We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
yorkshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“superb highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

stayed 2 nights with our 5 year old grandaughter
1-location very good well signed from the road with in easy reach of all major roads
2-reception -lovely open plan lounge /reception/bar area / comfortable tables and chairs and plenty of them ideal for a pre or post dinner drink
3-rooms -large with patio door opening to wide decking area views of the lake and wildlife very relaxing and theraputical our grandaughter slept in a z type bed probably just about big enough but would not be suitable in another years time
nice bathrooms with easy to understand taps (some hotels are a nightmare)
4- food all round good changing menu VERY CHILD FRIENDLY on the breakfast menu was boiled eggs with soldiers clever thinking nice teracce aarea outside brasserie
5-staff all very helpful especially in the resteraunt good floor management agian something which is lacking in a number of hotels i have visited recently
6-nice spa and lesuire center traetments quite expensive but at my age not much they could do for me swimming pool good with good changing facilities only critism is a stupid rule that the kids have to go to the other side of the pool (not exactly olympic size)
when the jaccuzi in bubbling AS USUAL HEALTH AND SAFETY GONE MAD
very sociable guests and although no special organised childrens activities the children were all happy playing around the decking and grassy area
overall very good highly recommended to guests wheather in couples of families
starw bear

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for your review.
Our guests regularly enjoy the array of facilities in the Spa, be it the hydropool, with water jets the steam room, sauna, TechnoGym equipped gymansium or the wildly popular treatments offerred (for which we advise early booking to avoid dissappointment). The pool with specific childrens times so that adults can avoid the younger crowd if they would like to swim in peace is regularly cited as a high point with the whoops and cheers of excited children in the afternoons, or the tranquil of the evenings post 6pm when kids have been moved through to dinner and bed.
We hope to provide a space that all can enjoy and if you require any information so that you can plan your days with us please do not hesitate in contacting us.
Kind regards

Dom Haigh
Guest Relations Manager
Dominic.haigh@four-pillars.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    916
    527
    186
    113
See reviews for
478
1,142
39
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

had a monday - friday break at this hotel. Staff all very helpful especially Dominic Haigh who sorted out a delicate situation for us without any fuss. The spa and pool were ideal for our teenager too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil-Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for your review.
It was fantastic to have you staying with us, and I am really pleased that we were able to assist you with the elements which fell below your expectation. The whole team works hard to ensure all of our guests can relax and enjoy their stay with us, and we have someone available 24hours a day to ensure that should you require any assistance we are able to repsond.
I am glad that I could be of service
Kind regards

DomHaigh
Guest Relations Manager
Dominic.haigh@four-pillars.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed here recently with a 4 year old and a 2 year old. The room sizes are generous. We had the basic room with a double bed, and a chair bed (think pull out sofa but a chair) and a travel cot. We still had room to move about. Decking runs around the ground floor and we had a great view of the lake and ducks from our room.

There are tea and coffee facilities in the rooms, along with trouser press, iron, hair dryer, and safe.

The bathrooms are spacious with a good supply of towels. The doors on the bathrroms are quite heavy and at times you can hear the room next door banging theirs shut. The beds were not the most comfortable I have ever slept in, but not so uncomfortable I'd complain.

The lobby has plenty of room to relax or take a drink in the lobby/bar. The terrace outside the lobby has a giant connect four and building blocks for kids to play with.

The swimming pool is not very big and children are restricted to swim between certain hours.

We ate in the brasserie for breakfast and dinner. The breakfasts were good. A selection of about 4 kellogs cereals, 3 juices, croissants, pain au chocolate, rolls, dried fruits, fresh fruits, fruit salad, yoghurts, full english breakfast selections on buffet. Plus you could order poached eggs, boiled eggs, kippers etc without extra cost.

Stay away from their coffee it tastes like engine oil.

Dinners were a bit of a let down. You can have £15 to spend towards a meal in the boathouse, £22.50 from the a la carte menu in the brasserie or 3 courses from the set menu. We ate in the Brasserie. The food is average. It is not very good or great or anything else other than average. We ordered pork loin, but recieved belly of pork, without a crisp crackling. Sent that back, tried the beef cassolet, which was tough and a poor cut of meat. Next night we tried the confit of duck. It really should have had a crisp skin, but did not. Sauces were watery and fairly tasteless. Starters were a bit hit and miss. The lettuce and croutons in the caesar salad had seen better days, but the mozzerella and tomato salad was good (but then it's pretty hard to muck that up!) Fresh bread was served at the table which was quite nice. The desserts were better than the main courses. Service was slow and there is a lot of young staff, who seem to need a bit of guidance.

Kids meals were of an average quality, but generous in their portion sizes. Things like sausages and mash, jacket potatoes, grilled chicken breast, burger and fish. Desserts were fruit sundae, ice cream and bananas and custard. The children ate free before 7p.m. with our package.

Broadband via a supplied cable was available in our room.

There is lots to do in the local area. We recommend Bourton on the water, Birdland and Stow. But this is only a small selection there are farms, animal parks, man made beaches, horse riding etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMadLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
There is much to attract families to the Cotswold Water Park Hotel, not least the abundance of activities which are locally available. Our concierge team are happy to assist you in planning your days out and providing maps of the area as well as assisting your navigation through the endless brochures for local attractions which are available from the reception area.

The Old Boathouse Gastro Pub has recently been awarded 1 Rosette from the AA and the Lakeside Brasserie provides an alternative dining experience to the Old Boathouse with options from an extensive seasonal and reglularly updated A La Carte menu.

Kind regards

Dom Haigh
Guest Relations Manager
Dominic.haigh@four-pillars.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

My Husband and I stayed at the four pillars as an anniversary celebration. Check in was quick and easy. The room was beautiful and although we didn't use the spa the facilities looked amazing. We ate at the Brasserie restaraunt in the evening and the food was among the best we have ever eaten. We made a point of speaking to the restaraunt manager to let him know that his staff particularly a young waiter called Scott had been attentive and incredibly helpful.
Can't recommend the hotel enough especially if you are looking for a relaxing, romantic get away.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for your review, of what would seem an ultilmately successful visit.
We have a strong team across the property waiting to look after you and though we are a large hotel of 318 bedrooms we receive a large quantity of feedback from people who have enjoyed romantic sojourns in the hotel.
It is worth noting that we are not a small country hotel, and if you arrive with this in mind you will enjoy a relaxed and unique break away, surrounded by the stunning Cotswold Water Park and all it has to offer.

Kind regards

Dom Haigh
Guest Relations Manager
Dominic.haigh@four-pillars.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We had a fantastic stay here. We got a great all inclusive rate on the hotel website. The dinner and breakfast were great. The room was amazing. A 2 bedroom suite. It was the most room we had on our entire holiday. No a/c, but there were portable fan units which was enough (it is England not the tropics), even on the hot day we were there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby Magna, Leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2010

A modern hotel offering good conference facilities with terrace overlooking a lake. Good food and service at function dinner.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Just spent the weekend here and it is a great location for sightseeing around the Cotswolds and the airshows at Kemble and Fairford. We had a two bedroom apartment which was spacious, clean and modern. We enjoyed our stay although I reckon the rooms would get very hot during the summer months as there is no air conditioning which is unusual for a four star hotel. Overall very good!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyhunter66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
17.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing