We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attracts a younger rowdy crowd these days”
Review of Coach & Horses Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach & Horses Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Longborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Attracts a younger rowdy crowd these days”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I first visited this place about 17 years ago and then it was very old fashioned and looked as though nothing had changed for years, there was no food and it was a real locals pub. In recent years it has seen a number of changes in management and now seems to attract a younger rowdy crowd, especially at weekends who seem to think that it is ok to sit on the front terrace until the early hours, singing and generally being noisy and keeping locals and holidaymakers in the many nearby holiday cottages awake. Last night for example 3rd August, this continued until well after 1am and the management don't seem to care or want to take responsibility for the behaviour of their customers. This establishment is getting the village a bad name and is best avoided, especially if you are looking for a quiet drink.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
15 Thank HermioneBaglash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    29
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We are seasoned KGB/Groupon travellers and the review below is based on our observations. We have tried to be as fair as possible and hope the following points may assist fellow travellers:

Positives:

1.Reasonably clean with comfortable beds
2.Excellent location offering good access to some interesting places
3, Reasonable breakfast, but note comments below

Negatives:

1. Access on first day is only allowed between 12 and 2pm or after 6pm. We were not informed of this when making the initial booking some months ago.
2. There is no car park and although there is off-road parking available near the pub, the spaces quickly disappear during licensing hours
3. The room we stayed in (two single beds) was extremely small (a box/attic room) with a very small TV
4 The bathroom was tiny - only space for one person at a time. There was not enough space in the bathroom to dry yourself after taking a shower and you had to dry yourself in the bedroom itself. You also had to be something of a contortionist to actually take a shower as the concertina doors closed inwards making the space inside even more limited.
5 There were two flights of very steep stairs to the room - I would strongly argue that this particular room would not be suitable for the elderly, infirm and for those who are, shall we say, on the large side. If necessary, would suggest you check which room you have been allocated first before arriving, if this is a concern.
6. There was no choice offered with the cooked breakfast: it was a cooked breakfast or no cooked breakfast. If you are vegetarian or allergic to certain foods, also suggest you check when ordering. They probably will cater for individual needs, though we weren't asked, which would have been nice.
7 The bedroom door jammed when we were inside and took a few minutes to unlock (this has been mentioned by previous visitors and has apparently not been fixed. Beware)
8 The air con/generator unit in the room below was distracting during the night and could cause sleep problems for some visitors
9 The room was not serviced between the days and no tea or coffee was provided on the second day. The lack of servicing has also been mentioned previously and I'm sure will infuriate some future visitors.

Whilst accepting this was a KGB deal, this should have no bearing on the standard of service expected. We had a reasonable stay, but from our experience, I'm afraid I couldn't recommend this pub.

Room Tip: Bar menu very limited - just three starters and three main meals. But do check the Specials board as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mariocki34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just came back from 2 night stay at the Coach and Horses, we booked it on the KGB deal for a friends wedding a few miles away. The inn was a real lovely country pub with a very homely, local feel. We stayed in the double room which was pleasant with an en-suit, balcony and tea/coffee making facilities, the bed was extremely comfortable and the room very clean.

Breakfast was lovely, full English plus cereal and juice, cooked perfectly well. The village is beautiful and the landlady is really helpful and accommodating.

We had a lovely stay and would recommend staying here to anyone. The location was perfect for us and the KGB deal was excellent value, considering most wedding guests were staying at a travelodge 20mins away and paying more.

Excellent B&B in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

After being told that we must check in between 12-2.30 or after 6 we arrived at 1 to be told our room wasn't ready. The Landlady said it wouldn't be readyuntil after 2 as she was on her own & had to work in the kitchen. Finally we were allowed to leave our luggage in our room & given keys, I dont know if the fact we didn't want a drink or food while we waited upset her but her attitude was very unwelcoming. We went out to see the area which is very beautiful & peaceful. That evening when we were about to go out we couldn't open the room door the catch had jammed, fortunately the couple in the next room were out on the shared balcony so we were able to ask them to use our keys to unlock us. When we informed the Landlady she said "oh that sometimes happens" we would have thought if this had happened before it should have been fixed. We were told if it happened again to come down the back way (fire escape .thebreakfasts 'were very well done' by that I mean sausage,fried bread &fried egg hard the bacon was grilled & crispy but fine. If you are looking for a comfortable room with a friendly room this is not the place to find it. If we were paying the normal tariff we would have complained & not stayed a second night but we had a KGB voucher so had a cheap couple of nights. On the second day our room wasn't serviced at all,again I don't know if this is normal or because we were on a cheap deal but surely to advertise these offers you must want the custom & satisfactory reconmandations. If you are in this part of the country please visit the other Coach & Horses a mile down the road the food is superb,service great & the Landlady welcoming & charming the evening spent at this pub was the highlight of our weekend along with the scenery.

Room Tip: the pub only has one twin & one double en-suite both have a noisy generater on the roof just bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suez13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset, uk
Level Contributor
414 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I checked in on a Saturday night for a two night stay. Please note the Inn doesnt have a car park but you can always find somewhere to park - quiet village.
We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was the double - the other room is a twin.
Quite small but compact with a ensuite shower. Fire exit out onto a small balcony. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room plus toiletries in the bathroom.
We decided to eat there on the Saturday which was no problem and had drinks first in the front garden overlooking the church - lovely hot afternoon and had a nice walk around the village before dinner.
Typical pub grub on offer and reasonably priced.
Breakfast on both mornings was plentiful and very tasty - full English plus orange juice and cereal.
The bed was very comfortable and we slept well all apart from the noisy air con unit on the flat roof below - bearing in mind it was 28-30 degrees both days we were there, had to sleep with the fire door open otherwise I dont think you would hear this.
We have no problems with dogs but just be aware that there is a large and small dog in the pub. Both very friendly.
We met both the tenant and the manager - mother and daughter - both made us feel very welcome and very friendly.
We would have no hesitation recommending this Inn and returning for another two night stay.
If you have walking difficulties this may not be the Inn for you as quite steep stairs up two flights to get to the bedrooms.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms - one double and one twin - I believe they are the same size with same ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I visited on a KGB voucher. I have mobility problems and as their 2 rooms are up winding stairs I was unable to stay. To be fair I cannot comment on the rooms or food, which well be fine.
Just to advise intending visitors that the room access not really suitable for elderly infirm or mobility impared people. Also note tat there is no car park, but this is a small village and parking outside shouldn't be a problem. The girl who greeted us was most pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We found this place on an offer from KGB. We arrived in the pub bar at lunchtime on fathers day to find a very busy place and busy staff. I expected that we would be asked to come back later as I thought we were early for checking in but we were shown to our rooms with a smile.
The double room was compact but perfectly formed with everything that you would need, it was well decorated and very clean and the bed was just wonderful, better than mine at home. The pub does not do evening meals on Sunday but they offered to prepare a Sunday Lunch for us to eat later in the evening and it was excellent.
Breakfast was good and I was sorry that we had to leave. I'm sure we will stay there again.
The village was very quaint with the Heart of England Way running straight through and plenty of other footpaths if you are into walking.
The only downfall, if you could call it that, is that there is not a car park but there is was adequate on road parking when we arrived on a busy Sunday afternoon.

Room Tip: as far as I know there are only two rooms, a double and a twin. We had the double and it was very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longborough
2.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,846 reviews
2.3 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,114 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Blockley
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach & Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach & Horses Inn

Property: Coach & Horses Inn
Address: Yew Tree Bank, Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Longborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the small pub in the village with 2 ensuite letting rooms ( up steep staircase ) we welcome children,dogs and muddy boots a tradional pub with pub food,please note there are TWO coach and horses within 1mile of each other hence bottom pub please make sure you are reviewing the right One !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Coach & Horses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach & Horses Inn Longborough, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing