We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Girls weekend”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This is a very large hotel with a really good spa. We had a twin room which was really comfortable and stylish but unfortunately right behind the reception desk on the ground floor. This meant it was loud as the bar is part of the reception area and had a high vaulted ceiling. Also everyone had to walk past our room right into the early hours. However the silver lining is that we were able to connect to the wi-fi only available in the lobby - in our room! The view of the lake is lovely and you can take your drinks outside to sit on the decking. We would have liked to have stepped out onto the decking but it was a window not a french door. The spa was good and had plenty of facilities to occupy us - top quality and everything was in working order. Staff were friendly but the bar staff seemed 'awkward' and didn't have much customer rapport. Friendly reception staff though. The food in the restaurant was good but just one issue - I bought a room deal including breakfast and dinner. I was told that I had to chose from the set menu, but could get a starter (equivalent to £5) and main meal (£10) of the larger menu and then pay any difference. I decided to have a starter off the main menu. After I checked out I noticed on my bill I had been charged £5.95 for the starter instead of the extra £0.95 that I expected. I would go back there but would be careful about ordering off the main menu and check the bill more closely!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations-CWP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Complimentary guest Wi-Fi is available throughout the building.
Previous comments on this site have alluded to poor Wi-Fi and on investigation we have found these guests did not know to click on the "Free Internet" button on our landing page. If you have any technical issues whilst staying please do let us know so we can assist.
We make every effort to ensure billing is accurate but would always recommend thoroughly checking your bill before departure so any mistakes can be corrected. If you do find mistakes having left the property do feel free to contact us so we can investigate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    927
    540
    194
    117
See reviews for
487
1,159
41
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

two nights in an exec room with balcony overlooking the lake, clean well equipped room of good size and wine left each day which was a nice touch.
All staffs were excellent, very helpful, smily and nothing too much trouble.
Table d haute menu well received with well stocked and run bars.
Spa was very nice with an excellent Indian head massage well appreciated)
Use the pool before 3 as kids arrive and spoil the relaxed atmosphere. Sauna and steam room very pleasant.
Overall a lovely stay and good value for money (did b&b + evening meal)
Iwill definitely return when the batteries need a recharge
no probs with wifi

Room Tip: avoid pool between 3 and 6 nice bars pleasant lake walk best rooms are with balcony wifi spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations-CWP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We'd like to thank this guest for taking the time to review their stay.
Whilst we do put it on all confirmation details we would encourage all of our guests to be aware that children’s swimming times in the pool are normally quite well attended and can impact on an otherwise peaceful area.
Swimming before 3pm or after 6pm affords adults a more tranquil experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Spent the weekend at the Four Pillars with friends, what a great weekend we had. We arrived on the Friday afternoon, the check in was easy swift and faultless the staff were attentive and courteous on reception. Our room was clean fresh and welcoming ( a little tight on hanging space for 3). Car parking 100 yards from building.
Evening meal on both nights was amazing - 2 menus to choose from, a set menu £22.50 and 1 other, you pay the extra.
Beer wine spirits were expensive but you expect that in any hotel.
Staff are excellent and nothing was to much trouble.
Spa facilities on site, swimming pool great to include sauna steam room and ice bucket shower, the kids loved it.

Room Tip: Lake room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fleeterme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations-CWP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
We'd like to thank this guest for their review.
It is encouraging and pleasing to hear they enjoyed the stay so thoroughly and we look forward to welcoming them back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Our room had a stunning view over water and a daily visit of bird and other wildlife. Its a great based to explore a beautiful area, with all the water sports, hiking, cycling, riding, etc.

The quality of the front line staff was good overall, friendly and efficient. They are under resourced and things can really slow up when the crowds arrive, so get to the restaurant early for breakfast and book ahead for dinner. This was not the fault of the staff, who tried their best.

What let the place down? The building quality is poor and (as commented elsewhere) is not being well maintained. The acoustics are awful, so you will hear very door open and close all through the day and night, and everyone's conversations in the common open areas. Our favorite was a loud guest whose mobile phone conversation echoed across three blocks.

Great location, design badly thought through.

Room Tip: Very difficult to find a room which is quiet given the building quality and the acoustics. Look for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations-CWP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Honest and constructive comments are always welcomed and this guest has provided both.
We will continue to look at how to improve the comfort for the guests who stay with us, both physically and acoustically.
We are pleased the guests enjoyed their stay and the area so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My partner and I stayed here for a 2 night break for a friends wedding a few miles down the road. We actually booked this venue because it was the only one with rooms available - not surprising as there are hundreds of them!

Upon arrival we were genuinely surprised at the views across the lake - which was stunning at sunrise and sunset, a beautiful area.Ground floor rooms have an additional door that opens onto the decking (may be not all rooms, but 140 does), while rooms above the ground had a balcony with equally impressive views.

The room quality was most definitely not 4 star accommodation - cigarette burns in the netting, cobwebs everywhere and drink stains on the walls, we weren't overly fussed because we'd be in the room for about 3 waking hours. The bathroom had the same quality - and whats sad is that it would probably have been resolved with a decent top-down clean once per fortnight.

The Brasserie sadly was the largest disappointment - the queue was out of the door where we waited over 20 minutes to be sat - because one team member was managing the reservations as well as sitting everyone 1 by 1 for the entire breakfast service. On the Saturday morning we ordered boiled eggs for my partner - which never arrived after 2 attempts at asking staff - so I ate while she watched and then gave up waiting since we had the wedding to prepare for. On the Sunday morning she ordered the eggs again which arrived quite quickly, however when she opened them they were both raw - when I say this I mean there was a thin layer of cooked egg white around the edge and the rest of the whites and the yolks were uncooked and ice cold - needless to say we asked if we could get cooked ones this time and they arrived after I finished breakfast, 15 minutes later. Considering we merely slept and ate 1x meal here for over £200 I think this was a major let down.

The one saving grace was that the spa was great. The pool was clean and the hydrotherapy jets were superb, while the steam room and sauna were a good size. My one small comment here was that the spa is tiny considering there are over 300 rooms here. Both days we visited the spa it was very quiet so had no problems at all, but a busy period I could imagine there being a queue for these facilities which would defeat the idea of it being a spa! Lol.

All-in-all our friends wedding made our weekend and the hotel did nothing to dampen our spirits, but if this was an anniversary or a weekend get away I'd - frankly - be gutted. A 4 star hotel this is not.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M_Sherwood83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations-CWP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
This customer was not comfortable with their stay.
We have been in touch independently of this review to apologise and discuss the inconsistencies of service they experienced.
We would like to continue to stress that we are a 328 bedroom hotel, not a small boutique hotel and if there are any issues whilst you are staying with us by letting us know at the time there are very few that we cannot resolve for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed in one of many lovely apartments. Everything is provided, including dishwasher tablets! Most apartments have decked balconies with wonderful lake views.
The setting is terrific and very thoughtfully designed
The spa is luxurious too
It was very easy to do self catering but the hotel has splendid facilities including a coffee shop and boathouse bar/pub

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to maximize the setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonieL163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations-CWP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
The variety of options for dining and relaxing whilst staying with us is a big draw for many of our guests in the self-catering apartments as well as the hotel itself.
We are always looking as to how to improve what we offer so it is great to hear that we were just right for this customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the Cotswold Water Park Hotel at the end of August and had a wonderful weekend. We paid for the dinner inclusive package which we would recommend as the quality of the food was great with a good selection and unless you travel there is not very many places to eat around there. The rooms were very comfortable with plenty of space and overlooked the lake which was great. The drinks we felt were a bit expensive but on the whole it was a fantastic two days. The spa and changing facilities were excellent although the lack of a separate, warmer Jacuzzi was a little disappointing but on the whole was a nice addition to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest-Relations-CWP, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for this review.
It is lovely to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming them back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
125 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,278 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
471 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
794 reviews
17.6 mi away
Cotswold Grange Hotel
Cotswold Grange Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing