We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserving its excellent reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burleigh Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minchinhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Deserving its excellent reviews”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A very comfortable hotel with first-class service. All staff are friendly and helpful and ensure an easy and relaxed ambiance. Our room had a lovely view across the valley and gardens (which are extremely well tended), and the bathroom was very well appointed. The traditional breakfast was amongst the best we have had at any hotel, and the restaurant evening meals were equally excellent. The bar meals were good too. It's a fifteen minute walk into Minchinhampton (visit the organic dairy in the village centre and sample the fantastic local farm cheeses), and you can wander amongst the cattle on the common (and sometimes down the streets) with ease. The final approach to the hotel could be better signposted. We weren't the only people staying there who had had to ask our way when we were within 500m of the entrance. However, there was no disappointment after arrival. It lived up to its reviews.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jubileepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    49
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
121
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel was an absolute delight to stay in.
The grounds, rooms, staff, food, location were all the best. Everything was of the finest quality and it is obviously owned by someone who is well aware and used to the finer things in life.
Highly recommend to anyone that appreciates the English country lifestyle at it's best.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was our fourth stay at the Burleigh Court and each one has been great. Stayed for two nights. Staff are very helpful. The food is fantastic (this is what initially attracted us to the hotel). A well deserved AA 2 Rosette dining experience. The location is really good with fantastic views from the hotel which has seating outside to take advantage of the views. Lovely to just sit and relax outside with a drink on a warm evening. If you enjoy walking there are some good walks around the area and the hotel has maps for your use. Will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smarden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We came to Burleigh Court for the weekend because we were attending a wedding in a nearby town. What struck us most forcefully was the contrast between the service offered at Burleigh Court and the way we were treated at the wedding venue. The staff at the wedding venue were offhand, sullen, careless. Guests at the reception were repeatedly asked to move on, get out of the way so that tables could be set up, drinks laid out..The person sitting next to me at dinner had more wine poured on the tablecloth than into her glass; nobody came to mop up. And so on. So bad, it was funny - but then I wasn't the father of the bride coughing up for this treatment.

Whereas at Burleigh Court the manager deserves great credit for building an excellent team: they all were all knowledgeable and keen to go the extra mile to help us, without being intrusive or over-familiar.

We stayed in a Superior Twin (Room Number Two). It was spacious, comfortable and with a pleasing outlook onto the rear garden. The bathroom was very large and had the advantage of a separate washbasin at each end.

The reception rooms, bar area and dining rooms are airy and well furnished. The food was excellent and the restaurant service very smooth. Although we stayed for two nights we only had dinner at Burleigh Court on the first evening because we were away at the wedding event on the second. Dinner starters are around £10 and main courses about £20. There were concessions on these prices if one had dinner on more than one night. Our rate £170 a night for two nights' bed and breakfast was very good value for what was on offer.

The grounds of the hotel are charming, with plenty of outside seating for good weather. High marks also for the cleanliness and state of repair of the place.

All in all, like staying in a friend's very well kept country house. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandDianeSmarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My darter and I travelled to Minchinhampton to see Giffords Circus, which is a must must do! This lovely b and b provided a wonderful experience outside of the big hotel in London. The gardens are spectacular. We had the best tea experience here on our entire trip. The breakfast is smashing. Our room was small but impeccable wanting for nothing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jschmidlapp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were looking for a country hotel for our visit to Highgrove and this had good reviews on trip adviser. We were not disappointed as I thought the whole hotel experience was excellent. We had room 5 on the first floor, a corner room overlooking the fantastic view at the front. The room was large with an enormous bed, bigger than our king size at home.
We had perfect weather, unusual for a trip in England, and we sat outside to admire the view as soon as we arrived. The gardens at the rear of the hotel are just as good as the front, again with plenty of seating areas. You can have a meal from the bar menu or a proper sit down meal in the restaurant. We opted for a bar meal, about £10, half the price of a restaurant meal but we could have eaten the bar meal in the restaurant had we wanted. A couple of G&Ts were £11 and a pint was £4.25, but I thought the hotel was worth it and I would recommend it to friends.
It's quite, out of the way and has 18 bedrooms I think, so quite small. Some rooms are in the adjoining coach house. There is a Victorian plunge pool, which is not a swimming pool as we would know it, if a pool is important to you then perhaps this is not the hotel for you. If you want undisturbed peace and quiet, with a touch of luxury thrown in then go for it.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a fantastic view over Golden vally
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We went to Burleigh Court for a long birthday weekend and once again it hit the spot. I can't fault this little oasis of peace, perfect peace, near Minchinhampton in the lovely Cotswolds. The view from the hotel is beautiful and being slightly "off the beaten track" is SO quiet. Mm-hm. The accommodation is spotless, the staff couldn't be more courteous and the food is fabulous - and no ghastly muzak! Perfect! Long may it last...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minchinhampton
0.9 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
639 reviews
1.6 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,231 reviews
9.3 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
738 reviews
4.6 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Court Hotel

Property: Burleigh Court Hotel
Address: Burleigh, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL5 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minchinhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Burleigh Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Burleigh Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burleigh Court Minchinhampton
Burleigh Court Hotel Minchinhampton, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing