We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sparkly new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sparkly new hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We stayed here for four nights during October 2010 in an apartment at the Watersmeet part of the hotel and found it very stylish and comfortable. The hotel reception, bar and restaurant are designed in a kind of open plan style, making use of lots of glass, which gives it a very modern clean feel. There is a decked area at the back which overlooks the lake, although not all rooms have views. There was a nice buzz about the reception area - mix of guests - families with young children, shooting parties, family gatherings and personnel from the adjoining military base.We ate at the boathouse pub/restaurant, which we found lovely - a deli board (priced at £9.50) ideal for sharing and snacking. Our apartment was modern, airy and warm (although probably not well equipped for a longer stay) In the apartment block there was a laundry room (free to use & free detergent - excellent!) and also a children's playroom. At the spa the swimming pool is small, but adequate - my girls particularly liked the free use of hairdryers and straighteners. The hotel is well placed for exploring the Cotswolds. Cirencester would be the nearest town - about 4 miles distant - and is a charming town, full of individual and unusual shops. The abbey is magnificent and the Roman Museum is excellent and reasonably priced. Lots of good restaurants here too.
Overall - a good place to stay and we will definitely return here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alysonargument
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Thank you for your positive review.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your break with us.
Our one or two bedroom apartments offer an alternative for the traveller from staying in the main hotel and allows our guests freedom to enjoy the facilities but also freedom to choose their own itinerary.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Juliet, Dom and Ewan. The Guest Relations Team.
waterpark.grm@four-pillars.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    905
    511
    182
    112
See reviews for
472
1,118
38
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

With paper thin walls you can hear people just talking in adjoining rooms. Because the bathroom doors are door closers on all the doors you hear the constant banging as people close them.
The sauna was out of order for a few hours while we were there. The pool had a few broken tiles at the bottom - someone had put a rubber mat on the floor of the pool to cover this.
Pool very crowded and noisy during the time the children were allowed in there.
Food at the Brasseire was ok.
If you go to the Boathouse be aware you are only entitled to £15.00 each off your meal. Food there is very good.
Breakfast is ok - plenty of food but not freshly cooked.
Staff very helpful.
Our room was very nice and we had a balcony outside with table and chairs overlooking the lake.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LONDONANNE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 5 February 2011
Thanks for your honesty in this review.

The noise levels in the bedrooms seems to be an issue for specific individuals on specific occasions. We are trying to get to the heart of this matter and as such would ask that anyone that does experience this lets us know at the time through our 24 hour reception team so we can rectify it as quickly as possible. There does not seem to be a pattern emerging for specific rooms. Advising us of such instances via websites such as Trip Advisor is less helpful as the moment to resolve it for you has unfortunately passed.

We have now completed the repairs to the pool bottom where some of the tiles had indeed lifted. The new pool bottom is receiving regular praise from our Spa members, who it could be argued are our harshest, and friendliest, critics as they visit us on a weekly if not daily basis.

We have a continued programme of preventative maintenance with our full time maintenance team as well as specifically chosen contractors, and we will always strive to provide facilities in the very best condition we can.

Our menus in both the Lakeside Brasserie and the Old Boathouse Gastro Pub are changed regularly so that our guests who visit us year round have a varied and enjoyable choice each time they dine with us, as well as our less regular guests finding an interesting choice of local, seasonal and fresh food to select from for their important time away.

If we can help answer any questions please do not hesitate in asking.

Kind regards

Dom, Juliet and Ewan
Waterpark.grm@four-pillars.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We paid £150 for two people, b&b, dinner and use of spa. For this it was excellent value. Even though we had booked a standard room, we got a lakeside room (this could be because we turned up a bit earlier than some and did put a request in in advance). This really made it for us. Waking up to lovely views was perfect.

The setting of the hotel is outstanding. Right on the lake for walks and within easy access to explore the delights of the whole area with lots of activities.

The room was nice and modern, no problems with noise. Staff seemed mostly helpful.

The spa was a bit of a disappointment. As others have commented it is overrun with families. Obviously great if you've got kids - but I wouldn't therefore call it a spa! Ha s a sauna and steam room. Also they don't give you a robe and slippers unless you have a treatment, which was a bit disappointing as I love that about spas and they do it at other Four Pillar hotels.

We ate dinner in the Old Boathouse which was good, but we did get served in a bout 10 seconds which gave us the impression that they wanted us out of there! Breakfast was good too.

I would recommend it to a friend with this offer.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joeybrownbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

On first impressions the Hotel was lovely, the meal on the first night was also very good and Restaurant Staff were very friendly and helpful. That is the good points...

Some rooms are near to communal areas in the hallways that have seats, woke up on 4 occasions the first night by groups of people obviously drunk congregating in these areas before going back to their rooms. Then woke up at 3am the same night by Wedding guests partying in their room next to us, phoned reception on 2 occasions and the night manager came up to the room and basically argued with these people in the corridor for a further 20 minutes, in the end they all went downstairs for a drink but we were woke up again at 4.30am when they went back to their room!!

Seriously this is supposed to be a Spa Hotel, somewhere to relax and unwind, it was like being in Ibiza, that is honestly the worst night’s sleep we have ever had, why would they put a family with a 3 year old in the same area of the building as wedding guests!! Either way the corridors echo way too much which is abnormally loud in the rooms due to the gap under the fire doors.

Complained to Reception staff the next morning where we were told to speak to the day manager at lunch, went out of our way to come back and see him, told us he couldn’t make any decisions on compensation and that we had to speak to another manager after 3pm, went out of our way once again to see the second manager who knew nothing about the situation and had exactly the same powers as the first manager. She was much more helpful by even still it felt like we had to fight for compensation for the first nights stay, in short very poor customer service, I personally received £30 back from the £150 paid for that night, the rest of my family a further £60.

Next morning when we are due to leave there is a deep scratch on my father’s car starting at the front headlight all the way to the back!! Why would anyone target just our car? Again staff were VERY unhelpful or sympathetic to the situation and actually rude which obviously made us very angry, after plenty more arguing with them we were told they would view CCTV cameras which were pointing right at the car and contact the police....2 days later we get a call saying if we want to take things further that we have to contact the police ourselves, we live 120 miles away!! Thanks for your help.

The whole weekend was paid for in full on my parents card on departure although the Hotel chose to take an additional £300 from my sisters card which as of writing this has still not be refunded.

All in all that weekend cost our family over £900, we left tired, angry, disappointed and with over £1000 worth of damage to our car.

Thanks Four Pillars Hotel, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LandsEndFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
We have clearly fallen short of the mark and made some mistakes in this instance and for that we have apologised directly to the guests and made concessions where appropriate.

What isn’t mentioned in the review is the completely unacceptable levels of verbal abuse these guests directed towards the team who were trying to complete their duties. Neither is the fact that they own Windmill Guest House which they site in their previous review as a place to visit instead of Hawkstone Park Hotel where they similarly posted poor comments about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st albans, herts, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This is a nice, clean hotel, modern (not a typical cotswold) hotel with good food and some nice views over the lake

The food was often good and good value with the full board deal.
Lake view room? side lake view was what we had had from our clean but characterless rooms. we were promised a daily newspaper that never came and whenever you called housekeeping etc, you were always greeted with a voicemail.
the cot wasnt already in the room despite clearly asking for this when we booked.

They didnt seem to know what they were doing at the reception area and check in was haphazard.

The main gripe though was the main bar and restaurant areas were so cold and drafty. This somewhat ruined our stay as for 2 days we would go from being very warm in our rooms to being literally hit by the cold in the main bar/ reception area. I gave them this feedback but it didnt make any difference. when asking at the main desk where we could go for a walk they didnt have a clue where to recommend us.

The waiters and waitresses need more training as although very friendly, always served and asked the men at the table first.

The pool was ok nd had a nice swim/ play there with my 2 yr old boy- my wife's massage was very good apparently



Overall not a very slick operation and could be alot better

Food was good

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 5 February 2011
Thank you for this review of your stay with us.
This guest obviously had an enjoyable stay with us with some areas of frustration.

The hotel is a large modern building with large public areas such as the Lounge Bar, Lakeside Brasserie and mezzanine floors. This seems to create a distinctive split between our guests. The majority of who really enjoy the modern feel and then there are those who really normally prefer an older style of building. We are not a quaint Cotswold Hotel but we hope that the distinctive building and the opportunities for watching the passing weather and wildlife appeal enough for you to visit and make your own mind up.

We provide as much information as we are able for our guests to make decisions as to how to spend their days and whilst for some the maps, guidance and suggestions are helpful for others more is needed.

Since this review we have included at the concierge desk a number of itineraries for our guests to choose from which provide not only a map but also a description of the activities, locations and guidance as to where is best for what types of day out . We hope to continue to provide useful and informative suggestions and as we are constantly getting feedback from our guests as well as visiting these locations ourselves we will have a continual stream of new and updates suggestions.
If you require further information please do not hesitate to get in touch.
Kind regards

Dom, Juliet and Ewan
Waterpark.grm@four-pillars.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ongar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We travelled here for a wedding and stayed two nights in the self-catering part of the hotel. Breakfasts were divine, apartment very comfortable,surprisingly spacious and well-equipped. Some have amazing views over the water.
This is a great base for exploring the cotswolds, especially with children as you can cater for them in the apartment but with the spa and restaurant/pub on site you can still have some adult time too.
One small gripe: it rained pretty much constantly while we were there and the water dripped through the decking of the floor above onto metal plates on the floor outside our room. This made a surprising racket and did actually keep me awake most of the second night.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 5 February 2011
Thank you for this informative review which we hope the readers of Trip Advisor find useful.

This guest flagged the noise outside their room from the inclement weather as a nuisance during their stay with us and as a result we have made alterations to the external fixtures of the building to prevent this from causing a nuisance to guests in the future. Since this visit we have not experienced the same volume of rain but we hope that we have made a significant difference to the issue.

There is much to see and do both locally, so you can leave your car at the hotel and walk the couple of miles to neighbouring villages and attractions, else we can advise you how to journey to the slightly further away towns and attractions that the Cotswolds are so well known for.
If you require further information please do not hesitate to get in touch.
Kind regards

Dom, Juliet and Ewan
Waterpark.grm@four-pillars.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the cotswold water park hotel for a couple of days and we were really impressed. We were greeted very positively and check in was really quick. Even though I booked a standard room I requested a lake view room, and that is what we got and the view was beautiful. The room was a very good size and clean and modern. The breakfast was lovely and dinner was very good, the food was excellent quality The spa was very good and clean, with a nice pool. . We had a very pleasant stay and would stay again and recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4pillars, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, 5 February 2011
Thank you for this review.
It is always exceptionally welcome to read the pleasant words about a guests visit to us and it gives our staff such a boost.
We aim to provide the very best experience we can for every guest who comes through our door or calls us with an enquiry. Our staff are passionate about their jobs and it is a terrific when our guests provide such positive feedback.
We share all feedback with all of the staff on a weekly basis to ensure they are aware how they can improve or continue their service levels.
Kind regards

Dom, Juliet and Ewan
Waterpark.grm@four-pillars.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
31 reviews
17.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
683 reviews
17.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
640 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing