We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and a great pub”

The Ebrington Arms Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ebrington Arms Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ebrington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A stunning 17th Century unspoilt Cotswold stone inn that has been independently owned for a decade by proper publicans. This pub was named 'Escape of the Year 2016 by GreenTraveller and is ranked as in the Top Ten pubs by The Telegraph newspaper. It has held 2 AA rosettes for food for six consecutive years and also won the CAMRA North Cotswold Pub of the Year Award three times (and been runner-up 4 times). There is no more beautiful setting from which to explore the Cotswold villages and nearby historic Stratford Upon Avon. There are 5 ensuite letting bedrooms that have all been refurbished to a high standard, many with rolltop baths (rated 4 stars) and each has a gorgeous countryside views of rolling hills, thatched cottages. The pub overlooks the village green and inside there are roaring fires, flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, home brewed ales and a warm welcome. Although off the beaten track, this hidden gem, once discovered, welcomes back customers time and time again.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food and a great pub”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

loved the food and garden, great sunday lunch and bar snacks, we visited every day over the bank holiday weekend as food very good and a nice selection of wine and drinks, staff very friendly and helpful

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmb707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    101
    41
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A friendly Cotswold pub”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Four senior citizens visited for a midweek lunch. We were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the menu extensive and the food delicious .If I were to criticise any aspect it would be the somewhat high prices (£17.95 for a main course) in what is essentially a friendly local pub. Having said that this was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vyv319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and great service (if you book)”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

As the Ebrington Arms is local to me I've been there a number of times with friends for lunch and the food and service has (almost) always been excellent. Their roast dinner is amazing and the pork and roast potatoes is a particular highlight. Puddings are also excellent and the vibe is really nice and relaxed - even when it's heaving with customers.

I would have certainly given 5* if it wasn't for the couple of times I haven't been organised thought to make a reservation as both times I have not had a good experience with the service. As it's such a good place to eat it gets particularly busy. Twice now, I've turned up on a Sunday at 2pm to try and get a table for lunch. Both times I've been greeted with a "well you should have booked but we will half heartedly see if we have a table for you and then leave you standing in the corridor until you give up" attitude. They couldn't give us any indication as to how long we would wait and didn't take our names as assurance that we were on a waiting list. I appreciate how busy they must be at lunch but the system wasn't really ideal to encourage us to stay around and wait. There also didn't appear to be anywhere to actually wait and enjoy a drink as all the spare space was taken up with diners...

Saying this, I'm a huge fan and still return frequently. I would definitely advise booking if you want to enjoy their delicious Sunday lunches.

Helpful?
Thank UmBango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
516 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Easter Sunday lunch and we really roast lamb. On the menu, of course, along with pork and beef. Our food was fine. Lovely,slightly pink lamb, served with traditional vegetables which could have been slightly warmer. Delicious panacotta with lemon grass and mango for pudding. All in all a very nice Easter Sunday lunch. Service attentive and professional.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming Cotswold pub”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Been to the Ebrington Arms twice recently, the first occasion for lunch and today for a pint and a snack. Both times we were impressed with the level of service, the warm welcome from the staff and the standard of the fare on offer. The haddock and chips we had on our first visit was great; crispy batter, nice mushy peas and a plentiful portion of really good chips. This is a CAMRA award-winning pub so the ales on offer are unsurprisingly excellent. On my second visit today, my son and I had a bar snack each of sausage roll, which, though a bit on the small side at £2.50 a roll, was undeniably meaty, tasty and surrounded with a thin wrapping of crispy pastry. Very enjoyable.
Sitting in the lovely garden, in the sunshine, therecan be few better places in which to enjoy the beauty of the north Cotswolds than the Ebrington Arms.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ebrington Arms Restaurant also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Paxford, Gloucestershire
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
 

Been to The Ebrington Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing