We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice find.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Terrasse
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We stumbled on this nice little hotel by accident, and we're glad we did. It's not the biggest or the fanciest, but the employees were friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was very good, and the rooms were clean and comfortable.
There is a path down to the ocean for those who like to walk, and tea time seems to be a popular event on the deck.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2008

We came across this hotel purely by chance, due to the amazing beach and view. We had decided on a whim to stay an extra day or two in the area, as we had just come from a brilliant b&b in the region (that unfortunately had no more rooms available for the weekend). We decided to book a room, thinking "how bad could it really be?", We spoke to a fellow guest in the parking lot, who had come back three years running, and seemed like a rational sort.

The rooms themselves were dated, (think 70s little girl room) which would have been okay if they were clean. There were disgusting old wool blankets on the twin beds with unidentifiable stains.The bathroom had an ancient shower system, and felt like some sort of soviet bloc housing.

The two "hosts" were unfriendly and inhospitable. They required that guests sign up for a "demi-pension" which included breakfast and dinner, without an option to just have breakfast. When asked if we could eat our dinner on the beautiful terrace they just sharply said "no," and made all the guests eat in an overheated, charmless room. Needless to say we only ate there the first night. It really was a shame as they are sitting on a goldmine, considering the views and the potential for this place. It would be amazing if someone else took over and really made this the place it should be. The view almost made up for the rest, but there was generally an uneasy, creepy feel to the place.

They also allow dogs there, which is probably why it is so dirty. They let the dogs race up and down the stairs barking without a lead on. It is fairly eccentric, yet not in a good way. My partner and I still managed to have a good time as we were so amused by the two owners pomposity and the strangeness of the place. So if you have a good sense of humor and an active imagination you might be inspired to stay here if only to write a sequel to The Shining.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jdeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Naterm33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: reserveren zou het beste zijn en duidelijk zeggen waar je van houdt, het is een klein hotel...dus ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimlamInSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank sachacath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varengeville-sur-Mer
4.9 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
295 reviews
4.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Dieppe
B&B Hotel Dieppe
#3 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
113 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
#1 of 15 in Dieppe
255 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Terrasse

Address: Route de Vasterival, 76119 Varengeville-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Varengeville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varengeville-sur-Mer
Price Range: £71 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Terrasse 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing