send the children's food back as it was over seasoned and very poor.The play area for children are very poor and the swing for the very young is broken

These apartments are not cheep to stay in so to find The rooms are dated ,poorly decorated ,dirty ,broken light bulbs ,mouldy bathroom tiles is not what I would expect.

I would also like to say if for any reason you need to cancel your apartment because of illness they will not be interested in helping in any way. Booked 3 nights but left after 2 due to illness hotel did not care.

Room Tip: The only advise I would give is stay some ware else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are sure that most guests will be able to take a balanced view of the opinions made here, surrounded by reviews from lots of other families who have thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

Whilst we are sorry to learn that our guests were not happy during their stay and that they had to cut their break short due to a family illness, we were not approached at any time regarding the issues raised after departure as noted here.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
17.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing