We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find, with excellent restaurant and fantastic staff.”
Review of The Ebrington Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ebrington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ebrington Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Ebrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed at The Ebrington Arms for a couple of nights. This is a lovely pub situated in a peaceful and delightful village a short drive from Chipping Camden. We stayed in room 4 and this was a lovely room, beautifully decorated with an excellent large bathroom with a separate shower cubicle. One slight criticism is there was a lack of drawers and just a rail with knobs for hanging clothes. The bedside tables were small so not really any use for clothes,whereas the room was plenty big enough for a wardrobe and bigger drawers. Our room seemed to be below some water tanks which did make some noise throughout the night but when mentioned on checking out we were told this would be looked at. There are always going to be some strange sounds and noises when you're not in familiar surroundings so this wasn't too much of a problem.
However, there are plenty of positives. The staff were brilliant, really helpful and polite. Two who stood out were Sara and Jason. We had a slight issue on our first night which was sorted out by another member of staff who unfortunately we didn't get her name but she went over and above her duties to help us.
The food is wonderful. We can't believe the comments about small portions. This is a pub serving restaurant food at a very high standard. The chicken was superb, so succulent and the fish and chips looked so good we had to sample on our second evening and we weren't disappointed. Breakfast was wonderful, great selection and beautifully presented. There were six real ales on offer and you can take advantage of ordering a 'flight' of drinks which allowed you to have 3 1/3 pints of 3 different ales.
The pub is very popular with locals and it is advisable to book a table for the evening. We would return as this is a good base for exploring the quieter side of the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

August 2014. While staying in a nearby cottage in Ebrington we visited the Ebrington Arms for an evening meal out. The food was delicious, service excellent and surroundings not too formal. The food is more expensive than chain pubs but it is all freshly prepared, more varied and interesting and of excellent quality - this is an unfair comparison to make as the food and service are on par with a good restaurant.
We went back later in our stay, just for drinks and thoroughly enjoyed sitting in the garden in gorgeous countryside having a well earned pint or 2. The ales (both brewed at their own brewery and the guest ales) were delicious and some friends really enjoyed the 'Cotswold Cider'.
The pub has a comfortable and informal bar at the front that you can drop in to just for a drink in a relaxed atmosphere. Behind that the restaurant area consists of 3 rooms with 4 - 6 tables in each so it does feel like an intimate dining experience. The garden has views over rolling Cotswold hills.
I would highly recommend this pub for a refreshing drink or a special meal...It does get booked up so phone ahead!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Great location: quiet village, picturesque local walks
Great food: full English was fresh, cooked to order & locally sourced, delicious; ate dinner both nights and enjoyed spot on fish & chips, excellent flame-flavoured burger and perfectly cooked guinea fowl
Great beer: tried all six of the ales on tap, all local. Hill Climb and Stunner were our favourites but all good quality and hearty
Friendly staff: from the French Maître d to the bar staff, all we're welcoming and chatty
Lovely room: full of character, beams, leaded windows, roll-top bath, gorgeous sturdy bed but with all modern amenities and even a bottle of sherry!
There was live music on the night we stayed. This was great, but check ahead if you want an early night, loud!
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Earring ton is only a few miles from Hidcote Gardens and if you are visiting the latter it is well worth visiting the former. We had been very impressed with the Killingworth Castle at Wooron, on Monday, and being at Hidcote we decided to give the Ebtington Arms our custom. We were not disappointed. The food is varied and inventive. I had the hake and oriental pork cheek as a main course. Excellent. Portions are not huge but quality is very high.
The young waitress was very knowledgeable about the food and the service was faultless.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Didwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Arrived at this quaint cotswold pub in search of much needed refreshments after a five mile walk in the nearby area. We both had excellent smoked salmon and cucumber sandwiches on really good homebaked brown bread. Very good value at £6.00 each. Washed down with local cider for me and locally brewed Yubby ale for himself. Friendly, helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

my wife and I were coming back from holiday on the 27th july 2014 we had been touring the south east/south coast (previously in the year a family member had stayed at this place and had recommended a visit ) so not being far from home we took a de-tour - like all these places in the cotswolds its location is countryfied and the day weather wise was brilliant -yes it is difficult for parking and other than the pub being (like many of the type) oldie worldie ( our impressions of the inside it did not impress we were asked if we would be dining and I said maybe but did however ordered a drink ) (pint of lager and a medium size glass of wine cost £8.15 phew ) lol wanted a drink not the pub - took drinks into garden area (very nice area ) looked at menu (re-sunday lunch) again surprised regardless of food or how they cook it - really felt prices were very high -OK this is not a large pub so guess they have to charge high to make a profit ( it seems a lot of a little is better than a little of a lot ) all the business people should understand this principle - can like many pubs say worth visit just for where it is located but for eating there leave that to yourselves -us will not be in hurry to return anytime soon ( found other pub on the day in chipping camp den where sunday lunch was great and quality good and prices more realistic

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrsacotswolds, Owner at The Ebrington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write the review but it is important to point out incorrect statements. There is not one pub in Chipping Campden that has cheaper prices than us. Because we are outside of the town itself in the village of Ebrington we have to work harder on pricing and quality than any of the town pubs which is why all of the B&Bs send their customers out to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed the night of the 10th July and arrived quite late, but having booked for dinner as recommended on their website. The pub was busy with a local function but we were welcomed and looked after. Dinner and breakfast were excellent and our room (4) was lovely, beautifully decorated and with special touches like Spode mugs for tea/coffee. It was also wonderfully quiet with little road noise even the following morning. Would love to return.

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely and quiet despite overlooking the road that runs along the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ebrington
2.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,085 reviews
0.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
0 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
The Wyvill Arms
The Wyvill Arms
#1 of 1 in Constable Burton
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ebrington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ebrington Arms

Address: Chipping Campden | Chipping Campden, Ebrington GL55 6NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ebrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ebrington
Price Range: £90 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ebrington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, unspoilt 17th century Cotswold inn with roaring log fires, stunning beer garden and famous atmosphere. Surrounded by rolling hills by Chipping Campden & Hidcote Gardens in Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. CAMRA North Cotswold’s Pub of the Year award-winners four times over, there is no more beautiful a base from which to explore the gorgeous Cotswold countryside. We have five, 4 star letting rooms, all ensuite with handcrafted oak beds and some with roll top baths and all with glorious countryside views. We serve excellent award-winning homemade food that has held two AA rosettes and a Bib Gourmand for the past seven years running. We feature in the Good Food Guide, Michelin Guide and Good Pub Guide). We were also awarded 'Escape of the Year 2016'. The Ebrington Arms is one of the few idyllic country pubs left that remain the hub of village and a hidden gem for those who find it! We are ideally based to explore the Cotswold villages, with Chipping Campden just around the corner, the famous National Trust Hidcote Gardens and the historic centre of Stratford Upon Avon and the centre of all things Shakespeare is only 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ebrington Arms Hotel Ebrington
The Ebrington Arms Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing