We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely country inn with a great breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ragged Cot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ragged Cot Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely country inn with a great breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend while visiting the area for a family wedding. Our room (#8) was modern, clean and well equipped with tea, coffee, hair dryer, nice toiletries etc. The outdoor seating areas and garden are also lovely and a great place to sit to enjoy a drink in the evening. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was great. A good choice of yoghurt, fruit, cereal, toast and cooked options with plenty of tea and coffee. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casper1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raggedcot1, Manager at The Ragged Cot Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Thank you for such great feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    87
    46
    20
    15
See reviews for
48
132
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have just stayed the night with elderly grandparents and it was perfect in every way. Excellent food, fantastic rooms and friendly locals. However, the most impressive part is the staff. The manner in which the grandparents were treated was a lesson to every establishment around. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble and despite the fact the place was packed with diners, they allowed us to take our time and dealt effortlessly with fussy requests! The landlord even made the effort to come for a chat with them despite being extremely busy. We are extremely grateful for the treatment we received and cannot recommend the Ragged Cot highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knobjunior1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raggedcot1, Manager at The Ragged Cot Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Hello and thank you for such amazing feedback. I agree that our staff are a credit to us. We would love to welcome you all back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is the first review I've ever written. Normally I write in the Compliments Book. However, as there wasn't one - I had to write to thank everyone at The Ragged Cot for a wonderful stay thisFriday and Saturday.
We were visiting relatives in Gloucester and they recommended The Ragged Cot to us. It is actually our second stay.
The staff were polite and friendly and we were welcomed personally by the Manager, Stuart Hanson. Our room was spotless and comfortable. We had an evening meal ( generous portions) and breakfast. The food is of a very high standard and the wine was very good.
Thank you to everyone including Shelly and Antony and all the waiting and reception staff - wonderful service and great atmosphere. Oh and of course the Chef!
10/10.
We'll be back.
The Finucane's ( London )

Room Tip: We were in Room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for one night, the rooms are very modern and comfortable with great facilities that you would expect (TV, tea & coffee etc). The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend a stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gali_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

A very friendly and comfortable place to stay. We did not have our dog with us but is dog friendly. Certainly a good centre for exploring this part of the Cotswold's.

Restaurant was good but is closed on a Sunday evening during the "winter months".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank graham646464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Dined here with the family. The welcome wasn't actually very welcoming, but we took our place in the restaurant for our evening meal hoping for better. The waitress wasn't much better to be honest.
The food was mixed. Fish tasted fresh and was tasty, the sirloin juicy and well cooked. But the burger was over cooked. Ignore the menu on the website - it's nothing like the menu in the restaurant. It says "sample" on the website, but how hard is it to put your current menu on-line?

For 4 people, it came to £120 with wine, which is on the pricey side for the service and the inconsistent food. This could be a great place with better staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchFriedMustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idar-Oberstein, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have stayed at The Ragged Cot a few times and love that little country side hotel. Although situated at a main road, it is a very quite and relaxed place. The rooms are cosy and clean. The only thing that bothered us a little was the loud ventilator in the bath room which turns on and off automatically.
The bar is great with lots of local people and the food is really good. The young staff is very, very friendly and helpful.
A place to enjoy.

Room Tip: If possible take a room on the first floor. On the ground floor you hear the people walking above yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamonds53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minchinhampton
2.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
1.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
6.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stroud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ragged Cot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ragged Cot Inn

Property: The Ragged Cot Inn
Address: Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL6 8PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Minchinhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ragged Cot Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 AA GOLD STAR 17TH CENTURY COACHING INN ,OFFERING 9 EN SUITE CONTEMPORARY BEDROOMS , RESTAURANT OPEN 7 DAYS ,LARGE CAR PARK AND PRIVATE GARDENS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ragged Cot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Cot Hotel Minchinhampton
The Ragged Cot Inn Minchinhampton, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing