We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
293
104
39
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
293
104
39
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish and chipschipping campdenwonderful pubhidcote gardensroast beeffor sunday lunchbeer gardenpanna cottareal alean evening mealwine listmain coursewell worth a visitcomfy bedcar parkfull english
Filter
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We went for a last minute over nighter for my boyfriends birthday. It certainly is a beautiful pub in very idyllic and pretty village, which is just what we wanted. Our plan was to stay somewhere with a bit of luxury, enjoy good food and a few drinks with just the stairs to climb for bed. Bed was really comfy, and
bedding and views were lovely but we didn't feel it matched up to its £128 mid week 'deal' price for bed and breakfast. I've stayed in more superior accommodation for a lot less and similar for a lot less. Food and cooked breakfast were really good. One thing that bugged us, particularly my boyfriend who funded the trip which was around £200 by the time we had eaten and had drinks etc is that the landlord did not put himself out to speak to us at all, even when serving us drinks at the bar, he seemed completely disinterested in us and our custom. The rest of the staff however were superb and could not have been more
attentive. Overall, we enjoyed it but wouldn't go back at those prices to stay again, the overpriced room and snubbing by the landlord marred the experience for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJoMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Husband and I spent 3 lovely nights here at Ebrington last week. To be honest, we hadn't expected it to be so rural and if you're staying here - a car is a must!! We were wondering on arrival what on earth are we going to find to do here for 3 days? However, after a good read at the travel guides and helpful tips on what to see from the locals, all was set in place for 3 fantastic 'full' days of touring and sightseeing. We stayed in room 4. Very warm and cosy with tastefully selected furnishings. Very happy with the room. Breakfast service was excellent but should be extended to 9.30 am in the week, as it is at the weekend. We ate each evening in the restaurant. The food write-ups in a national foodie magazine were what attracted us to this place. Whilst not disappointed we have a few comments which hopefully will help Ebrington Arms to continue to improve. Firstly, the 'specials' board wasn't really a 'specials' board because the exact same 3 or 4 dishes were repeated each day. It was a bit boring to be honest. On the first evening, we had the rib-eye steak. It was really good but was swimming in blood. It wasn't a true 'medium cooked' steak. I always rest my steaks for a few minutes before serving - this helps the meat to settle and stops it haemorrhaging all over the place. As we were rushing to watch the Manchester Derby (seriously we shouldn't have bothered!) we didn't comment at the time. Also the Chefs need to be careful about consistency. I had the beetroot starter on the Tuesday, which was so good I ordered it again on the Thursday but was disappointed. It was a much smaller portion than it was 2 nights earlier and there was only one walnut half in it as opposed to the earlier one which had about 3 or 4 halves. However on the whole we were pleased with the food and the local beers - so not much to moan about. Finally just a word on the staff. THEY WERE GREAT! Look out for Sara - What a gem. She was funny, hard-working and couldn't have done enough for us. Also, Sebastian. He's young, super cool, yes he's still learning the ropes but what a lovely lovely young man.

Room Tip: Room 4 is perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went for Sunday lunch. Menu looked good. Food arrived in good time, but stone cold. Beef was tasty if cold but the veg was shocking !! Did mention it at courtesy check and got offered a dessert which we shared, made up for the main, although I did hear manager say to waitress she should have just offered us a coffee. Felt a little like he didn't care as was only a few feet away. The waitress did all she could as we explained when asked about the meal that we were disappointed but hungry.

It's a beautiful pub with a nice atmosphere but could do with more staff on a Sunday.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Decided to have an evening meal here on the strength of previous reviews.
Welcome was good and promptly shown to our table.It was a monday and reasonably quiet.
When it came to ordering,the young waiter,who appeared to be new,told us the "specials"
available from a notepad (written by someone else) some of which he couldnt decipher from
the handwriting.I ordered loin of lamb and my wife pollock.
The portion size for both dishes was small and the lamb was cooked rare and very tough.
My daughter would call it "pretty food"-little of it(a modern concept)
However things did look up when we both ordered forest fruit crumble and vanilla custard for dessert- delicious!!
All in all a disappointing experience, especially as it was our wedding anniversary.We expected better.!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chilli48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have visited here twice before with friends for Sunday lunch. This time we decided to try an evening instead. We have an hour's drive to get here but think it's worthwhile as the pub is cosy, lovely atmosphere, great choice of beers and the Prosecco last night (Bellenda) was very palatable ! The menu has about 8 choices of starter and mains including the specials board and there's a good choice of something for everyone. We had the lamb which was delicious as was the rhubarb cheesecake. The servers were all very polite but we were not asked once in the dining room if we wanted wine or water with our meal and had finished our starters before we had either ! Following our sweets we were not asked if we wanted coffee which we would have if we had been asked ... just felt the service was a little slack last night but the atmosphere and food can't be faulted. I am sure we will return. I would say with three courses and beers and wine the average cost is about £40 a head which is good value IMHO.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews