We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly enjoyable few days”
Review of Windy Ridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Ridge House
Ranked #1 of 2 Longborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We decided to take a mini-break in the Cotswolds and stayed at the Windy Ridge on a Monday and Tuesday evening during the off-peak season. Nick was a fantastic host, very accommodating and set the mood brilliantly. The B&B was very comfortable with some interesting features and was set amongst some beautiful gardens. Breakfast was cooked to order and very plentiful. There was also an 'honesty box' system operated in the communal lounge for drinks, which we thought was a brilliant concept, especially as any profits made are donated to charity. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Windy Ridge.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Windy Ridge House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Looking every inch an ancient manor house, Windy Ridge is a place of many surprises. It looks like it dates back to the 1750s but in reality it was only built in the 1950s. Its gorgeous Cotswold stone is typical of the area and the house is beautifully furnished in shabby chic. Very warm and inviting. But perhaps the best feature of all at Windy Ridge is Nick, the charismatic owner. He couldn't have made us feel more at home and more welcome. Breakfasts are massive - and Nick's parrot provides an amusing vocal accompaniment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed there on the weekend of 23rd November 2013 and really enjoyed our stay. Nick is friendly , warn and helpful which makes you feel welcome. The room was cleaned and the ambience was lovely.
We can't find any fault and would stay there again.
Angella & Laurent.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angella24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I totally agree with all the positive comments about the beauty of the house and the hospitable owner Nick. However, on the negative side was very disappointed with the cooked breakfast, which was tasteless, the bacon was very overcooked, the sausages not the best we've tasted, the toast arrived after we had finished eating. Also, there was no wifi in the room and no reception on the tv. During the evening the electricity went off, so had limited lighting until the morning and had to wash in the dark.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswoldboy, Owner at Windy Ridge House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback which whether good to boost our confidence or bad to help us put right where you think we are going wrong, they are all appreciated and thank you all for taking the time to post your reviews.
This though is the first time we have ever had criticism over our breakfasts, if the comment had been that there was too much on the plate then I could have understood...!! Like most of our ingredients, both our sausages and bacon are locally sourced though I am obviously unable to comment on the way the breakfast was cooked and served on that particular morning though I have passed these views on to our housekeeper.
With regard to the electricity cut, this was out of my control and caused problems with both the TV and Wi-Fi which though were both immediately corrected when brought to our attention and before you ask - yes I had paid the electric bill...!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Nick, the owner, not forgetting 'Taxi' the dog made us feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door. Windy Ridge was like staying in a stately home, oil paintings, antique furniture and fine china everywhere. The bedroom was very comfortable. The lounge was relaxing with a range of spirits which you could drink with a suitable donation in the honesty box. Great for a weekend treat!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend, and we both loved it. Nick, the owner, welcomed us and we immediately felt at home. He was available when we wanted to chat about the area or to suggest where to go for dinner, but wasn't overbearing. The house was beautiful, full of interesting trinkets and pieces of art. We stayed in a room with an ensuite bathroom, which looked out onto a pretty garden, with lots of hydrangeas. It was a very relaxing place to stay.

We ate breakfast in the garden room with the other guests, and it was freshly cooked and delicious. There is a good choice of breakfast available, from cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts, to full English breakfasts, with juices or tea/ coffee. There was an evening room, with a choice of DVDs, board games, magazines and an 'honesty' bar, which we enjoyed sitting in after a day of long walks!

The grounds are immaculate, and worth exploring. There is an arboretum just across the road that is also part of the property.

I would highly recommend this B&B if you are looking for a relaxing breaking the stunning Cotswolds. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieA667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Windy ridge is one of those rare places that will long stay in your memory. The place is situated in a charming costwolds village. The house is so lovely, made out of creamy coloured stone with a variety of creepers covering the walls. The interior has a period feel with lots of wonderful antique furniture, paintings, collectibles etc, truly atmospheric and very homely and comfortable. The beds are the most comfortable I've slept in in such a long time. The owner nick is very friendly and helpful and makes you feel at home, also his boxer dog taxi never fails to capture your attention. Another highlight are the wonderful English breakfasts prepared each morning, so filling! Also the cabinet of alcohol provided for guest use is comprehensive and allows you have something to accompany those tasty Cotswold cheeses on an evening in the living room. The grounds themselves are wonderful for a stroll and well maintained. I can't speak highly enough of this place, if I ever get half an opportunity to return here I will. The only criticism I have is the B&B is very poorly signposted from the road, in fact it's quite tricky to find if you don't have a sat nav and your phone has gone flat (happened to us) but such a trivial matter, if your new to England or a long term resident and looking for a genuine and authentic stay in charming period house in. The countryside, this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaFooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longborough
2.8 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,158 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,116 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
3 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,090 reviews
3.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Ridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Ridge House

Address: Windy Ridge The Crook | Cotswolds, Gloucestershire, Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Longborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longborough
Price Range: £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astonishing! This luxury 5* beautifully and superbly well-crafted family home is set in prize winning gardens where visitors are offered traditional, generously furnished, warm and cozy bedrooms and a pine-paneled drawing room. Outside there's an outdoor summer-heated swimming pool flanked by a folly, tennis court, a snooker/billiard/pool room and a 10 acre arboretum with over 280 species of trees - all for guests enjoyment. It's sumptuous, immaculate and special but still great fun. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windy Ridge House Hotel Longborough
Windy Ridge House Longborough, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing