We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Luxury combined with rural charm - highly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Cotswold Cottage, Rodborough Common, Gloucestershire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cotswold Cottage, Rodborough Common, Gloucestershire
Stunning Rodborough Common 5 minutes walk, cows included :) Cottage is part of the hill, but the floors are all flat....Promise!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
12 reviews
Cotswold Cottage, Rodborough Common, Gloucestershire
Stunning Rodborough Common 5 minutes walk, cows included :)
Cottage is part of the hill, but the floors are all flat....Promise!
View from bedroom 3 into Rodborough village and over valley
Pretty side courtyard area with seating and BBQ
5 minutes walk from the front door
Sunset from The Lodge pub & resturant, 2.5 miles from the house
Rodborough Common, a 5 minute walk from your front door!
Famous Hobbs house bakery a short drive over the common (the cook book is in the kitchen)
Small Court yard garden with Gas BBQ
King Size room with TV/DVD and Smart channels
Modern kitchen, wood work surface with Smeg appliances, D/washer, induction hobb, W/Machine, Dryer
Kitchen, wood work surface with Smeg appliances, D/washer, induction hobb, W/Machine, Dryer
Twin room with TV and DVD
Homely Sitting room with wood burner TV/DVD and on demand TV Wifi
Homely Sitting room with wood burner TV/DVD and on demand TV Wifi
Homely Sitting room with wood burner TV/DVD and on demand TV Wifi
Modern kitchen, wood work surface with Smeg appliances, D/washer, induction hobb, W/Machine,
Small bathroom
Snug area
Middle landing
Top landing
King Size bed with small shower room
Small shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Minchinhampton, Stroud, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olly K
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury combined with rural charm - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

If you're looking to stay somewhere in the English countryside this holiday let is probably unbeatable. The owners have furnished the house to an incredibly high specification. Everything feels like it's five star quality: the tasteful decoration throughout the property combines lovely rustic furnishings and period features with the ultra modern (the 50 inch smart TV and the SMEG fridge freezer for example); to the incredibly comfy mattresses in all of the rooms which make for an unbelievable night's sleep. There were just two of us on our stay, but with two shower rooms and two toilets the house is well equipped for larger groups and the kitchen would be a good size for cooking for a larger group too. In fact for those planning to whip up a meal during their stay there's everything here you need. From the new hob and cooker to brand new (good quality) utensils for every possible culinary need, plus a microwave and dishwasher to make life that much easier. The owner also kindly left us a hamper with some eggs, wine, coffee and other goodies for when we arrived which was a nice touch. We made good use of the Nespresso coffee machine (which included lots of pods) which was particularly helpful the morning after a night at the Price Albert (a nice local pub a few doors down the road). The location is also very good - it's a 15 minute walk down into the centre of Stroud where we visited a bustling saturday market - whilst in the other direction a five minute walk takes you up a ridge with some stunning views across the Cotswalds. We definitely plan to come back. Huge thanks for a really fantastic stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything - it really was brilliantly presented, incredible location and everything was very high quality.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boastiesh...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous week..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

"We had a fabulous week in The Cotswolds with your great house adding to the perfect week. We really enjoyed being able to walk on the common so easily and when we discovered The Bear Hotel we had even more reason to enjoy the lovely area. Great food and a good stop for a glass of wine! We even meandered from there down through a little village to the bike path to Nailsworth and met friends for lunch there. The weather was gorgeous and we managed to see all our family in the area too, so all in all it was a very successful week. It was lovely arriving at your house and finding it so well equipped plus the food you'd thoughtfully left us."

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amyrebecc...
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for a weekend at the end of November for a Christmas getaway in a group of 6 friends. The cottage is really lovely and quaint, decorated very tastefully and is immediately welcoming and cosy. The cottage comfortably slept six and the kitchen is more than well equipped. Planning to cook a full Christmas dinner and desert we came armed with cooking dishes, mixing bowls, scales, measuring jugs- the lot. None of it was needed as the owners have ensured you have everything you need and more. Plenty of wine glasses, mugs, plates, bowls, etc. are also provided and even a dishwasher to make sure you're not spending your break cleaning up!

The location is great, we went for a lovely walk in the surrounding area. Unfortunately didn't make it over the road to the pub as we'd bought too much food and drink ourselves but it looked very nice.

Rebecca, the owner, was nothing but friendly and helpful throughout the booking and afterwards, even offering to post a pair of socks we'd left behind!

For a group of six this was outstanding value and we all hope to visit again in the coming years.

I would recommend this place without hesitation to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. Thanks Rebecca for a wonderful stay!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: How homely the decor was
Liked least: A bit of a squash in the living room and dining areas for six
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroudfam...
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage close to great amenities and beautiful common”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We were greeted with wine and brownies and made to feel very welcome. The cottage is warm and well presented with a cosy homely feel. Over our stay we had several adults and small children in and out and we all had space to chat, play or take a quiet break. It was great being just off the beautiful common and having two swing parks within 5 mins walk. The grown ups had a wonderful Saturday night in front of the fire in the local pub also 5 min away. The local cider and live folk music went down a treat. Be aware that period cottages like this have quirky features like low beams so watch your head in the top rooms. Pedestrian access from the road has been well managed with limited pavement space and there was no noise from cars.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLEA99
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family break for us and our two little ones!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a great time at this gorgeous little cottage. We had everything we needed for the two little ones (stairgate and pull out beds supplied and even a duck for their bath!) and really enjoyed walking up onto the common for blackberry picking and icecreams! Lovely pubs nearby and a great base for exploring surrounding villages and nice to be able to light the woodburner in the evenings too!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
460wendy
herefordshire
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous, well equipped accommodation, the cottage had everything we needed, exceptionally clean, tastefully decorated and in a wonderful setting. A short distance away from the pretty Cotswold villages.
We would recommend it and hope to visit again.

5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$162
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing