We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Baker's Cottage - what a little gem!”
other traveller has booked this property
Welcome to Bakers Cottage, in Minchinhampton!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Bakers Cottage, in Minchinhampton!
...with real log burner Unfolding the dining table in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Welcome to Bakers Cottage, in Minchinhampton!
...with real log burner
Unfolding the dining table in the living room
The cottage has a perfect country feel
Heading upstairs, with the archway looking into the living room...
Fabulous quality and design
Bakers Cottage has elegance and style!
The lovely first floor family bathroom
Heading upstairs to the top floor...
The dreamy, characterful top floor room, with king size bed - a perfect choice for couples
Bakers Cottage has many lovely character features...
Elegant, cottage style
The rooftops of Minchinhampton, a classic Cotswold village
A small, but lovely piece of the countryside!
Take a seat, and relax...
The wood store!
Garden features
Bakers Cottage is the perfect Cotswold escape
The old market square
Historic features
The central war memorial
The impressive local church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Minchinhampton, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Pamela S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Baker's Cottage - what a little gem!”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in this delightful cottage with our 2 boys. We all loved it, it has such a warm, homely feel. It is quite small for a family of 4 but it's charm more than makes up for this. It's location is also great - close to shops/cafes and playing field. The owner has great taste and has made the most of her gem of a cottage. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LightPack...
1 review
“A great way to spend our Christmas week in cosy Baker's Cottage.”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had such a lovely week in Baker's Cottage, and wished we could have stayed longer. It was so nice to walk into a warm cottage after our journey and find that Sophie had left a Christmas hamper for our stay and wood for the fire. A nice surprise. Exploring the cottage was the first thing we did, and was delighted with the good taste in furnishings. Baker's Cottage was far nicer than the photos on the website, which didn't do it justice. Sophie must have stayed here herself, as we couldn't think of anything that was missing! Christmas dinner was a success and the chicken bought from the local butcher down the street.
We found no problems with parking just up the road a bit, sometimes closer, sometimes not and enjoyed the walk. We had a lovely meal at The Ragged Cot and explored Nailsworth, Cirencester and other villages in the area. We would love to stay at Baker's Cottage again and would recommend to anyone visiting the Cotswolds.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie W
1 review
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Bakers Cottage offered everything our small group of three girls was looking for: a comfortable and very charming small cottage with a wood burning stove in the Cotswolds countryside where we could spend our time with reading, watching movies and strolling through the countryside. Bakers Cottage is so beautifully furnished and decorated into detail and gave us such a welcoming feeling that it made it difficult for us to leave its cosy stone walls. Neverthess, it is advisable to take advantage of the proximity to Bath, to explore the countryside and to have afternoon tea at The Kitchen in the centre of Minchinhampton where delicious homemade cakes are served. The people of Minchinhampton were lovely, we were even invited to a Christmas carol concert in the local church.
Visiting by car, Bakers Cottage is the perfect location for a quite getaway without being too far away from amenities. We hope to come back one time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable compact cottage in excellent location for exploring the South Cotswolds”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bakers Cottage is a warm and welcoming place in the heart of the charming village of Minchinhampton. It is exactly as described on the website - compact but comfortable and well equipped. The kitchen has a supply of basic food ingredients - tea, coffee, salt, oil, herbs etc. - and there was milk in the fridge ready for our arrival, as well as mince pies! The only drawback is the lack of parking immediately adjacent to the cottage, but there is plenty of space 100 yards up the road. We had a lovely time and would happily return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamanthaJ...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming cottage but a few location issues”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I'll start with the positive points... Bakers Cottage is utterly charming, tastefully furnished and comfortable. You have everything you need from crockery to cooking utensils, and a wonderful log fire.

The only issue we had was not the property itself but the location. On our first night there was a very loud house party only a few doors away where loud music went on until 1am and then intermittently until 3am. Right up to 4am we heard cars coming and going to the party with loud music which kept us awake. But what made it worse is that someone tried to open the front door late on Saturday night, thankfully it was locked.

While this is not a problem with the house, I think it's worth keeping in mind that you're in a town and may not have the idyllic rural quietness that is often assumed in the Cotswolds.

We are in our twenties and don't mind a party going on but there was a complete lack of respect from whoever was hosting it. Coming from a city, that would not be accepted on our residential street. Nonetheless, sticking to week nights could probably avoid this issue entirely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2016
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owner of Bakers Cottage: "Thank you so much for your lovely comments about Bakers Cottage, it is very important to me. I spend a lot of time making sure it's as homely, clean and welcoming as possible. This is my livelihood and I take it very seriously. I am so glad you appreciated it and thank you for leaving it as you found it.

I am completely shocked and gobsmacked about your unfortunate experience. I cannot control what happens outside of my cottage but, having lived in Bakers Cottage for over ten years I have never experienced such a thing. Minchinhampton, even though classed as a town, is a very small one and one certainly described locally as an idyllically quiet one. This is very unusual and I am sure the older neighbours who have lived in their homes for over 20 years, and are very respectful, would also have been shocked and unhappy!

I am saddened that you experienced this very rare occurrence and would like to reassure you Minchinhampton is certainly neither a party place nor a rowdy place by any stretch of the imagination. I hope you may return one day and experience the lovely tranquil, Cotswold experience where cows and horses roam free and people are very hospitable and normally show old fashioned family values.

Thank you again for your feedback. Best wishes Sophie""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britexplo...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Characterful cosy cottage”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bakers Cottage is a lovely little retreat away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Sitting in the bedroom window seat reading with the sun streaming in overlooking the lovely flowers across the street was very relaxing. A well equipped and very clean cottage close to the centre of Minchinhampton. It is compact, which for the two of us was fine, four adults would definitely need to get along though. The village of Minchinhampton is tiny and quiet but has some interesting features and is well worth an explore. The Woeful Dane deli cheese and ice cream were excellent and hopefully the local pub will reopen soon too. The church can be seen from the garden and has a very unusual mixed spire and tower construction. Reportedly this was either done to beat a rival village in completion of construction or due to the initial angle of the spire being too narrow for safety. The common is a short walk, avoiding the cow pats, and well worth it on a sunny afternoon for the lovely view and sunset. A little larger but still with a nice village feel then Tetbury and Painswick are only a short drive away. Bakers Cottage makes a good base to explore the Southern Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint character
Liked least: Parking is a little remote from the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benco2016
Meerlo, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and attractive cottage in lovely, quiet Cotswolds village”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay very much. Its modest size gives the cottage its character and it has a warm atmosphere. Staying here with 2 adults and 2 teenagers (good wifi!) was not a problem at all. We had lovey walks in and around the picturesque village and across the common; Great to walk among the roaming cattle.
Picture perfect. Would love to return here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing