We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”
Review of Hoburne Cotswold

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Cerney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoburne Cotswold
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just come back from a 3 night fri-mon stay. We stayed in a silver caravan and I was so impressed! It was my first time at hoburne and I'm not usually one to stay in a caravan but it was modern, clean and really lovely. It was a great location near some lovely peaceful lakes and not too far to the clubhouse. The kids ( 4 and 6) loved the entertainment both in the day and in the evening and loved the disco and games. We especially liked ben and clare as they are both young and enthusiastic. The food in the clubhouse was also great. The sweet potato, chick pea and spinach curry was delicious and main meals are mostly under £10 so good value too. The whole place was clean and very well run. The outdoor pool was great and we also enjoyed the pedalos and the mini golf. The indoor pool was nice and not too crowded and again very clean. Shame the flume was broken but we still had fun in the pool. After a weekend away we felt like we had a week long holiday and came back refreshed and relaxed and a little sad to leave our lovely caravan. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We were pleased we upgraded from a bronze to a silver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Cotswold, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for the great review! We're really pleased that you had a great experience with us at Hoburne, and we look forward to welcoming you again for another refreshing holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    167
    81
    39
    22
See reviews for
332
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having spent a wekk earlier in the year at Pontins (Never again) I was a little weary of UK holiday parks.
Upon arrival at the park i was staggered by the vast difference between here and pontins. Think premiership and sunday league!!
The park was spotlessly clean and very well maintained, we were camping with young kids so were please when our tent pitch seemed to be in an area with other kids which was great.
I have a stoma so clean facilities are a massive thing for me and i can say i was more than impressed here, even the though park seemed rammed full, the facilites we always clean and tidy - really impressed.
The swimming pool was also super clean and given the hot weather and full park we never had to wait for a changing area and there was plenty of space in the pool itself.
The entertainment seemed pretty good as well although we didnt stay too late due to our young boys.
The onsite shop was pretty resonable and had a good stock of various items.

Overall a fab park and i will soon be back!!

Room Tip: If in a tent - be aware that you will hear other people. If you are a season camper then no worries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkfish590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Cotswold, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for sharing your camping experience with us! We're glad that our park exceeded your expectations and reaffirmed your trust in UK holiday parks! We look forward to seeing you and your family again for another great Hoburne holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed Monday to Friday, in a spotless lodge overlooking the lake, hobourne cotswold has beautiful views and everything you need, the swimming pools are great, loved them and we found the staff very friendly and helpful. The nearby villages are worth a visit. We are defiantly going to return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie6_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Cotswold, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for the kind review, we're really pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our second time at Hoboune cotswold and wont be our last, we upgaded our van to a platinum and would certainly have this van again it was fab, everything was in it for comfort. It was spotless and in a beautiful position, we only eat in the snackbar as the pub meals were alittle late for us after been out all day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janep1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Cotswold, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We're glad you enjoyed the Platinum caravan! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was our 4th stay at Hoburne Cotswold and love the place very much everytime we go we look at investing in a caravan there but the 3 hour journey is just to far every weekend, if we were retired then it would be a different story! My husband loves fishing and you have a choice of 3 lakes on the park to fish. The park is so peaceful and you soon chill out here(well we do anyway).
We stayed in a Gold rated caravan which was very comfortable, large double bedroom, 2 small single beds in the other bedroom. Modern kitchen area which had a dishwasher which would be very useful if there had been more than just the two of us. Living area with flat screen TV fitted on the wall, 2 chairs and a large seating area which could be made into a double bed, dining table with 4 chairs and decking area at the front overlooking nearby lake.
Their are 2 swimming pools 1 inside and 1 outside, playarea etc, onsite shop which carries most things you would need and a clubhouse. Only ate once there and I have to say wouldn't eat there again as it was very basic and not value for money, but the park itself makes up for this 10 fold. Will be booking again to stay here well worth it if you have a fisherman in the family. Park is located about 10 mins away from Cirencester and within reach of all the Cotswold villages.

Room Tip: We stayed in ST119 caravan which was just what we wanted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phester56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Cotswold, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for the great review! We're pleased to hear you had a great time with us and look forward to seeing you again soon, especially if you decide to become an owner with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Hoburn New Forest before and having enjoyed our stay, booked this as an inexpensive short break in the school holidays. My daughter, two grandsons aged 7 and 8 and myself stayed in a two-bedroom lodge. The lodge was adequately equipped for 4, with plenty of hot water. It also had efficient little heaters which we needed as the weather wasn't good. It is a smaller holiday park, but we liked the watery setting. The wildlife was great with different species of birds and their young all around the lodge. Hoburn staff are just brilliant, efficient and friendly. Many a five star hotel could take a leaf out of their book!

Overall we thought the park looked a bit tired. But the indoor pool and flume were a great hit with the boys. They also enjoyed the evening entertainment, although finding somewhere to sit was a challenge.

We ate once on site and thought the food was very poor and overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joinedupwhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Cotswold, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello and thanks for taking the time to submit a review about your Hoburne Cotswold experience. We're glad you've enjoyed Hoburne Holidays at some of our other parks in the past and thank you for choosing to holiday with us. We're pleased that your overall experience was good, and we will be reviewing your comments about the park to make sure that future holidays will be the best they can be! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We live fairly locally and decided to come here for 2 nights to try out our new tent before a longer holiday.
On arrival the security guard didn't have our name to let us in. Eventually discovered that he had my site password on his list instead that doesn't remotely resemble a password! Reception also had it as my surname
Told our pitch number and off we went. Out of a total of approx 60 pitches, 7 other tents were pitched. Leaving about 53 free. Ours had a row of concrete slabs running up the middle of it! Went back to reception and the very unhelpful lady clearly didn't understand but eventually agreed to move us. Asked us which one we wanted. On saying I didn't mind so suggested the next free one by the others she charged me £4 extra!
Tent finally up and settled in. Meal in clubhouse just okay but tables not very clean.
Sleep? Impossible. There is a road junction the other side the hedge and lorries and traffic all night. Nothing in literature gives any hint of road noise for tent pitches.
It gets even more amusing!! Next morning workmen arrive and start digging up the pitch we had first been allocated. There are also two drains on there and they were working on them. When mentioning it to reception she said oh how lucky you asked to be moved. You would have had to move anyway this morning!
10.30 shower impossible as all water off in site due to this work. When asking warden why no water he apologised as he meant to come and tell us earlier! Oh and guess what! He told us that the pitch in question was only normally used as a last resort!! Out of 50+ pitches empty that was the one they booked us on!
No I will never come here again! Extremely overpriced at £63 +£4 for two nights stay with no sleep. No thanks

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Guest Relations Manager at Hoburne Cotswold, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hello and thanks for the review. We value all feedback given to us so that we can improve our service. I have forwarded your review to the park manager to bring these areas to his attention, and we apologise for the frustrating check-in and camping pitch allocation issues you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
1.2 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,468 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
583 reviews
6.0 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
3.8 mi away
Riverside House
Riverside House
#8 of 8 in Cirencester
21 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Cotswold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Cotswold

Property: Hoburne Cotswold
Address: Broadway Lane, South Cerney GL7 5UQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in South Cerney
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Cotswold 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're never far from the waterside at Hoburne Cotswold holiday park resort in Cirencester. The fishing is excellent, there are usually baby ducks and swans to feed, and the peace and quiet are just blissful. Boats of all kinds and a multitude of watersports are available nearby in the surrounding Cotswold Water Park, and there's more water fun to be enjoyed in our heated indoor and outdoor pools. You are perfectly situated to enjoy the glories of the surrounding Cotswolds, and we have a full range of timber lodges and the latest caravans to come home to, many with a lakeside view. There are also good facilities for tourers and campers, so pack your cozzy, your fishing rod, and a good book to read and start looking forward to the perfect mix of holiday fun and relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoburne Cotswold Hotel South Cerney
Hoburne Cotswold Cotswolds/South Cerney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing