We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Excellent Visit”
Review of Hoburne Cotswold

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Cerney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoburne Cotswold
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Visit”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I rarely comment on a venue/holiday twice as it can repeat itself, but I will this year as we stayed in a lodge and not a caravan.

The lodge we were allocated was near all the amieneties and we could easily see the play park and tennis/all weather courts. This allowed us to give our 2 children more movement around the area and we could watch them from the veranda of the lodge.

The lodge itself was much more spacious than a caravan but the costs do reflect that. We cooked most nights in the lodge which we well equiped and clean throughout. The only small downside was the childens twin room smelt slightly damp and the bathroom had no heating and when your approaching November it is needed!

The entertainment this year was excellent and all the staff at the park were very polite and helpful.

The bar prices were a little expensive this year with a pint and half of lager coming in at £5.10 which I thought was a little high compared to previous visits. But the bar staff and restaurant staff were good.

We did use the restaurant on the first night and the food was good.

We happened to be there or Halloween so for me the downside was queuing for the hall on the evening. I was shaocked to see people queuing from midday and it opened at 5pm. I didn't like this but appreciate the park management had no other choice to make it fair. The Halloween party though was very good and well managed and the table decorations were excellent this year as were the costumes from other holiday makers. All making it a very good Halloween night.

Swimming pool was as usual, good and the water was warm. The actual area in the pool was a little chilly this year and the kids did end up with blue lips when going up and down on the slides so spent less time in there this year.

Thanks again to everyone at Hoburne Cotswolds, see you next year.

Room Tip: I would stay in a lodge again if I had a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BristolCityRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    165
    80
    38
    22
See reviews for
326
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews however having spent many a weekend and the odd week or two at Hoburne cotswolds this season felt that it would be appropriate to write some feedback for this site at the close of season!

I would highly recommend this place as it has something for all age groups. Beautiful lakes and countryside, facilities are great, Good Food, and
In particular the staff are all really welcoming.

The entertainments team this year have been outstanding. Their hard work has really paid off and year on year it just gets better and better!

As a regular visitor to Hoburne Cotswolds I'm looking forward to the 2014 season already.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Really nice clean well spaced out camp with sensible parking arrangements. We were able to have an enjoyable quiet walk round the lakes on the site and whilst we do usually like to be near the sea on holiday we did not miss it here, with so many places to visit in the area that we still have a list outstanding for another visit.
All the staff we had interaction and facilities we used with were excellent.
Our visit was in October so we do not know what it is like during the school holidays but there are plenty of facilities to keep the children happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hornettsnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Six of us, ranging in ages from 25 to 80, shared a lodge. There was plenty of room and the lodge was very clean and well equipped. We only ventured into the restaurant and club one night but enjoyed our meal and entertainment.
Unfortunately the music from the entertainment was a little too loud while we were eating as the restaurant backs onto this area. We would have preferred to have been able chat while eating.
We didn't get around to trying the pools as we were out during the day but they looked ok.
The grounds are lovely and we even ventured a walk in the rain around the lake. We would love to come back in better weather to enjoy the outside areas.
This park is conveniently located for the water parks, Cotswold villages and Stratford on Avon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We came here on a Sun £10 holiday. We had upgraded to a bronze 3 bed, but on arrival had been upgraded to a fully heated, brand new caravan. The caravan was spotless and nicely fitted out. The facilities were good, we only used the indoor pool, but it was warm and clean. The staff were friendly and were able to answer all of our questions. The location is good, surrounded by lakes, and close to Cirencester, so there is plenty to see and do. All in all, a great value holiday.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank RawloXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our 2nd trip here this year so thought I would update my review.
The site is well maintained with the shower blocks being clean,warm and in good repair. The pitches are a good size with some of the standard touring pitches a little uneven so if your in a camper like us then remember your levelling chocks.
The swimming pool is a favourite on those rainy days with a nice outside pool for the sunny days.
It has a large restaurant and bar area for entertainment which is modern and clean and a great soft play area for the little ones.

The receptionist was very pleasant on arrival although some of the other staff seem a little inexperienced (or under motivated) in the customer service industry.

Only negatives are the inflexibility in check out time which is STRICTLY! 10am with the very friendly park wardens calling by to make sure your going at 0945. Even on check in the very pleasant lady mentioned booking Sunday lunch until I mentioned we were leaving on Sunday and I was reminded that we should be gone by 10am :) This is understandable during the busy periods but like other sites do they could be flexible during quiet periods and tell your during busy periods that it is booked on your day of departure so you will need to be off by 10. This would be a happy medium.

We really like this site and will continue to visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wiltskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was a lovely place and we first stayed in a chalet with my sister and husband. The main rooms were fine but the bathroom was very small - when my partner stood at the sink to shave the mirror only reached up to his chest and if he bent forward he was then squashed against the bath. We then moved onto a lodge with another couple and this was much better as there was a reasonable sized ensuite bathroom plus a separate bathroom for others. In both places there was only one double bed and the other rooms had singles - not ideal if all couples going, but presume used mostly by families. Entertainment reasonable is you were under 5 and liked Sammy Sealion. There was an indoor and outdoor pool and loads of places to visit around. The on site shop left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
1.2 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cirencester Town Centre
3.8 mi away
Riverside House
Riverside House
#8 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
7.8 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Schoolhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Cotswold

Property: Hoburne Cotswold
Address: Broadway Lane, South Cerney GL7 5UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in South Cerney
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Cotswold 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're never far from the waterside at Hoburne Cotswold holiday park resort in Cirencester. The fishing is excellent, there are usually baby ducks and swans to feed, and the peace and quiet are just blissful. Boats of all kinds and a multitude of watersports are available nearby in the surrounding Cotswold Water Park, and there's more water fun to be enjoyed in our heated indoor and outdoor pools. You are perfectly situated to enjoy the glories of the surrounding Cotswolds, and we have a full range of timber lodges and the latest caravans to come home to, many with a lakeside view. There are also good facilities for tourers and campers, so pack your cozzy, your fishing rod, and a good book to read and start looking forward to the perfect mix of holiday fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoburne Cotswold Hotel South Cerney
Hoburne Cotswold Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing