We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1, Woodchester Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1, Woodchester Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Woodchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and can't speak highly enough of it. The owner made us feel welcome and helped us with local restaurants and attractions. And the breakfast is to die for. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rich431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are always happy to advise customers about our local pubs, restaurants and hotels. We are very lucky to have a wealth of choice in this area offering the customer the opportunity to try all kinds of different dinning experiences. We would recommend particularly, Mark@street where we have a 10% discount arrangement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
111
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Woodchester lodge for two night break at the beginning of July. The property was stunning and likewise the grounds where immaculate. As a younger couple we where a bit unsure if the local area would be slightly dull but it was far from it we enjoyed a brilliant meal at the old fleece and likewise a outstanding dinner in nearby Nailsworth at mark@street. We really enjoyed our stay and Anne was more than helpful and kind. We had the family room witch was immaculate and comfy but perhaps for a little more privacy go for the en suit room. we would defiantly stay here and recommenced it to anyway looking for some time away to relax !

Room Tip: Go for the en suite room as it gives you more privacy but all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here. We are fortunate in that there are a great number of eating places around here from local pubs & and restaurants to sophisticated hotels and bars. We are spoilt for choice. If you do not want to venture out in the evening I also offer a wide choice of food in the evening. We wish you an enjoyable Summer and hope to welcome you again if ever you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Woodchester Lodge for 2 lovely days in July. Woodchester Lodge is a spectacular period property in a beautiful setting. Our room was beautifully decorated and the whole place was spotless. Anne was the perfect host and our stay was truly wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. We could not recommend this accommodation highly enough and will definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teignsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
It was very kind of you to write us a review; thank you very much. We are glad you enjoyed it here, we are certainly lucky to own this late Victorian house with its spacious rooms and high ceilings. It is ideal for welcoming guests who can enjoy the peace and quiet of our south Cotswold village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the most wonderful 2 night break at Woodchester Lodge. Everything about the magnificent house, gardens, food and hospitality cannot be described in words alone. For anyone wanting a peaceful retreat with every attention to detail thrown in then please make a visit to Woodchester Lodge. The owners Anne and Nigel will give you a very warm welcome and ensure your stay with them is a most memorable one. We shall definitely return as our 2 night break was not long enough. There is nothing negative one can say about staying at Woodchester Lodge. There are plenty of places of interest to visit whilst staying here...eg Bourton on the Water, Stow on the Wold, Moreton in Marsh, Cirencester to name a few. Thank you Anne and Nigel and of course Penny too for your courtesy and kindness.

Room Tip: We booked the en-suite room (think it was called the green room) and it was well worth the upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for writing us such a kind and complimentary review. We are pleased you enjoyed all the various aspects of our B&B; we do try and give our guests the best package we can.
None of this would, however, be possible without the team of people who help us both in the house and the garden at Woodchester Lodge.
You mention Penny, we have various other ladies and chaps who help and without their efforts we would not be able to achieve the standards we set throughout the business.
Woodchester Lodge is very definitely a team effort. Thank you to them all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Woodchester Lodge is an amazing place - a beautiful, big Victorian house with original features intact and a fascinating history (detailed in the guest info pack). We feel very lucky to have stayed there. The gardens are pretty and full of interesting birds - we watched woodpeckers, bullfinches, goldfinches, and more right outside our window. Anne has got everything just right in her B&B - everything was perfect. It is peaceful, comfortable, relaxing and spotlessly clean and fresh. The food is fantastic - all home cooked by Anne. The eggs at breakfast fresh from the hens in the garden are very special. Pots of tea and coffee are always available - plus home baked sweet treats (naughty but nice!). We could not have been made to feel more welcome. An added bonus is that there are at least three lovely pubs within short walking distance - all with friendly staff and regulars, and good food. We highly recommend Woodchester Lodge - you would not get better in a 5 star hotel. Thank you Mum and Dad for a wonderful birthday present. x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRLAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It was kind of you to write. We do appreciate this.
We are fortunate to have an amazing variety of birds in our garden, despite owning 2 cats!
It is a great distraction watching the birds instead of getting on with our work.
We are glad you found the local pubs friendly. This is a very friendly area and there is a strong feeling of community in our village. Newcomers are always welcome and will soon find a niche in our village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I do not know where to start...Just came back from this wonderful B&B and we both already want to go back there...The Building itself is ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, very old fashioned and so full of so many features we could not stop taking pictures....The room is spacious and very comfortable with big windows with the lovely view of a STUNNING GARDEN:)))) Anne and Nigel are an amazing couple always ready to help...Anne is a fantastic Chef our dinner was superb Salmon for me cooked perfectly and Pork chops for Daniel. The starter was so nice many different dips all made with extreme care with fresh veg from Nigel's vegetable patch:)))) Full wide selection in a continental breakfast all served in a very beautiful room with freshly picked flowers from the garden...Traditional pubs within 5 min walking, I recommend the RAM INN:)))) We cant wait to go back there...Amedeo and Daniel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmedeoDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you both for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the house and garden; it was lucky you had such good weather; everything always looks much better when the sun shines!
We are very lucky with our local pubs; we have 4 pubs you can walk to and a good selection in Nailsworth and Stroud each 2 miles away. We are spoilt for choice.
We wish you a good Summer and hope you may be able to return in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hi,we booked Woodchester Lodge for my Mum and Dad's Golden wedding.
I would just like to thank Anne and Nigel for making there stay such a fabulous experience.
In my Mum's words " it's the best place we have ever stayed in"
Nothing was to much trouble for Ann and Nigel.
All the added extras and personal touches made their stay all the more enjoyable.
The scenery from the house was fantastic.
Breakfast was first class, with an extensive and varied menu.
Thank you to you both for making their stay such a lovely experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Backwoodsbarbie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We always feel privileged to be a part of such important family events, be it a wedding, anniversary, birthday or similar occasion. It is a great pleasure to host such milestones in people's lives; we are lucky that the house and garden offer an ideal backdrop for these celebrations.
Many congratulations to Robert and Pauline on their Golden Wedding. We wish them many more happy years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodchester
10.7 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#6 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1, Woodchester Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1, Woodchester Lodge

Property: 1, Woodchester Lodge
Address: Southfield Road | Woodchester, Woodchester GL5 5PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Woodchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woodchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 1, Woodchester Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Victorian timber merchant's property. Large comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts and optional evening meal. Easily accessible from motorway/main roads, but quiet location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1, Woodchester Lodge Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing