We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family stay but some things they could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed August 2014 with family - taking 3 rooms.

Overall - stay was good and I would return to this hotel to explore the Cotswolds and the Water Park.

Positives are: Room spacious enough, clean, had a view of the lake, good cleaning service, staff helpful & polite, breakfast was good but limited range of cold options, bar service good, pool ok (bit small).

Negatives are: feels a bit corporate, no air-con in the rooms (why for such a newish built hotel?), no fridge in the room (again - why?), windows are not easy to open in the room (had to stand on a chair) which given the lack of air-con is strange. Rooms on the ground floor open to a walkway which is open to everyone (therefore have to close curtains / nets), layoutot of breakfast room is odd.

Perhaps being a bit picky above but it is frustrating when you stay in a modern hotel and they do not have air-con or a fridge in the rooms. The layout of the breakfast room is odd in that there is a 30m gap between the cold & hot selection - both of which are small and create bottle necks.

Steam and Sauna rooms are good but the pool is a bit small for a large hotel. That said, the staff did enforce the "no kids in the pool after 6pm" rule which was pleasing.

We would stay here again as it is a good hotel with good staff in an excellent location to explore the Cotswolds and the Water Park. Good value for money overall but some odd issues for such a modern hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony, first or second floor so that people are not walking past looking in on you!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations-CWP, Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We would like to thank this guest for their review and observations.
We very much enjoyed meeting everyone during such a busy bank holiday weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,583)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Cotswold Water Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,587 - 1,593 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Great place for a couple of nights R&R. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely food (good for veggies) great pool with sauna and steam room, clean room with a lakeside view. I have named the two swans Harold and Maude. No problems at all. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallihan, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

It is always lovely to know when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.
The abundance of bird life in and around the lake is one of the many special elements of a stay in the hotel.
We have not, to our knowledge, had a guest name the swans before now so we shall watch with eager interset whether the names Harold and Maude will 'stick'.
Do come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here 7 or 8 times since it opened as new. Each time I have had a fantastic stay, the staff have always great. Some reviews on here say it's expensive but the bottom line it's a hotel in the Cotswold Water Park. The Spa is nice, and the pool is ok. The can't be a fair few children at weekends but there is a child free swim at times. Overall a lovely hotel, look out for deals for short trips online.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We thank our repeat guest for their continued support of the hotel and services that we provide and it is pleasing to know thatc the team are always helpful and accomodating.

We hope our guest enjoys some of the more recent stylistic changes to the public areas of the hotel and Spa

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in July and had a really nice stay. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. We were given a room on the ground floor which opened onto a shared decking with the other rooms. The weather was scorching during our stay and the rooms were too hot which made it uncomfortable to sleep at night. The hotel provide a small rotating fan but unfortunately didn't really do the job.

We ate in the Boathouse Pub next door which has nice views overlooking the lake and the hotel restaurant food at dinner was lovely.

We used the spa facilities in the hotel. The water fountain poolside / outside the sauna was out of order but otherwise pretty standard.

The hotel is located just off the A419, so ideal for driving to other nearby towns.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cdg1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We are pelased that despite the recent 'extraordinary high temperatures' and summer weather, our guests enjoyed their stay with us and the facilities available on-site.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have just come back from a four day stay at this hotel, and we loved it! The hotel itself is a lovely building and has been well thought out. Our room was beautiful and overlooked the lake. We cannot speak highly enough about the staff as they were so courteous and helpful. The food was very good and the breakfast had everything you could want. We loved looking around the Cotswold villages, but alas the sports activities were not for us at 63 and 73! Well done to all who work at this hotel!

Room Tip: I think that all rooms looked out over the lake? Lower floors have patio doors out on to a decking...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FFriends17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We thank our guests for their review and for noting the buildings layout and the interactions with our staff.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I was very impressed with the friendly, helpful staff from the outset. The facilities were very clean and definitely had that 'luxury' feel. The complimentary refreshments were the icing on the cake for a very pleasant, relaxing afternoon spa experience. Because we were there on a Saturday, things got a bit busier in the spa area after 3pm, especially when parents were able to bring their kids in with them. If you want a quieter weekend spa session then make sure you go between 12 and 3 - over lunch!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank LauraJuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Spa6 offers a 'Day Pass', currently priced at £25 per person. This allows day visitors to enjoy the hydrotherapy pool and all poolside amenities such as our dry steam and wet steam rooms, heated mosaic poolside beds, spa cannons and in pool jacuzzi jets, ice fountain, bucket shower. The pass also entitles our visitors to make use of our fully equipped gym.

Spa treatments can be booked separately alongside spa lunches and the use of our relaxation suite and champagne bar if required. Additional charges can all be settled on departure at Spa Reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Whilst staying at hoburne cotswold we decided to go for a walk it rained heavily and we were soaked to the skin. We came across the four pillars hotel so decided to pop in out of the rain. We ordered two ham sandwiches and at £20 with a coffee (for both) was very expensive. Whilst waiting and waiting and waiting some more we became really shivery as we were wet other people started to arrive and were being served their food I went back to the bar and said im not being funny but how long does it take to make a ham sandwich they apologised and blamed the chef.
I sat back down and more people came in and got served I was mad by this point as I realised these people getting served ahead of us were paying residents I was about to ask for my money back when they brought out our food the ham sandwich was delicious but I would never ever return

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Imogen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We apologise to our visitor from the local caravan and camping park. It would seem that the 'food order' that was put through from our lounge bar to our kitchen, on this occasion, went astray and we sincerely apologise for this error and the continued inconvenience caused on the day due to a slow follow up of the enquiries raised with our team.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Manager's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
267 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
572 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £72 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing