We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, only minor quibbles”
Review of Coach & Horses Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coach & Horses Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Longborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value, only minor quibbles”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed on a KGB deals break; the hotel was very accommodating as to dates as they had had a late rush. The staff were all helpful and friendly- we had the double room on the top floor. Clean, but bathroom very cramped. The first night we stifled, as it was a very warm evening, and the only source of air available meant opening the fire exit door, which led onto the shared balcony. This did not feel secure, as the next-door bedroom also led onto the balcony. Breakfast reasonable, but the quality seemed to depend on who cooked it- different on both days. As a vegetarian, it would have been nice to be offered veggie sausage or similar. The only toast provided was white sliced.
The bathroom does need some hanging space. The soap dispenser was empty on arrival, and not replaced the next day, and we were left no towels on our second night- I had to go & hunt for some. Overall, though, very good value, a lovely setting and a relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizthesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    29
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Considering how much was paid for the KGB deal this was exceptional value for money. Warm and friendly welcome - room up a few flights of stairs and quite "bijou", but nonetheless clean and functional. Breakfast was very good and everyone very friendly.Village itself was very pretty and very English countryside. Very near to Stowe and Bourton- on- water. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
641 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived on a sunny Friday evening to warm welcome from the barman and his regulars. Our room was the double on the top floor which meant two flights of steps one of which was winding. There were handrails and the barman helped us with our luggage so it was no problem for us.
The Room and shower room was perfectly clean and adequate. It was light and airy and had a door that opened out onto a steel balcony and stairway.
We didn't eat there that evening but walked up the road about half a mile to the other coach and horses on the main road. Very nice too but expensive.
Breakfast was good and tasty each morning and friendly staff gave us plenty of walking advice. Stow is about an hours walk away through the fields. We would definitely recommend this place and the value for money was exceptional. Only feedback would be maybe put some more shelves and hooks in the shower room and provide wifi. Enjoy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JP070766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked for two nights on a KGB deal. When we arrived we were shown our room which was in the attic, climbing Mount Blanc would be easier than getting up the stairs with the case. The wardrobe was three hooks on the wall and we think the original wardrobe had been converted into the shower room and toilet. The bedding had never seen an iron and one pillow case had the previous occupants hair and dribble on it. No other rooms to upgrade to, they changed the pillow case saying it had been laundered.??? The breakfast the following morning was awful apart from the boxed cereal. We checked out after the first night. We will not be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just had a 2 night break in this superb inn, room cosy, clean with en-suite and small balcony overlooking the garden.All staff very friendly and helpful and provide a good breakfast.The bar was very welcoming with good service and friendly locals.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank San_D545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Pillow case where grey the pub was filty dirty and needed a good clean through out not worth £10 a night least of all £60.00 did not want to stay but had to as we where going on to another district further down towards wales. The attic room was dangerous if you are not good on your legs dont go there, it was a dangerous hike getting up the steep stairs, nearly fell down twice. There was a young girl left to look after us she needed to look after herself first.
The accomadation under us must have been where she stayed. the bathroom had dirty clothes on the floor for the duration of our stay. the bin was full to the brim in the kitchen, this never got emptied. The owner and his son where really nice. shame really they need to smarten the place up and buy some better pillows / cases and bedding. We where glad to leave the place. Breakfast was not a pleaseant experience either running uncooked egg, where given a slice of toast each and a choice of small box kelloges variety cererals, not even asked if we would like white or brown bread just given what she taught was right. Would not stay here again.Only thing was it was near to most places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a two night break at this charming inn. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The inn itself is very traditional and attractive inside and out. Our room was small but cosy with a modern en-suite and we had everything we needed. We had Sunday lunch which was excellent and an evening meal the following day, which was also very good. The home-made apple crumble is superb!
Breakfast was a traditional full English and it certainly set us up for the day!
The inn is in a pleasant village, handy for visiting many of the Cotswold attractions.
We would certainly return and also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longborough
2.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,848 reviews
2.3 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,114 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 3 in Blockley
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach & Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach & Horses Inn

Property: Coach & Horses Inn
Address: Yew Tree Bank, Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Longborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the small pub in the village with 2 ensuite letting rooms ( up steep staircase ) we welcome children,dogs and muddy boots a tradional pub with pub food,please note there are TWO coach and horses within 1mile of each other hence bottom pub please make sure you are reviewing the right One !!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Coach & Horses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach & Horses Inn Longborough, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing