We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food”
Review of The Ebrington Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ebrington Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Ebrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went here for Easter Sunday lunch. It was relatively busy but not overpacked.
The food we ordered was very tasty, well thought out and presented. We shared 2 starters and the vegetarian main which was all very good, and in my opinion, reasonably priced. I have paid the same price to have really really bad pub food before, so hence me writing that I do think it is reasonable.

However, for the childs roast dinner, it was only on leaving that we had realised they didn't bring out the accompanying vegetables that came with it. at the time we were too hungry to notice! But this bit was disappointing, i'm sure had I have mentioned it, they would have resolved there and then.

service was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

I had planned for years to seize an opportunity to stay at this pub-hotel, which looks so enticing in its photos. Finally, it came. The building looks as good in person as in the photos, and a warm welcome awaits you from the moment you enter the front door. Could not be more complimentary about hostesses Sara, Leila, and Paris. The bartenders were also sturdy and helpful, as was the man in charge of the menu and wine (Jean-Marc). Food and ambiance were so good, with warming fires in mid-October to enliven the cozy eating and drinking areas, that we ended up taking all our dinners there for all three days of our stay,along with the included gourmet-quality breakfasts. I would agree with a reviewer preceding me that all this perfection comes at a price, which did not go down much for midweek or solo occupancy (we took two rooms). Nor was it anywhere close to sold out (which could justify a high price to ration limited supply). But the food and beverages were fairly priced, and we knew in advance we'd be paying a fairly dear price for country pub accommodations, however attractively done.

The owner, Jim, was friendly to us (though we saw less of him than staff); however, my glowing post-stay email to him did not meet with a response, which would have been nice. However, I guess that's the nature of the business: you are constantly planning and executing to make new memories for new guests. Finally, I was crestfallen that the village's noted author Susan Hill had recently moved away from Ebrington; but I was able to get some good reminiscences of her from the staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw were charming and, given the bucolic location of the village, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CavalierKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

On our arrival at this very picturesque pub I said to my wife "I could murder a Carling"
How surprised I was upon entering the pub to find only the finest artisan brewed beers. "Bugger" I retorted and we laughed - I bet the locals are up in arms about this.
We settled down by the roaring fire and ordered some tap water while my wife (who is a barrister by the way- not that should make any difference) unwrapped our cheese sandwiches. The rather surely landlord approached us with a pitchfork and insisted we should not eat our own food. I find this rather churlish in this day and age.
We stayed in room six which was nicely decorated but only had two windows and a door. Worst of all there was a toilet in the bathroom- disgusting. My wife refused to shower because of that. The kettle was made of what appeared to be stainless steel and was plugged into the mains socket- very dangerous - hello- water and electricity!!! We checked out and unfortunately found out ( if only we had known before we booked) we had to actually walk down the stairs rather than be carried by servants. On leaving I discovered I was small minded and my life was so uninteresting I had to write a bad review about a great establishment to make sure the hard working folks there felt really bad about life- like I do. Let's face it - if I had a life I wouldn't be writing this crap. Nice curtains.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hunterwearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We went for a last minute over nighter for my boyfriends birthday. It certainly is a beautiful pub in very idyllic and pretty village, which is just what we wanted. Our plan was to stay somewhere with a bit of luxury, enjoy good food and a few drinks with just the stairs to climb for bed. Bed was really comfy, and
bedding and views were lovely but we didn't feel it matched up to its £128 mid week 'deal' price for bed and breakfast. I've stayed in more superior accommodation for a lot less and similar for a lot less. Food and cooked breakfast were really good. One thing that bugged us, particularly my boyfriend who funded the trip which was around £200 by the time we had eaten and had drinks etc is that the landlord did not put himself out to speak to us at all, even when serving us drinks at the bar, he seemed completely disinterested in us and our custom. The rest of the staff however were superb and could not have been more
attentive. Overall, we enjoyed it but wouldn't go back at those prices to stay again, the overpriced room and snubbing by the landlord marred the experience for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJoMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Husband and I spent 3 lovely nights here at Ebrington last week. To be honest, we hadn't expected it to be so rural and if you're staying here - a car is a must!! We were wondering on arrival what on earth are we going to find to do here for 3 days? However, after a good read at the travel guides and helpful tips on what to see from the locals, all was set in place for 3 fantastic 'full' days of touring and sightseeing. We stayed in room 4. Very warm and cosy with tastefully selected furnishings. Very happy with the room. Breakfast service was excellent but should be extended to 9.30 am in the week, as it is at the weekend. We ate each evening in the restaurant. The food write-ups in a national foodie magazine were what attracted us to this place. Whilst not disappointed we have a few comments which hopefully will help Ebrington Arms to continue to improve. Firstly, the 'specials' board wasn't really a 'specials' board because the exact same 3 or 4 dishes were repeated each day. It was a bit boring to be honest. On the first evening, we had the rib-eye steak. It was really good but was swimming in blood. It wasn't a true 'medium cooked' steak. I always rest my steaks for a few minutes before serving - this helps the meat to settle and stops it haemorrhaging all over the place. As we were rushing to watch the Manchester Derby (seriously we shouldn't have bothered!) we didn't comment at the time. Also the Chefs need to be careful about consistency. I had the beetroot starter on the Tuesday, which was so good I ordered it again on the Thursday but was disappointed. It was a much smaller portion than it was 2 nights earlier and there was only one walnut half in it as opposed to the earlier one which had about 3 or 4 halves. However on the whole we were pleased with the food and the local beers - so not much to moan about. Finally just a word on the staff. THEY WERE GREAT! Look out for Sara - What a gem. She was funny, hard-working and couldn't have done enough for us. Also, Sebastian. He's young, super cool, yes he's still learning the ropes but what a lovely lovely young man.

Room Tip: Room 4 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went for Sunday lunch. Menu looked good. Food arrived in good time, but stone cold. Beef was tasty if cold but the veg was shocking !! Did mention it at courtesy check and got offered a dessert which we shared, made up for the main, although I did hear manager say to waitress she should have just offered us a coffee. Felt a little like he didn't care as was only a few feet away. The waitress did all she could as we explained when asked about the meal that we were disappointed but hungry.

It's a beautiful pub with a nice atmosphere but could do with more staff on a Sunday.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Decided to have an evening meal here on the strength of previous reviews.
Welcome was good and promptly shown to our table.It was a monday and reasonably quiet.
When it came to ordering,the young waiter,who appeared to be new,told us the "specials"
available from a notepad (written by someone else) some of which he couldnt decipher from
the handwriting.I ordered loin of lamb and my wife pollock.
The portion size for both dishes was small and the lamb was cooked rare and very tough.
My daughter would call it "pretty food"-little of it(a modern concept)
However things did look up when we both ordered forest fruit crumble and vanilla custard for dessert- delicious!!
All in all a disappointing experience, especially as it was our wedding anniversary.We expected better.!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chilli48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ebrington
2.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,068 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
772 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,054 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,075 reviews
2.8 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ebrington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ebrington Arms

Address: Chipping Campden | Chipping Campden, Ebrington GL55 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ebrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ebrington
Price Range: £90 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ebrington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, unspoilt 17th century Cotswold inn with roaring log fires, stunning beer garden and famous atmosphere. Surrounded by rolling hills by Chipping Campden & Hidcote Gardens in Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. CAMRA North Cotswold’s Pub of the Year award-winners four times over, there is no more beautiful a base from which to explore the gorgeous Cotswold countryside. We have five, 4 star letting rooms, all ensuite with handcrafted oak beds and some with roll top baths and all with glorious countryside views. We serve excellent award-winning homemade food that has held two AA rosettes and a Bib Gourmand for the past seven years running. We feature in the Good Food Guide, Michelin Guide and Good Pub Guide). We were also awarded 'Escape of the Year 2016'. The Ebrington Arms is one of the few idyllic country pubs left that remain the hub of village and a hidden gem for those who find it! We are ideally based to explore the Cotswold villages, with Chipping Campden just around the corner, the famous National Trust Hidcote Gardens and the historic centre of Stratford Upon Avon and the centre of all things Shakespeare is only 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ebrington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ebrington Arms Hotel Ebrington
The Ebrington Arms Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing