We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at Burleigh Court”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burleigh Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minchinhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel has a marvellous position with beautiful views over the Stroud valleys. Service was good & there was a good selection for all courses. staff were happy to adapt dishes to accommodate individual's preferences. Staff are knowledgeable about the menu & the wine list. Also about the surrounding area, walk, attractions etc. we weren't residents but will be back to stay before long!

Room Tip: We weren't residents but the ladies was on the first floor & the views were even more beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

For a hotel with only an official 3 star rating, it exceeded every expectation. Wonderfully attentive staff, a view that I challenge anyone to grow tired of, comfortable accommodation dressed in a traditional country house style, exceptional food, couldn't recommend highly enough. We stayed in a coach house suite which was excellent, didn't get to see any of the rooms in the main hotel but nothing to suggest that readers shouldn't trust the other excellent reviews of these rooms. Yes the prices are a bit of a premium for the area but you really do get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Superlative failure here I am afraid. Just excellent. Small boutique hotel with attentive staff prepared to see to our every need. The small number of rooms and large number of staff relative to guest number means speedy and efficient service. Beautiful gardens and fabulous rooms. Stayed here for my brothers wedding in Nailsworth, and the location is perfect for anyone wanting to see Cheltenham, Gloucester or the Cotswolds! 6 star review. Quite expensive, but you get what you pay for. Well done guys!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Will-Rym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were particularly impressed with the efficient and friendly staff and generally high standards. There were very nice views from our room and the terrace. The food was generally very good (although if we had been staying for more than these four nights we would have preferred a little more choice on the dinner menu).
As others have said the hotel is a little tricky to find - use the directions supplied as the sat nav struggled! In particular be careful of the dangerous junction at the bottom of the hill if you turn left out of the hotel towards Stroud!
All in all this is a very good hotel and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11. It was very comfortable with a good view as it was on the second floor. If we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HowardP279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Follow the hotel instructions to actually find the hotel which is difficult to find, however really worthwhile when you arrive and see the location.

A charming hotel set in lovely gardens with amazing views over the valley. The rooms were well equipped, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace just looking at the views. The food was very good too. The rooms at the front of the hotel have fabulous valley views, the rear rooms overlook the garden and back terrace.

If you are looking for a relaxing stay,with excellent service, somewhere completely off the beaten track you will enjoy Burleigh Court Hotel. We did........

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkLady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel can be a little difficult to find as local roads are not well signposted but they sent detailed instructions with our confirmation that helped enormously. Location is high up on a hill with front facing rooms having an excellent view across the front garden and the valley beyond towards Stroud. Rear rooms have a view over a nice garden.

There is no reception desk, so it’s like entering a country house and the welcome and service matches this. Although we didn’t ask, our bags were taken up to our room (there is no lift) on the second floor. Our superior room was a decent size, two opening windows, large old fashioned wardrobe & dressing table, decent bathroom with bathrobes, very comfortable bed & pillows. Bottled water, tea & coffee was provided daily and on arrival there was a small decanter of sherry waiting (enough for a pre-dinner drink every day) – great idea! There is free internet access in the main hotel, although this was occasionally a bit iffy in our room because of the stone walls – not a problem however.

The food at dinner is extremely good. We had pork loin from nearby Gatcombe Park, sea bass, local venison and very good free-range chicken. All food is cooked fresh to order and beautifully presented. The sweets are outstanding! It was noticeable that other guests felt the same, with one calling the chef out to compliment him – amazingly we found that he was (just) the assistant chef, so what the food’s like when the main chef is there is anyone’s guess.

The service throughout is absolutely top quality, understated but efficient, with nothing being too much trouble and throughout we felt very comfortable and well-looked after. There is undoubtedly an old-fashioned country house atmosphere throughout, enhanced by dinner orders being taken in the bar, where coffee is served afterwards (unless there is good weather when you can take it outside in the garden) and this encourages socialising with other guests.

Plus points: location, service, food, rooms. Minus points: none at all. Overall: brilliant stay, wonderful time. Very, very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MK13AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Quiet country Inn offering excellent service, accommodation and food. Perfect country setting, and quaint ambience, Burleigh Court is what you imagine a traditional English Inn to be. A bit difficult to find, but then, isn't that the whole idea? Tucked away on the top of a hill with gorgeous views and gardens, this location was exactly what we were looking for. The common areas were especially welcoming and comfortable. The food was excellent, service a bit slow, but servers were quite pleasant. The rooms were not up to the same standard as the common areas but still very comfortable. We had a large bedroom with comfortable king size bed and view of back gardens. Bathroom was tiny and difficult to maneuver around. We were on top floor with no lift so stairs were in order. Not a major inconvenience except for carrying luggage. Despite stairs, would recommend top floor. Being a very old Inn, the floors were uneven and squeaked whenever we walked. Didn't bother us, but would not have wanted a room directly below. Oh, and watch your head when entering rooms if over 5'10". Overall very charming and authentic, just what we wanted. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor despite walk up stairs. Avoid creaking floors underneath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minchinhampton
0.9 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
4.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
709 reviews
16.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
424 reviews
12.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
322 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh Court Hotel

Address: Burleigh, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL5 2PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Minchinhampton
Price Range: £113 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Burleigh Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Burleigh Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burleigh Court Minchinhampton
Burleigh Court Hotel Minchinhampton, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing