We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed for four nights on an Easter special offer and have only good things to report. Having read earlier reviews of noise I requested a quiet room and we were given a lake view corner room which was quiet for the whole of our stay. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and service was good throughout. We ate in the restaurant on each evening and felt that there was adequate choice from a table d'hote menu. A small criticism would be that some additional vegetables would go well with some of the dishes - some choices only came with a very small amount of veg to go with the potato choice.
The gym is well equipped and set out. However the leisure pool is a big disappointment and smaller than the other Four Pillars hotels that we have visited. Given that it was school holiday time the size of the pool resulted in feeling as though you are taking a dip in a fish pond - not enjoyable! Poor planning given that the hotel is trying to attract both business and leisure trade.
Plenty of Cotswolds attractions within easy travelling distance but you will need your car.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazzie27Lincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,585)
There are newer reviews for De Vere Cotswold Water Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,502 - 2,508 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2009

We stayed just one night and we will certainly return. The hotel is similar to American hotels with large public areas - nice to sit and have a drink or snack. There is a gorgeous spa pool.

Our room was enormous with a lake view.; very well equipped and furnished and spotlessly clean, too. We went to the bar area in the evening for a drink and a snack - not the best food ever but very reasonably priced. and quick service.

There is a gastro pub next door which had a lovely lake view but we didn't sample the food - the menu did look good, though and it had a pleasant ambiance.

The hydrotherapy pool was wonderful and there was a steam room and sauna, you could just feel the stress levels lowering as soon as you entered.

We will definitely go back to the hotel as it made us feel very relaxed and it was perfect for a tranquil escape. Good breakfast, too!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarbradfordonavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

i found the bed very hard and the pillows very cheap. very uncomfortable i hardly slept. the spa treatment i had was not up to much either am used to going to alot of spa s and found alot better treatments for half the price at the other one s ive been to. you can hear alot of noise to in your rooms . also think they over charged us for the room.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank sandalsgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

There is a large choice of rooms at the hotel. We chose the one bedroom self catering apartment which was fabulous. It has a separate lounge area with a comprehensive kitchenette, patio doors opening onto the balcony which has view over a small area of the lake. Each room had large flatscreen digital TVs and separate ensuite. The lounge section has two single beds that pull down from a cupboard, so four could easily be accommodated the the apartment. Everything looked gleaming and new-like and I believe the hotel has not long been opened. We had a unbelieveable internet offer of under GBP 100 for the two nights. The lakes area are huge and varied so there are many attractive walks and watersports to be found just outside the hotel entrance. We regret not having booked for a longer period but will return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeEsJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Our room was not ready until check in time at 2pm so I would check if you arrive early like we did.
The swimming pool was very nice a bit crowded but it is the start of school holidays. The rooms are very nice and we had a lovely view of the water lakes. The rooms are however very noisy and you can hear everything that is going on above to the sides and outside of your room.
The dinner was very nice and the bar area is a nice palce to chill out after dinner for a few drinks.
There was a hen night there but I would not recommend this hotel for a hen party unless you really just want a relaxing break with not much going on.
All in all good food, good hotel and its even better if you get nice weather!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iloveaholiday43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed at The Cotswold Four Pillars Hotel on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package on the nights of 27th and 28th March, 2009. The hotel is very modern and situated at the side of a lake in an area of outstanding beauty. It is well located, being just a fifteen minute drive from The M4 Motorway (exit Junction 15 at Swindon) or a twenty minute drive from The M5 Motorway.

The hotel has an inviting frontage which includes a fountain (which is most impressive during the hours of darkness as it is illuminated). The reception, lounge and bar area are spacious and ultra modern, but the area can be cold in the evenings which I will mention later. There is a swimming pool, spa, and well equipped gymnasium. A most useful mobile buggy is available at reception which is driven by staff to take or fetch luggage from the vehicles of guests in the large car parks. (See photograph attached).

Our room was a Connoisseur Room which I believe may be one step above a standard room. It was of a good size, spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped with a large bed, flat screen wall mounted television set, trouser press/ironing board, iron, room safe, and facility tray/kettle. As it was on a corner of a block, there were two windows that looked out on to the lake. (See photographs). To look out and see swans gracefully paddling by was quite wonderful. The room was well lit and it was pleasing to see there was a light switch on each side of the bed where on activation one could switch on a small light near the bathroom door for ease of use at night. The ensuite bathroom was well fitted with a large headed shower over the bath that provided an abundance of hot water. Unfortunately there was no heating in the bathroom - not even a heated towel rail. Whilst we stayed the bathroom remained very cold, but looking on the positive side we took fresh milk with us and the bathroom temperature kept it very cold and fresh for the duration of our stay.

The Restaurant which looks out over the lake is well laid out with good sized tables for guests. There was a large choice of food at the buffet breakfast available for guests. A Chef is on duty in the restaurant at breakfast each morning who cooks fresh eggs or omelettes. Sadly we found the majority of the fried food on display was just warm as opposed to being hot. On our first morning staff apologised that the toaster was "playing up" and the toast was soft. Our second morning wasn't much better and we requested they put the toast through again. I stay at many hotels and have never before perused such thin slices of toast which I measured at 5mm. When taking our first evening meal there was an abundance of staff. At the time of our second evening meal the restaurant was very busy and the staff, although working hard, struggled to cope. Our waitress whom her identity badge described as a restaurant supervisor kept apologising and stating she should be with us soon. After lengthy delays we ate our first, then second course, but even though we had paid for it gave up on receiving our sweet due to the time consideration, as if we eat too late we suffer with indigestion. The crockery and cutlery in the restaurant is extremely clean, and with the exception of the visit for our final breakfast we found the restaurant to be very clean throughout. Although we were one of the first couples in for breakfast on our last day we found it necessary to clean crumbs and other food matter from our chairs and the table.

The reception area, bar, and lounge are maintained in a spotlessly clean condition with glass and chrome gleaming bright. However on our first evening we found it rather cold in the lounge and attempted to find a warm space on the upper landing, but alas the radiators were switched off, so we retired early to bed at 9.30pm. I brought this to the attention of the duty reception manager the following morning to receive a courteous note that she had instructed the area should be maintained at 21 degrees the following evening. However it remained cold and in addition the radiators on the upper landing were still not operating. The six seats in the lounge near the one gas fire were in constant demand especially by the elderly of which there were many of such age. The two sets of double entry doors are not synchronised to ensure that whilst one is open the other is closed and with the constant coming and going of guests the wind blows in. It is not helped that irrespective of the lounge temperature the air conditioning blows cold air out on to the guests. A staff member informed me the hotel air conditioning has always been defective and that the maintenance men were again at the hotel just three days before attempting to correct it.

OUR BILL
I had a shock on our final morning when a bill dropped through our room door for additional charges of £98.90 which included beauty treatments and a lounge bar dinner beverage. I found this disturbing and in fact somewhat insulting as my wife and I are already very beautiful and really do not need such treatments. In addition any drinks we had, were paid for at the time of purchase. At 0645 a.m. I approached reception. The area was of such temperature a polar bear might have felt comfortable. I did wonder how they could possibly warm the area to any extent before morning guests passed through for breakfast. I requested to see The Night Manager, and both he and his assistant could not account for the addition of such charges to my bill. What I found odd was they appeared to be intent on removing the additional charges without checking the docket file. I therefore asked them to check the docket file for my room and they produced just the one docket I had signed during my stay which was for dinner on the first evening and zero rated as it was part of the package. They could give no reason as to why a beauty treatment and a bar charge had been levied (which was of course from different parts of the hotel) when there were no dockets. I informed them I wished to retain their incorrect bill for my records, but on their printing a correct bill and despite my wishes one of them attempted (without success) to take possession from me of the erroneous bill. It has been suggested that one major hotel chain frequently adds unjustifiable charges to guests' bills and due to a percentage of persons who simply sign without checking, considerably improve their profits. I hope that Four Pillars Hotels are not adopting such a strategy.

There is an abundance of conference rooms at the hotel which are well presented.

Overall a nice hotel, probably very pleasant in the summer time, although there is a lot of glass in the building which could make it too warm during that period. The hotel is very clean and the staff are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frederick32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Had dinner here for my birthday & stayed over with my partner & friends. Staff couldn't have been more helpful & friendly but remained professional. We had rooms overlooking the water & were out taking photos of the sunrise early the next morning !!

Had a treatment in the Spa & found the changing room far too hot. & the therapist rather rude & impersonal.

Dinner & breakfast both excellent.

Only downside was we had the bill put under our door in the early hours of the morning, not only did it wake me up it was also wrong !!! Sorted with no issues in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meerkat007_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
267 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
574 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: £70 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing