We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Normandy Break”
Review of Le Jardin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Jardin
Reviewed 15 October 2012

During the second week of October, I was fortunate enough to be able to take a short break over in France and, through a friend's recommendation, chose Le Jardin, near the small town of Vezins, on the Normandy-Brittany border. Le Jardin is a conveniently short (40 mile, 55 minutes) drive from the ferry port at St. Malo and is a pleasant journey, on lightly-traficked roads.

On arrival, I was greeted by my friendly host and hostess, Steve and Dawn Hill, and shown into a delightful, traditional French farmhouse, with comfortable living area which included a wonderful wood-burning stove as its focal point, a great asset in the cool autumn evenings.

My bedroom was on the first floor, light and airy and tastefully furnished and decorated. The double bed was extremely comfortable and I enjoyed some wonderful nights' sleep. In the mornings, I was served a good continental breakfast of juice, cereal, fresh croissant, fruit and coffee at the large farmhouse dining table, situated in its own area adjoining the living room.

The location of Le Jardin is idyllic, situated as it is, in the heart of the Normandy countryside. Walking in the extensive garden it was, at times, impossible to hear a man-made noise, a treat indeed, after the overcrowded conditions in so many parts of the UK.

Despite its tranquil spot, however, Le Jardin is well-situated for days out and visiting local places of interest, notably, the Mont St Michel (which, on a clear day, is visible from the garden), with its huge abbey church perched high above. Another enjoyable visit (even if it did rain all day!), was to Dinan, a picturesque old town on the River Rance, with lovely old buildings and a large number of excellent eateries!

If one doesn't wish to drive, it is possible to walk out of Le Jardin and down the lane, for a pleasant round walk of about an hour, through the surrounding countryside, taking in the Lac de Vezins, a 19-km long, man-made lake with dam, created in the 1930s for hydro-electric power generation.

The nearest town of any size, is Ducey, about 7 km (4 miles) away, which boasts a spectacular chateau with immaculately kept grounds, as well as a number of pleasant little bars and restaurants. It also has a weekly market on Tuesdays which is worth a visit, though the Wednesday market at St Hilaire, a few miles further away in the opposite direction, is a must for lovers of traditional French foods and ambience. You can even buy a crate of live chickens or ducks for the farm, if you so wish.

All in all then, I thoroughly enjoyed my time in and around Le Jardin and would highly recommend it for other prospective travellers to this part of France.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanMackenzie400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

Although we live in Normandy ourselves we had reason to stay close to the Britanny border this week and chose Le Jardin at Vezins. I'm so glad that we did and am amazed to see that I am the first to review this lovely little gem. We stayed in the cottage which is rented as a gite in high summer but as B&B accommodation in the spring and autumn. This meant that we had the equivalent of a large suite for the price of a double bedroom!

The cottage has been beautifully renovated by Steve, the owner, and we had a lovely lounge area, double bedroom and bathroom to ourselves. Dawn left us a lovely breakfast on the dining table when we came down in the morning and we had facilities to make our own tea and coffee whenever we wanted and with a proper kitchen available to us we could have catered for ourselves as well if we had so wished. The lounge had two lovely comfortable sofas and charming exposed stone walls. The bathroom had a lovely jacuzzi bath and separate shower cubicle and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

When looking for a good B&B I am looking for exactly that, a decent BED and an appetizing BREAKFAST at value for money. Steve and Dawn excelled in all three of my criteria. This is their first year in the B&B market and having my own B&B in Normandy I shall have to watch out as it won't be long before this couple are snapping at my heels as serious competition.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYLVIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank miminedonibane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Veronique03210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeJardin_Vezins, Owner at Le Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeJardin_Vezins, Owner at Le Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin

Address: Vezins, 50540 Isigny-le-Buat, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Isigny-le-Buat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Isigny-le-Buat
Price Range: £56 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entire Place. Bed & Breakfast in rural setting. The ideal location to visit le Mont Saint Michel, 25 minutes by car, and with easy access to the main A84 bringing the Normandy beaches and Bayeux within easy reach. Recently renovated with all ammenities. Open plan Kitchen includes Fridge/Freezer, dishwasher, range style gas cooker, microwave. FreeSat television, French, English and German. DVD Player. Free WiFi. Large double bedded room and space for cot. Second bedroom with two single beds.Bathroom with Spa Bath, Separate Shower, Toilet and wash basin, Hairdryer.Large garden with outdoor shared Swimming Pool(available June to September). Off street parking .A substantial breakfast of fresh orange juice, Croissants & Breads, Home Made Jams, Cereals, Yoghurt and a choice of tea, coffee or chocolate, will be served in the property or on the patio (weather permitting.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Le Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing