We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”
Review of The Cock Inn

The Cock Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Blakeney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Cock Inn is a grade 11 listed coaching house dating back to 1600.Steve and Jane welcome you to this fantastic pub situated in the historic Royal Forest of Dean. We have a good range of fine wine and ales including some of those brewed locally or enjoy a freshly prepared home cooked meal in our restaurant.We have 5 en suite rooms all with digital TV and wi-fi.We have a cosy log fire for the winter nights and a large beer garden for the summer.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family meal”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After our very enjoyable steak the last time we visited, we decided to return with other members of the family. The food was good and although not large portions, was sufficient, Unfortunately the table we were put on was cold and quite draughty being by the kitchen door which obviously was frequently being opened. The big complaint was the attitude of the lady waiting at table, I assume the landlady. Her personality does not lend itself to dealing with the public and not once did she attempt to be friendly. We were not asked if everything was alright with the food, which I would think is one of the first things you do when serving food. When the coffee was brought it was banged down on the table as if we shouldn't have asked for it.
It spoilt the evening and although local, we will not be going back again, unless it changes hand.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    39
    14
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant steak”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I eat out every Friday and the fillet steak we had last night was the best steak we have ever experienced. The whole meal was just delicious, from the meat to the salad.
The only criticism we had was the lady who we assumed was the landlady and her general attitude. She cleared the desert plate the minute we had finished, without any comment and leaned across us to reach our serviettes. This was extremely rude and had the food not been to such a high standard we would probably not return, but to be honest the food was so good we will certainly give it another go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The food here is a cut above the usual pub grub. Decent size helping, and very nicely prepared. Good real ale available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith and Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First class food, lovely place, friendly staff!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Visit probably once every other week, sometimes every week...

Always look forward to our meal and have to say one if the best chefs around. Had the 'Crispy Roast Duck' tonight was EXCELLENT!!!

I'm very fussy when eating out and this is a restaurant that I know always excels at every meal they cook. Slow roast pork is divine, curries are amazing, the home made steak burgers are just gorgeous.

We are very lucky to have this pub so close to where we live and also play pool here and my son plays in the garden out the back.

I always recommend this place to people, it's a laid back atmosphere and easy going.

They always work hard to accommodate groups and bookings, and booking a table in advance on the weekend is a good tip.

Love eating here couldn't live without it!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Balmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly service”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Cock Inn was recommended by the owner of our week-end cottage (and several previous guests) and the food lived up to our expectations. The crispy roast duck was delicious and one of best I've ever tasted. We still had room to enjoy the excellent bakewell tart which simply melted in our mouths! There was a good atmosphere in the pub with a mix of locals and visitors dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cock Inn also viewed

Blakeney, Forest of Dean
Parkend, Forest of Dean
 
Whitecroft, Forest of Dean
Yorkley, Forest of Dean
 

Been to The Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing