We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite pubs...!”

The Ebrington Arms Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ebrington Arms Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ebrington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A stunning 17th Century unspoilt Cotswold stone inn that has been independently owned for a decade by proper publicans. This pub was named 'Escape of the Year 2016 by GreenTraveller and is ranked as in the Top Ten pubs by The Telegraph newspaper. It has held 2 AA rosettes for food for six consecutive years and also won the CAMRA North Cotswold Pub of the Year Award three times (and been runner-up 4 times). There is no more beautiful setting from which to explore the Cotswold villages and nearby historic Stratford Upon Avon. There are 5 ensuite letting bedrooms that have all been refurbished to a high standard, many with rolltop baths (rated 4 stars) and each has a gorgeous countryside views of rolling hills, thatched cottages. The pub overlooks the village green and inside there are roaring fires, flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, home brewed ales and a warm welcome. Although off the beaten track, this hidden gem, once discovered, welcomes back customers time and time again. The way an unspoilt English pub should be and at The Ebrington Arms we have been welcoming travellers and locals across our flagstone floors for nearly 400 years. The pub oozes character with roaring open fires in the Winter and gorgeous countryside views and walks but the welcome remains the same for tourists and locals alike, a friendly relaxed atmosphere with some of the best food and rooms the Cotswolds has to offer.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of my favourite pubs...!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Regular visitor here, normally for a meal / special occasion or after walking in the area.
Meals are restaurant quality, pub atmosphere, overall excellent.
All three meals on last occasion absolutely perfect....and not general pub fare.
Waitress and staff overall very good.
A bit out of the way for us as 25 mins by car from Warwick. (Worth it....)
Good selection of local beers....but Costwold Breweries Lager worth a mention. AAA+

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walt6075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    102
    42
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Left feeling ripped off. ”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This place should win an award for giving the smallest portions for the most money. The percentage must be enormous. Is the chef paid a bonus dependent on gp?
Good quality ingredients but highly fannied about with.
Waiter seemed to think it was our job to move things around on the table so he could put the olives down. Seating extremely uncomfortable if you get a bench seat.
One women's toilet so be prepared to queue.
£19.00 for 2 fatty lamb chops, 2 small rather dry shoulder croquettes & 1 (yes1) reheated dry potato.
Won't return, wasn't for us.

Helpful?
4 Thank chefchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Will look elsewhere.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After living in the locality for over ten years we made our first visit to The Ebrington Arms for a Saturday lunchtime visit. It was certainly busy however the "Special" we ordered was insufficient and we had to ask for more vegetables to make the portion reasonable for this overpriced dish. I will not be returning for some time.
They said that the ingredients were expensive but surely the customer is entitled to leave not feeling hungry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Jeremy,
So sorry you weren't full up but it sounds like you've mistaken the purpose of our "lunch special" as it is not a "main" dish. It is one dish we prepare at lunchtime each day which is only £8 - it's usually a hot special dish in a portion between a starter and main portion size that is hugely popular with people preferring a smaller plate of food without ordering a main course and feeling like it's too much. It is not feasible for any establishment to offer a main size dish at this price made from scratch. If you are as hungry as you described it would always make sense to order a main course, heck, maybe even blow out and go for a pudding!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Faultless Service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The review title says it all.....the food could have been a little better. The service was excellent and the Pub and its location were perfect for a Sunday lunch and stroll. The puddings were very good. Two of us had the lemon parfait and our friends had the chocolate tart with "soil" and chocolate ice cream. It was a very close decision for us not to order the puddings all over again, yum !
The main courses of pork and beef were very good but the food was not as warm as it could have been and the vegetables also could have been better. There were four of us and we had to ask for more gravy and apple sauce.
It was nice after lunch to stroll around the very pretty village and visit the very interesting church ( it's not often that l can tell people we went to church on Sunday ). We will go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great staff, average food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

After spending some time looking at reviews on Trip Advisor for my boyfriend's birthday meal, I decided on The Ebrington Arms. It is a lovely building with very friendly, helpful staff, but the food itself we felt was decidedly average and over priced for what it was. Perhaps we came on off night. The wine and beer however were lovely and very reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jojohypno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ebrington Arms Restaurant also viewed

Paxford, Gloucestershire
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Bourton-on-the-Hill, Moreton-in-Marsh
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Ebrington Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing