We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Terrasse
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!!”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We came upon this lovely (it cannot really only be 2-star) hotel completely by chance and will, undoubtedly, return for more visits. The most cordial welcome from the owner and his staff began what was to become a really enjoyable stay in this quiet, well-run and well-staffed hotel. We chose 'demi-pension' and the food that was provided - and the choice of it - was of an excellent quality and served to us by an attentive (but not overpowering) staff. Free Internet access was provided and again it was adequately 'fast' in operation. Our room was a 'sea-view' on the top floor with a beautifully equipped en-suite, desk and chairs, and a tv. It could be argued that the room was 'on the small side' but it was more than adequate for our stay. We cannot understand the few poor reviews that we have seen on the Internet - do not let these put you off at all. Ian and Den Watson: England

Room Tip: The sea-view is worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    70
    40
    35
    22
See reviews for
42
126
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Came here with 3 friends for lunch. The fruits de la mer platter was lovely and the staff were really friendly. However, it was a lovely sunny day and we were disappointed that despite outdoor seating we had to sit indoors and look out through the windows.

We recommend a little walk down to the cliff to walk off the food- it's a really lovely view.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Varengeville -sur-Mer is a beautiful area well worth a visit. Gorgeous scenery, lovely village, dramatic coastal views. Unfortunately, there are not a lot of options in the area for overnight stays, and while the view from our room was pretty with its' vista of sea and stars, the overall property is mediocre. The exterior of the building looks quite charming, however, upon entering the lobby reception area, there was a very strong odor of fish emanating from the kitchen of the restaurant, which is also in the hotel. Our room on the second floor, was fairly basic, and while that isn't necessarily a negative, it could have been cleaner and better maintained (old discarded water bottle found in the corner of the room, broken toilet seat). We had dinner in the restaurant. The service was friendly, helpful, and responsive, and the meal was OK. The best part about the place is the walk down the hill to La Mer, with its' dramatic high cliffs and boulder-strewn beach. Try to catch the sunset! It offsets the drawbacks of the accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gopants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varengeville-sur-Mer hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We have been visiting this hotel since 1987. It used to be in the Logis de France which describes its level and the fact that they are usually fully booked without paying to be in the Logis any more says it all. If you want all 2010 mod cons and 5 star luxury this will not suit. The hotel is old , sweetly and simply furnished with basic modern amenities including wi-fi (not 100% reliable )fairly new en-suites. We have always found it clean and comfortable . I do not expect more for the 62e price we paid for our room with sea view. The food is up a star or too and very reliable, sometimes with a less formal style. The owners are curteous and polite, may be reserved on first meeting but warm up easily when not snowed under with customers.
Local walks and car tours are a delight.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This is a wonderfully French small country hotel, that lives up to all expectations. Hidden away down a country lane with magnificent view over the sea, very quiet, superb food, with a strong seafood bias. The no frills rooms are simple but spotless and comfortable. The owners very efficient and welcoming.

The rooms have recently been redecorated and new bathrooms fitted, (not all rooms have both bath and shower), but the towels have probably served their time.

It makes a short week end trip to the area an annual excursion which we all greatly enjoy as do the friends who come with us. We have returned for at least the past ten years.

The value of both accommodation and food is excellent. We will be returning again and have told many friends about this little hidden gem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and it never fails to delight us. Although the rooms are basic, the views are wonderful and the atmosphere is very French. It has been in the same family since it was built and the old photo albums are fascinating. The village has a marvellous patisserie/boulangerie, a beautiful ancient church overlooking the sea, a Lutyens manor house and gardens and the also the world collection of hydrangeas!

Room Tip: Ask for seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverside11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
416 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Some winding roads through foliage, unexpected near the sea, help you reach La Terasse. Overlooking the cliffs towards the Channel/La Manche, it has indeed a nice terasse. Lobby and staff are inviting. Small but cosy rooms all with different furniture and outlook. Do not expect television or internet, this a place to rest and relax. The restaurant has a variable and large menu of choice, not to mention the wines. Good service and even better food. And a view towards the setting sun.

Room Tip: Arrive early or reserve, best rooms go quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varengeville-sur-Mer
4.9 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
271 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
4.7 mi away
Kyriad Dieppe
Kyriad Dieppe
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Dieppe
B&B Hotel Dieppe
#3 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
106 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel du Casino
Hotel du Casino
#1 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Grandes Masures
Les Grandes Masures
#4 of 4 in Varengeville-sur-Mer
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Terrasse

Property: Hotel de la Terrasse
Address: Route de Vasterival, 76119 Varengeville-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Varengeville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varengeville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Terrasse 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing