We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday roast”
Review of The Ragged Cot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ragged Cot Inn
Uxbridge
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Sunday roast”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Went for a roast last Sunday, both us and our dogs main welcome. I had beef and my wife had turkey - exceptional food, lovely staff, good wines and a great owner. Well done all! We will be back there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UxbridgeJmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    95
    54
    23
    16
See reviews for
49
153
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

After a long drive we were delighted to receive a warm welcome and be shown to a compact, but good room.
For once this is a place with 'aged' fittings that are solid and with an air of authenticity, very comfortable bed with simple but lovely linen, it doesn't feel like it has been done on the cheap and hats off to the team for that.
Food was good, drinks included interesting beers and well priced wines, surrondings are pretty.
Room was crazy hot, so I'd recommend knocking back the rads straight away.
Give it a try, you'll be delighted if you like good honest hospitality and teh outdoors.

Room Tip: We saw two, both similar, just grab the coolest (no baths that we saw, shame, but good showers).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lord-tregiffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

have stayed a number of times, Stuart the owner was very welcoming. The food was excellent and the great way our room was dressed was interesting. Fiona, my dearly beloved loved the quality of the sheets, I as a man loved the range of beers and the interesting range of industrial furniture which he bought locally, this is a bit of a gem that only gets better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We revisited this wonderful Inn in October and were delighted to find the same charm and high standards intact. From the beautiful room with modern en suite bathroom to the super restaurant serving up the best of British Fare at breakfast and dinner time. Set in an idyllic part of the countryside one can enjoy country walks or investigate the nearby enchanting old towns of Nailsworth, Tetbury and Minchinhampton featuring boutique butchers, bakers, clothing and Cade's. Beautifully British!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed one night in ground floor room which was very stylish and cosy. Beautiful bathroom and the best power shower ever!
My friend and I booked a table for dinner in the busy restaurant and had a tasty feast followed by a sound nights sleep interrupted a tad by some noise from the room above.
All in all I loved this very comfortable and unexpectedly hip hotel tucked away in the Cotswold.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We asked a local about decent pubs for food on a trip away. We arrived at the Rag Cot Inn at 14.50 and then waited for the bar tender to finish his conversation with a drinker at the bar. When we were served we asked whether food was still available ...it was now 14.57 and we were told we were too late! I explained we were starving and would settle for a baguette or something easy ...there was no budging though and we were told no. But could have some crisps from the bar?
We had ordered a drink so sat outside and whilst waiting some girls arrived and sat nearby. ..then we spotted a waitress coming out with sandwiches and chips for them. I complained and reluctantly they agreed to give us sone chips. All the staff we encountered were miserable and unhelpful.
We were looking forward to this place as it looked classy from the outside and had a lot of potential.
Recommend sacking the entire staff and perhaps ghe reviews may improve !!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank tblincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this very stylish, warm and welcoming hotel. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and their customer service was excellant. We recommend to book for a meal at the restaurant, food delicious. Chef excellant Book early this place is very popular and gets really busy.The 2 lovely nights we were at the Inn, the bar and restaurant were very busy but do not worry the rooms are well situated away from any noise of the hustle and bustle of the bar and restaurant. Rooms are lovely, clean and tidy- you wont be disappointed. Situated in a great setting and if you play golf its only 5 mins drive from Minchinhampton golf course.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADVENTURERS021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minchinhampton
6.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
681 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
1.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
12.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
230 reviews
7.1 mi away
Travelodge Stonehouse
Travelodge Stonehouse
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ragged Cot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ragged Cot Inn

Property: The Ragged Cot Inn
Address: Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL6 8PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Minchinhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ragged Cot Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 AA GOLD STAR 17TH CENTURY COACHING INN ,OFFERING 9 EN SUITE CONTEMPORARY BEDROOMS , RESTAURANT OPEN 7 DAYS ,LARGE CAR PARK AND PRIVATE GARDENS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ragged Cot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Cot Hotel Minchinhampton
The Ragged Cot Inn Minchinhampton, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing