We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cotswolds Lunch”
Review of The Ebrington Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ebrington Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Ebrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

After a visit to nearby Hidcote Gardens we went to this charming cotswolds pub for lunch. We ordered haddock and chips from the extensive menu and the freshly cooked meal arrived at our table shortly afterwards. The moist white fish was coated in a light beer batter and was utterly delicious.This CAMRA award winning pub has a wide choice of excellent local ales. Friendly and keen management seem to be getting it right. Parking can be difficult as there is only small car park. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We visited the Ebrington Arms for a weekend in late April 2013 when we were house-hunting in the area.

The staff were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The beer was magnificent, and the food was very good on both the Friday and Saturday evenings. There was a lovely atmosphere and it was very busy, however our food was served at an appropriate pace - not too fast, not too slow.

Breakfast on both mornings was good, with decent coffee: always a good sign.

The room we stayed in was perfectly adequate with a lovely view. There was a slight smell of fresh paint, due to obvious recent redecoration, which was no problem: I only mention it to let others know that the owners are taking great care of the place and it is nicely decorated.

By no means a complaint, but something that you should be aware of is that this is an old building with correspondingly thin walls and floors and no soundproofing. Hence, we could hear every word (literally) of what was being said by the diners below our room (it being a pub, and fully of happy and therefore jovially loud people). Of course, this stops at around 11pm, at which point you will hear the staff laying the tables for breakfast for the next twenty or thirty minutes.

So if you are a light sleeper, and want to be in bed and snoring before 11:30pm, this is not the place to stay.

It didn't bother us, though. We enjoyed ourselves immensely, were made to feel very welcome, and we look forward to going back again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DandEHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The Ebrington Arms gastro Pub in lovely little Ebrington is a very good place to have a pint or a meal. It's a charming old building. We had an excellent lunch and two very good dinners. For a local pub this place puts out very good food, so kudos to the kitchen staff and the owners. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We really liked this neighbourhood pub and would recommend the short drive from Chipping Campden to eat here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank galiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Fabulous food, lovely people, an adorable room. The bed was super-comfy, the tea/coffee tray well equipped and the complimentary port in the room was a lovely touch. I just wish we'd spent more than one night there.

Room Tip: We were in room 2, which seems to be the smallest/least luxurious, but we loved it. Plenty of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Have just returned from a very enjoyable 3 night stay with the wife at The Ebrington Arms. The room ( No 4 ),food, drink and servce could not have been better. If you want to stay in a relaxed atmosphere with good food and a decent room at very reasonable prices then the Ebrington Arms is the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuinnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Out in search of a meal and betrayed by the GPS we stumbled upon the Ebrington Arms. The car park was full and the lights were bright. It looked promising so we went in. Despite the lack of a booking we were seated and served straight away. We enjoyed drinking the local CAMRA ales and dug in to some delicious and soul-warming food. The atmosphere was cozy, punctuated by the fire, low ceilings and the exposed wood beams. I love a local, country pub serving good beer and gourmet food. I loved the Ebrington Arms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We first stayed at the Ebrington Arms in March 2012 and decided to visit again over the Easter weekend this year. As we had left booking a little late the only availability was for the Sunday and Monday night, which was fine.

We really do love this place, everything is ideal; this particular part of the Cotswolds, the village itself etc..and of course The Ebrington Arms. However, we were a little disappointed on our first night to find that they had sold out of Venison after a particularly busy bank holiday weekend. Claire and Jim are owners of some experience, and knowing how popular their pub is, we were surprised that they had run out of what must be one of the most popular dishes, although I suppose by saying that I'm justifying them selling out. It also gave us some concern as to what would be on the menu for the second night of our stay, as everyone who wanted Venison was then ordering steak, so would that also sell out. In the end though the team did an excellent job of locating fresh produce, on a bank holiday Monday, and we weren't disappointed with that nights menu.

So, even with the food disappointment we enjoyed another wonderful stay in a beautiful location and a gem of a pub.

We're going to make this a regular late winter/early spring weekend, so we will be back.

Room Tip: We like room 5 as it is over the restuarant and not the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ebrington
2.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,068 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,075 reviews
2.8 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
725 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ebrington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ebrington Arms

Address: Chipping Campden | Chipping Campden, Ebrington GL55 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ebrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ebrington
Price Range: £90 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ebrington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, unspoilt 17th century Cotswold inn with roaring log fires, stunning beer garden and famous atmosphere. Surrounded by rolling hills by Chipping Campden & Hidcote Gardens in Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. CAMRA North Cotswold’s Pub of the Year award-winners four times over, there is no more beautiful a base from which to explore the gorgeous Cotswold countryside. We have five, 4 star letting rooms, all ensuite with handcrafted oak beds and some with roll top baths and all with glorious countryside views. We serve excellent award-winning homemade food that has held two AA rosettes and a Bib Gourmand for the past seven years running. We feature in the Good Food Guide, Michelin Guide and Good Pub Guide). We were also awarded 'Escape of the Year 2016'. The Ebrington Arms is one of the few idyllic country pubs left that remain the hub of village and a hidden gem for those who find it! We are ideally based to explore the Cotswold villages, with Chipping Campden just around the corner, the famous National Trust Hidcote Gardens and the historic centre of Stratford Upon Avon and the centre of all things Shakespeare is only 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ebrington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ebrington Arms Hotel Ebrington
The Ebrington Arms Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing