We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper pub with wonderful food”
Review of The Ebrington Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ebrington Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Ebrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A proper pub with wonderful food”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We've just had a wonderful stay at this pub. Rarely for the Cotswolds it manages to be both a proper country pub with locals and great conversation and beer in the bar, but also provides fantastic, top restaurant-quality food and very comfortable accommodation. All this without feeling like a Londoner's fantasy of country living. It's such a friendly relaxing place to explore nearby towns and gardens (within walking distance across Cotswold fields). The owner is very friendly and they could not have done more to help us - even down to getting out a spirit level and a saw to rectify a slightly wonky bed, which was wonky because the whole 17th century building is still shifting a bit with the years!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    84
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
221
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
welwyn
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was our second visit to this pub, we visited last year and had a lovely meal, this time we were with friends and we all had a superb meal and a great evening.

This is a cosy, proper english pub, no machines, no television, no music, just people enjoying a good chat, good food and a few drinks! Except for me as I was the driver.

We had not booked, but they managed to find a table even though the place was packed out,the service was friendly and helpful.

The food was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented.

We do intend to book for B&B when we are next in the area, as we feel sure it would excellent.

Only negative point is the parking! the pub has a very small carpark and the village has very narrow roads, but it's worth the hassle of hunting down a place to park.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazmin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were looking for a chilled weekend away and couldnt have chosen a better pub to do it in. The room (Room 3) was done out to a 5* quality, the food and beer were also to 5* standards (but all at very reasonable prices) but best of all, the staff and locals made us feel so welcome. Both nights we stayed, the place was packed out and had a great atmosphere.
My only regret is that we live to far away to come back on a regular basis.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 that was spacious, had great ensuite and it's own little entrace hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We had read good reviews of the Ebrington Arms so had been hopeful but the place exceeded our expectations. We arrived on Friday night, and the welcome was as warm as the roaring log fire. Food at dinner on both nights was great - make sure you try the treacle tart - as was breakfast both mornings (porridge and Full English) and lunch.

The room was spacious, clean and warm (careful on the stairs down to the bathroom in room 1 though!). The pub itself is a real local and was busy both nights and for the Six Nations rugby on Saturday afternoon.

What really stood out though was the offers of help to get us back to Moreton-in-Marsh station through the snow by both one of the barstaff and the landlord (who owned a 4x4). In the end we got a taxi fine on the Sunday but the fact that they offered was really appreciated.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxdeg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Visited mid January, This was my third visit to this pub over a 6 month period. The food was as good for my third visit as it was for the first. Very reasonably priced wine and best of all the beer was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed in room 1 with my husband for our wedding anniversary , the room was furnished in a beautiful traditional style , very clean and well equip with tea/coffee etc , hairdryer , dressing gowns , clean towels and lovely little extras like little cookies in a jar and handmade soap in the lovely bathroom , the breakfast was lovely again with nice touches like the jam being put in mini glass jars , fresh orange juice in carafes and much more i could mention , the pub area is traditional with log fires and interesting décor all in keeping the staff and locals are all really friendly and made you feel really welcome involving you in friendly banter and nothing was too much trouble , the food was exceptional with a good choice of local produce . All in all it was a most enjoyable and fantastic weekend in lovely surroundings , good food , good company and lots of charming extras , i would definitely recommend here and come again

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyroxyTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We ventured to this pub having read good reviews about it's food and were not disappointed, all extremely tasty and in our minds a good menu.

However a few things tinged our experience, very slow service of food, even the breadboard, a need to chase both this and our drinks indicating a lack of attention as to whether our needs were being met or not and a waldorf salad that was anything but!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJHCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ebrington
0.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
2.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
625 reviews
2.8 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
671 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ebrington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ebrington Arms

Property: The Ebrington Arms
Address: Chipping Campden | Chipping Campden, Ebrington GL55 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ebrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ebrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ebrington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, unspoilt 17th century Cotswold inn with roaring log fires, stunning beer garden and famous atmosphere. Surrounded by rolling hills by Chipping Campden & Hidcote Gardens in Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. CAMRA North Cotswold’s Pub of the Year award-winners four times over, there is no more beautiful a base from which to explore the gorgeous Cotswold countryside. We have five, 4 star letting rooms, all ensuite with handcrafted oak beds and some with roll top baths and all with glorious countryside views. We serve excellent award-winning homemade food that has held two AA rosettes and a Bib Gourmand for the past seven years running. We feature in the Good Food Guide, Michelin Guide and Good Pub Guide). We were also awarded 'Escape of the Year 2016'. The Ebrington Arms is one of the few idyllic country pubs left that remain the hub of village and a hidden gem for those who find it! We are ideally based to explore the Cotswold villages, with Chipping Campden just around the corner, the famous National Trust Hidcote Gardens and the historic centre of Stratford Upon Avon and the centre of all things Shakespeare is only 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ebrington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ebrington Arms Hotel Ebrington
The Ebrington Arms Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing