We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not as good as last time !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ebrington Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ebrington Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Ebrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good but not as good as last time !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have visited here twice before with friends for Sunday lunch. This time we decided to try an evening instead. We have an hour's drive to get here but think it's worthwhile as the pub is cosy, lovely atmosphere, great choice of beers and the Prosecco last night (Bellenda) was very palatable ! The menu has about 8 choices of starter and mains including the specials board and there's a good choice of something for everyone. We had the lamb which was delicious as was the rhubarb cheesecake. The servers were all very polite but we were not asked once in the dining room if we wanted wine or water with our meal and had finished our starters before we had either ! Following our sweets we were not asked if we wanted coffee which we would have if we had been asked ... just felt the service was a little slack last night but the atmosphere and food can't be faulted. I am sure we will return. I would say with three courses and beers and wine the average cost is about £40 a head which is good value IMHO.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    80
    28
    8
    6
See reviews for
52
209
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Childswickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had read good reviews about this pub and the food certainly didn't let us down. We both had a roast and it was lovely. A big plate full and real roast potatoes unlike some restaurants who give you Aunty Bessie's or deep fried ones. The only criticism is we arrived having booked a table. We saw who I think was the landlord and he said "I won't be a minute". He didn't come back so we asked one of the other members of staff if our table was ready. He went and never come back. Another couple walked through the door and were immediately shown to a table! So we went looking again for someone, Eventually we were shown to a table and waited for quite a while for anyone to offer us a drink etc. The food then came quickly and was very nice. The gentleman who served us was also very pleasant. So our initial impressions weren't good as we felt completely ignored several times but the food made the trip worthwhile. It was very busy as it was a lovely sunny day so I think they were rushed off their feet. I would just suggest they could have been a but more attentive and welcoming when we first arrived.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We pride ourselves on being warm and welcoming and can only apologise profusely you weren't welcomed. Very glad you loved the food and we will strive to get it perfect for you next time. Thanks for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great country pub that offers good food and a nice pint. The beer is brewed by a local brewery to their own recipe and it is a little gem of a find.
The front of house staff are really friendly and this is a perfect example of an old English country pub. The owners are obviously trying to make a real success of this business and it deserves a visit. Only problem is lack of parking but the village is quiet enough to cope with the on-street parking. They have music nights and I would imagine the village may not be too impressed with the overflow of cars but still do recommend a visit.
Cost of 2 course lunch with a couple of samples of the local ale and coffee was £45

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Have just spent a lovely two night stay at the Ebrington arms... We stayed in room 4, which was comfortable, stylish and has a gorgeous bathroom.
We ate in the restaurant on both nights, and enjoyed two lovely meals, and excellent service. And the breakfasts... Just perfect!
The location makes a good base to explore the local area.
I honestly couldn't fault the place and would definitely recommend it to family and friends. A wonderful stay, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joco23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

However it was great. Been traveling for days and colleagues suggested to meet here for dinner and discussions.

The room was cozy. The pub was relaxing. The beer was fab. Food was outstanding. Brekky delicious. And there is wifi!

I could do all my business here...well, perhaps not but if you are looking for a fun experience, i would do it again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Barnsey9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This is somewhere we always look forward to visiting when visiting my parents who live within walking distance.
We decided to take our small children for a meal , booked in advance and arrived before six pm.
It took about 20 mins to place an order despite asking at the bar to order twice.
It then took 50
mins for kids pizza and kids sausage and mash and adult scallops and steak to arrive.

The olives ordered to tide us over never arrived , and we had to chase the food three times.

The steak was flabby and not charred when arrived and was sent back so my husband had no supper.

The scallop dish was tasty but starter size really for £19.

In the end they were very kind and apologetic but really the time taken and standard of cooking was not good enough and considering it was so early in the service and we had children the time taken totally unreasonable.

Walked back to my parents and cooked us dinner!

After about ten previous meals we were very dissapointed, staff seemed stressed although not that many diners.
The lovely owners were away so possibly this was a factor.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights and choose the accommodation as this was a last minute booking and this was the only pub with B & B in the area that could accommodate us for the three nights.

The pub is in a very pretty village and is obviously the heart of the community, with a good mix of tourists and also locals in the restaurant and the bar area, but there isn't much else in the village so you do need to use your car if you want to eat in one of the other restaurants in the near by Chipping Campden, which is 2 miles away

We stayed in Room no 3 which was excellent, comfortable bed, lovely and warm too with country side views and everything that you would expect from a B & B paying these sort of prices. There was one downside, which was the lack of lighting in both the bedroom and the bathroom, it was impossible to see to put on my makeup in either room, even in the daylight, and my husband found shaving very difficult too because of the lack of light and also there is no mirror over the hand basin.

We ate lunch and one evening meal here, and all were very good and of the quality that you would expect. The staff were amazing, helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for you - the owners however really didn't put themselves out to even bother to speak to any of the guests, and one morning four tables were occupied with guests eating their breakfasts, both the owners come into the breakfast area and didn't even smile let alone speak to anyone, but what a difference when the bar man came in...stopped to speak to everyone and was all smiles. I feel that the lovely atmosphere of this establishment is more to do with the excellent staff than the owners who were quite miserable.

Not sure that I would stay here again, as I would prefer to stay in the charming town of Chipping Campden instead, but we did enjoy your first visit to this beautiful area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG100surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ebrington
1.2 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ebrington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ebrington Arms

Property: The Ebrington Arms
Address: Chipping Campden, Ebrington GL55 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ebrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ebrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ebrington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, unspoilt 17th century Cotswold inn with roaring log fires, stunning beer garden and famous atmosphere. Surrounded by rolling hills by Chipping Campden & Hidcote Gardens in Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. CAMRA North Cotswold’s Pub of the Year award-winners 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 4 star letting rooms, and excellent homemade food (two AA rosettes, Good Food Guide, Michelin Guide). One of the few idyllic country pubs left that remain the hub of village and a hidden gem for those who find it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ebrington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ebrington Arms Hotel Ebrington
The Ebrington Arms Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing