We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like visiting an old friend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windy Ridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Windy Ridge House
Ranked #1 of 2 Longborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like visiting an old friend!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The gardens and country house are incredibly inviting, a feeling enhanced by the warmth of the host, Nick. The full English breakfast served each morning was monumental in both size and taste. Lovely views of the gardens from the rooms, sitting area and kitchen add to a great experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    30
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
62
94
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights this week. We enjoyed every moment of our stay in this glorious antique filled country house with the most amiable and welcoming host (Nick) I have ever encountered. The house is fun and quirky and very comfortable. Little extras such as the guest kitchen made our stay so easy. The gardens are glorious and as for the arboretum-simply stunning. Breakfasts were good and we had 2 pleasant evening meals at the local pub (less than 5 minutes walk away) and one evening brought food in with us after a long day out visiting local gardens. We were offered the dining room to eat in and throughout our stay were made to feel so "at home". I cannot recommend this gorgeous place more highly. Nick thank you so much for a truly memorable stay and hope the "glamping" wedding is going well!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank labtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We look to find exceptional places to stay on our trips. Windy Ridge is one of the most special places we have stayed over the years. It’s difficult to overstate the excellent qualities of Nick’s b&b. A magazine article mentioned it’s like visiting an old friend in the Cotswalds in an English manor house – absolutely! The house looks like it might have been constructed in the 1800’s but was built in 1951. It has all the charm of old-world atmosphere with convenience and comfort of modern construction. Beautifully designed. Nothing looks worn and everything works. Very fresh and clean. The décor is exquisite and comfortable. We had probably the most desirable room – Desmet – overlooking gardens on both sides. (Note that one of the four rooms four is not en suite).
The breakfast was very nice – with various offerings, including the traditional full English breakfast. My vegetarian wife had many choices. The grounds are immaculate – the gardens were better than the touted Blenheim Palace in my view. Nick couldn’t have been more accommodating – He sets up a “honesty bar” at 6:00pm in one of the several very comfortable dens and chats with guests.
I’ll suggest that this is a good initial destination coming into England – 1½ hours easy drive from Heathrow and immediately gets you into the culture of the English countryside. Car is pretty much a must here.
A big plus is the gastro pub just up the lane – a 5 minute walk to have a nice meal – we were a bit shocked to have that level of cuisine in a country English pub. There are also a number of excellent places nearby if you choose to drive which Nick can recommend and make reservations for you.
All in all, a wonderful experience – we hope to return soon. Thanks Nick!

Room Tip: Desmet is the largest room and has garden views on both sides. One or of the four rooms does not hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foster P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent base for the Cotswold --- friendly greeting and service by Nick and his staff -- gorgeous
character house and grounds -- seriously generous breakfast portions and slimming is not an option ! A definite must for our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: As far as we could ascertain all rooms were excellent -- choose en suite as a preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at Windy Ridge, the rooms are so comfortable and homely and the beds are amazing.
Nick is a great host, very friendly, extremely accommodating and the house itself is beautiful with great surroundings. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wished we'd stayed for 2 nights (which is usually the minimum requirement) breakfast was delightful with lots of fruit, yoghurt, cereal and then a hot choice. I had the full English (a must) and it was huge and definitely set me up for the day.
His lovely little friend Taxi is a delight too.
would definitely return, location is fab too :)

Chloe and Aydin x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Lovely stay at Windy Ridge house. Nick and the staff were great hosts and really accommodating to our 12 week old baby. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful and the common areas really cosy. It was also a brilliant location really near many Cotswolds villages. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMoreiraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at Windy Ridge this weekend just gone. What a gem of a find. A beautiful house, gardens and surroundings. We were made to feel very welcome and at home by Nick the owner and his dog Taxi from the moment we arrived, a lovely friendly host, who went out of his way to help with our stay, meals out and planning our days. Our rooms were elegant and cosy and breakfast was both plentiful and delicious. We had lovely meals out at local pubs/ restaurants which were fantastic and recommended by Nick. Our only negative was that our stay went so quickly, we wanted to stay longer ! Highly recommended a beautiful jewel of The Cotswolds. Thank you Nick

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longborough
2.8 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,788 reviews
2.8 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,095 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
941 reviews
6.7 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
971 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Ridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Ridge House

Property: Windy Ridge House
Address: Windy Ridge The Crook | Cotswolds, Gloucestershire, Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Longborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astonishing! This luxury 5* beautifully and superbly well-crafted family home is set in prize winning gardens where visitors are offered traditional, generously furnished, warm and cozy bedrooms and a pine-paneled drawing room. Outside there's an outdoor summer-heated swimming pool flanked by a folly, tennis court, a snooker/billiard/pool room and a 10 acre arboretum with over 280 species of trees - all for guests enjoyment. It's sumptuous, immaculate and special but still great fun. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windy Ridge House Hotel Longborough
Windy Ridge House Longborough, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing